1993 Volkswagen Jetta Reviews

1993 Volkswagen Jetta LX gas from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission gas Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance151098 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

The best

Faults:

Nothing major has really gone wrong - but where is the fuse box?

General Comments:

Wonderful vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st April, 2007

1993 Volkswagen Jetta 2.0 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired212 kilometres
Most recent distance252 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

I will not buy another Volkswagen

Faults:

Entire exhaust system cost over $1200.00 to replace.

An over-charging alternator destroyed the radio, fan speed control resistor, some dash lights and 4 headlights, with no indicator of the source of the problem.

A second alternator needed replacing within 9 months of the first.

The door lock mechanism broke. The replacement unit is built a lot more solid.

When trying to put on the seat belts, they lock when the belt is pulled at a reasonable speed.

A/C hi/low valve has a leak, and needs to be replaced.

The trunk lock had to be replaced.

General Comments:

I do mostly highway driving.

Previous owner maintained the car to the highest standard.

The repair frequency and cost are unacceptable to me.

I will not be buying another Volkswagen.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd September, 2005

20th Nov 2006, 08:29

The original reviewer must remember that his/her Jetta was 11 years old at time of purchase. Regardless of how the previous owner took care of the car, you really are rolling the dice at that point.

1993 Volkswagen Jetta GL 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance134000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

Awsome

Faults:

So far I have found nothing wrong with this car! It's a very cool drive.

Though at times the muffler makes a loud cringing sound, but mufflers need to be changed eventually anyway.

General Comments:

I love this ride. Its very very cool. I drive 50km a day in this car and it has not let me down. My Aunt's sister owned this car before me and again, no problems what so ever. It's a sporty car, smooth ride, not fast, but I really don't care for some reason when I'm driving it. I just simply love it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th August, 2004

1993 Volkswagen Jetta GL 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired111000 kilometres
Most recent distance112000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Fast, Cheap and just great

Faults:

The alarm won't go off sometimes, all I do is keep the key turned for a, but longer.

The drivers side door will not open now, I have no clue what has gone wrong. This morning I had to crawl in on the passenger side.

The AC does not work, didn't when I got it. meh, its still winter.

General Comments:

I LOVE this car, isn't that fast really, but still, I love it.

There is lots of room ALL over the car.

Parts are pretty cheap here in Canada.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd February, 2003

8th Jun 2003, 11:18

Its not as fast and comfortable as Z34 I owned previously, but this car can take the heat. I have 184K on it, and still runs great. I haven't got lucky with cars especially any American or Korean cars until I switched to German. very dependable and cheap!

26th Sep 2005, 10:59

The problem may be with the link between the key and the latch. The replacement part is a lot stronger that the original equipment part, however Volkswagen will not admit to a design flaw.

The door lock mechanism costs about $40.00 (parts only) to replace.

1993 Volkswagen Jetta GL 2.0L Gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0L Gasoline Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired64 kilometres
Most recent distance74000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Poor reliability overshadows good performance and economical price point

Faults:

1. Air Conditioning has failed 3 times (seals allow coolant to leak)

2. Alarm system malfunctioned (required replacement of electronic controller board).

3. Windshield wiper motor burned out (and fuse failed to operate, creating a potential fire hazard)

4. Problem with transmission (reverse gear) required $1500 repair. Unit was still under warranty, but Volkswagen was unwilling to cover cost because they felt it was impossible to tell whether the malfunction was due to manufacturing problems or improper use.

5. Unusually high frequency of "small" items (switches, lights, etc) malfunctioning.

General Comments:

For its price class, the car has good power and handling.

The reliability of the vehicle (see above) was much, much worse than I expected.

The service from the dealership has been absolutely terrible (during the initial sale, regular maintenance, and when serious malfunctions occurred). On this basis, alone, I would never buy a Volkswagen again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th July, 2002

12th Mar 2006, 16:50

Bought my used 93 Jetta GL in May of 2005. It is now March 2006.

4 days after receiving the car the battery died and the manual tranny punched a hole in itself. Replacement was covered under dealer warranty, but I had to pay for the new clutch.

Stock Bosch wires are way overpriced and lousy quality, plagued with spark leaks at the plug boot. Sealed the same up with "Automotive Goop" and a whole roll of electric tape.

Engine (2.0 L gas) is a good performer. Mine currently has 236,000 km on it. But it is sensitive to spark leakage or water in fuel.

As it wears, using 5W30 or 10W30 oil in winter isn't sufficient, it will trip the low oil pressure warning when at full operating temp. You have to use at least 15W40 in winter and 20W40 or 20W50 in summer.

New distributor cap worked itself loose, spring clips are not man enough for the job. Reclipped into place and secured with nylon cable ties.

Cruise control works only when it wants to. Thermostat housing cracked and leaked. Calipers are prone to piston siezing if brake fluid isn't purged regularly.

Rear struts/springs are terribly weak. If the idle speed fluctuates, remove the idle air control motor and clean it with carburetor spray cleaner, reinstall and it will work as it should.

9th Aug 2007, 15:07

Not a bad car... the 93 is problematic because it was the first year of a model change, so many things were new. We were original owners of a 93 (my mother, then my father, then me) and it's been pretty reliable. Problems, when they happen, however, are hard to diagnose. We were a very loyal VW family (my dad was a finance manager for Transocean in Pasadena, CA) and at one time had 4 different VWs. This is our last one... the reliability of their cars took a nosedive in 1997 and never returned.

JR.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 7 reviews