2002 Volkswagen GTI Reviews - Page 2 of 6

2002 Volkswagen GTI Golf 1.8T? from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.8T? Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance39000 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

Most fun you can have with your clothes on!!

Faults:

Very little has gone wrong.

The ABS light came on sometimes, and that was fixed at no cost.

The plastic on the console cracked and was replaced with a nicer one, my cost.

Other than that, it was perfect.

General Comments:

Most fun you can have with your clothes on!!

This car was a blast to drive. It was very fun in the twisties, and was easy on gas.

What made me buy another though, was what happened when I crashed. I was on a freeway through the mountains, when I sneezed. Yes sneezed... I zigged a little to the right, and my rt front went off the road. I honestly do not remember what happened next. A truck driver behind me said that wheel hit a rock, or pothole, and the car went a wee sideways. Over-correction followed, and I ended up cart-wheeling, yes, cartwheeling, 3 times. The center of my hood was whacked by a snow fence post, which ended the journey as it flipped me back onto the wheels. The truck driver slammed onto his brakes. He expected to be pulling my carcass from a burning wreck. No such luck. About the only piece of straight metal was the drivers side door. All air bags had deployed. I opened the door and walked away. I had a little powder burn on my temple. I bought another GTI within a couple weeks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th June, 2009

2002 Volkswagen GTI 1.8 turbo from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 kilometres
Most recent distance87000 kilometres
Previous carSaturn L100

Faults:

Turbo intake hose blew at 78,000 kms. ($40 part)

Stock battery died at 79,000 kms.

Clicking noise in the dashboard during -5 and below weather.

General Comments:

Car handles very well.

The 1.8T engine is amazing. Very strong with a little turbo lag in 1st gear. 2nd gear you get sucked back into the seat and enjoy the rush.

A lot of space for the driver which helps if you're taller/stalky.

Not meant for having friends in the back seats. This car is meant for a driver and maybe a passenger. Very fun experience for a single guy who enjoys driving in the country or around town.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2009

2002 Volkswagen GTI 1.8 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 kilometres
Most recent distance90000 kilometres

Summary:

Nice if you have the money to maintain/repair it

Faults:

The car was great at first; sporty, lots of pep, but these cars are just way too fragile!

My shifter is really sloppy, the car needs a catalytic converter, and if you grab the seat lever a certain way, they will fall off...

Repairs are way too expensive!!

General Comments:

The car is an overall solid car, handles good and lots of pep, but they are unreliable and repairs cost a fortune...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th January, 2009

2002 Volkswagen GTI 1.8 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Fun and fast

Faults:

Window door glass fell, but was corrected under warranty.

Some interior plastic failed.

Console latch failed.

General Comments:

The car accelerates nicely. It's is fun to drive and gets pretty good city mileage (~25 mpg) considering how aggressively I drive.

Golf clubs will not fit in the hatch without the back seats down, and still are a pain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th December, 2008

2002 Volkswagen GTI 1.8 turbo from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired54500 miles
Most recent distance72300 miles
Previous carFord Aspire

Summary:

Good looking and fun to drive

Faults:

I had to replace the aux water pump. ($95

Two crankcase ventilation hoses cracked. ($80-$95)

And it seems common, but yeah I have had some leakage problems.

General Comments:

Except for the leakage problem I have had no major problems with this car. It handles great, has nice acceleration and I love the interior and look of the car.

I have had to spend about $300 over the last 18,000 miles on repairs for the car. In my opinion that isn't very much.

My biggest complaint about the car is that I thought I would get better gas mileage. I average about 22 mpg under normal driving conditions; I thought I would get about 30.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th January, 2008

2002 Volkswagen GTI 18 turbo from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 18 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired40800 miles
Most recent distance51000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen GTI

Summary:

This car has taken more of my time than it is worth

Faults:

50,900 miles speed sensor related to transmission went out. It had to be replaced and it took 4 days to get the part in. I could not drive the vehicle because I probably would have wrecked it so I had to get a rental car. The dealer seemed to think it was just fine for me to continue to drive the vehicle. I disagree because I have no control over the speed of the car.

There was a vehicle recall for the flasher. They fixed this under warranty.

Windshield wiper fliud started to leak onto the ground for no good reason. Had to make a special trip to the dealer for them to fix this. The installed a washer supply line hose.

Cooling system had leaks. They installed a new flange.

Air bag light came on, seat belt buckle was replaced as a result.

Power window on passenger side would not roll down. They fixed under warranty.

Brake Switch malfunction, brake light was staying on all the time. They fixed under warranty.

Shifter would not release from park. Brake switch malfunction, they replaced the brake switch.

When recirculate air button was pushed the brake light would come on. The wrong fuse was installed.

Keyless remote was inoperative. They reporgramed it.

Front windshield already is cracked. I will have to have it replaced as well. It cracked from a small grain of sand hitting it.

General Comments:

This car has been an overall pain in the rear. I would not tell anyone to buy one. Or a volkswagen period. This is one of the worst mistakes I have ever mad in purchasing this vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th April, 2005

15th Apr 2005, 21:32

Man, I don't know. One look through this site for Volkswagens between 2000-2005 (for example) and I see complaint after complaint. Didn't Volkswagen's used to be good? If the opinions on this site indicate anything, it's that Volkswagen quality control has taken a giant slide down, heck I'd say they're almost at GM's level now.

14th Jan 2010, 16:37

I have heard this comment of shonky Golf build quality a lot. But consider that your car MAY have been assembled NOT in Germany but in South Africa... Now I have nothing against the country, but SA is hardly known for top quality motor vehicles...

This applies/d to certain 3 series BMW's, Toyota's and Mercs as well - Made in South Africa and exported!

Check where the car is made BEFORE buying.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 21 reviews