2003 Volkswagen Jetta from North America


Ground Clearance will cause excessive expense and computer problems too after warranty runs out


Engine Warning light - repeated times

General computer problems: Diesel glow plug warning, Lost cruise control and locking mechanisms.

General Comments:

Terrible Low Ground Clearance problems Catches all the time on those concrete parking stops - ripping loose the bumper at the side joining points.

Numerous repairs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th March, 2007

6th Sep 2007, 16:21

I agree with the ground clearance issue. I had my bumper replaced twice after banging it on various low obstacles which dislocated it then I just duct taped it from behind and replace the duct tape periodically.

I get about 50 mpg with my Jetta TDI, but the ground clearance and Check engine lights problems are very bad so I wouldn't buy another Jetta or a VW for that matter. The VW dealer is the only one in 100 miles and it is impossible to get an appointment and when you do, they try to jack up the price any way they can. They wanted to change the rotors when they did the brakes whether it needed it or not.

2003 Volkswagen Jetta Wagon TDI GLS 1.9L turbo diesel from North America


Great car with one unacceptable design flaw


I am also concerned about the water leaking into my Jetta. The dealership here has been utterly unhelpful and unaccountable, and I have been unable to find sound advice around finding a solution. For a 25K car to leak is unacceptable.

I would love to be a part of a recall motion.

fox.walker at gmail.com

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th February, 2007

2003 Volkswagen Jetta Wolfsburg from North America


This 2003 Wolfsburg was a great buy and I love this car


CD player had to be replaced twice (under warranty), and there was a leak around the sunroof.

General Comments:

I bought my Jetta Wolfsburg brand new in 2003 and am still in love with it. It's the best car I've ever purchased. Currently at 91,800 miles, the car still runs like brand new and it seems to get faster every day.

Maintaining it is not cheap, but I have peace of mine (thus far).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st February, 2007

10th Apr 2007, 22:29

To whom it may concern. How expensive does it get to fix, or just maintenance the car?.

2003 Volkswagen Jetta VR6 6 cylinder from North America


If you live in the Sahara Desert (no rain), buy the car


Water leaks into the driver side, flooding the carpets in the front and rear. Mildew, mold, bacteria and horrible smell follows.

General Comments:

This is a great car, if not for Volkswagen's apparent inability to understand fluid dynamics.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th January, 2007

23rd Sep 2007, 21:58

The water leaking on your driver side is a plugged ac drain plug. once you un plug this it will go away. The only reason it fluds is it has no where to go.


28th Oct 2007, 09:21

No...this is not likely the issue. IF you check this forum under 2002 model, there are about 250 postings about the flooding in the Jetta (including my 2003 Wagon.). Consensus seems to be sunroof drains or in some cases, perhaps the seal around the door panel.

My issue was a kinked drain hose in the left sunroof drain. I unkinked the hose and have partially mitigated the issue. Still gets moist, but no longer puddles.

Welcome to life with a VW. These are crappy, crappy cars.

6th Dec 2008, 17:39

I promise you it is your sunroof drains!!! Mine did it, it was an easy fix, but before I figured out what it was, I tore the carpets out of it and checked the floor boards.

2003 Volkswagen Jetta GLS TDI 1.9 from North America


I am really disappointed overall


The latest problem I had is a split drain conduit from the sunroof, causing major water infiltration on the floor in front and behind the driver's seat. Now there is a bad smell in the car, condensation in the windows, and probably abnormal rust under the carpet...

General Comments:

This car is very comfortable, especially on the highway.

It behaves very well in any road condition.

It is truly economic (gas) on long distances.

But it is unreliable.

It has lots of manufacture faults for such and expensive car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th January, 2007

2003 Volkswagen Jetta GLS from North America


2003 Jetta. After running a dianostic on my car I learned that the coolant gauge was bad (the waring light would turn on and off randomly). I had it replaced and later learned that there was a recall for that (luckily it was only $79). My gas tank lid release was a POS and there were several times when I couldn't gas because the gosh dang door wouldn't open. I also have had similar problems with my radio. The CD player wouldn't only work randomly and constantly would spit out my CD's. The volume would turn up when I tried to turn it down and the radio would stay on even though I removed the the keys. I lucked out because my Jetta was still under warranty and they replaced the radio for free. But that was a complete hassle because the dealership said that there was nothing wrong with the radio and that the CD player worked just fine... I had to argue with the manger to get them to to "take another look."

I am now currently trying to figure out way I have no tail lights. I have replaced the burned out bulbs and they still don't work. I have also checked all of the fuses (because the fuse map is a crappy) and now my car won't start. I am going to try the tip about the master key and hope it works. If anyone has any info about the tail lights that would be great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th December, 2006

20th Dec 2006, 11:08

In response to your brake lights not working... it is a defect in the car. It is from your brake light switch that also controls your parking release as well as your cruise control. I have replaced mine 3 times already and now I have to replace mine again. I contacted the dealership and they refuse to help with this defective part even though it keeps going out. I have never been more disappointed in a car than I am with my Jetta.