2005 Volkswagen Jetta from North America - Comments

18th Aug 2006, 21:23

The best car to date I've owned is a VW FOX, 1988. Light years ahead of it's japanese counterparts in comfort, construction and performance. Owned it 13 years and 220K miles. We now have a Jetta III GT which has taken a beating for 9 years and the thing is bullet proof, and the paint still shines. Our '02 Passat V6 will cruise at 120 all day with no ceremony. Autobahn tuned road king. Japanese cars are sterile appliances. If you want to drive, buy a German car.

31st Dec 2006, 12:27

I agree that the noise is normal as well - remember that these cars are engineered differently than the North American cars. I've owned both and although my Pontiac drives quiet, it's been one repair bill after the other. Our VW is louder, but even after 18 years, rarely has it required repairs. We are looking for a newer one (VW) and thus I'm checking the reviews here and appreciate everyone's feedback.

12th Feb 2007, 21:39

Sorry to hear you are disappointed.

There is a a TSB for the fuel line tapping noise you are hearing. The dealer should have this information on hand and insulate the lines somehow.

There also should be a fix for the wind noise, it was a problem in early production cars, but is now fixed. Again, ask the dealer.

As to the noise you hear at startup, it is normal, and they all do that. It is the Secondary Air Injection pump in action. What that does is help to lower your air emissions by heating up the catalytic converter faster. There was also supposedly a TSB about this which would quiet it down somewhat, but not 100%.

19th Feb 2007, 00:07

I went to the dealership for the 20,000 mile tune up and complained about the loud engine noise on my 2005 1/2 Jetta. It's a 2.5. They said that it only happens when its cold out. I was told there was a software update coming soon to lessen that noise. That was in Nov. of 2006. So keep a look out.

12th May 2007, 06:00

You don't really need a lab for the mirror problem. My cousin and I both have a whistling sound starting from 80 km/h and he solved both cars' problems with about 5 cm of appropriately placed sticky tape.

5th Aug 2007, 12:25

I have a 2005 1/2 Jetta wherein my clock has been losing time since I purchased it in 9/05. Service keeps telling me that they don't have a "fix" for it yet and that there's been many complaint of new Jettas losing time. Does anyone else have the same troubles? If so, have you or your dealer found a fix for it? Thanks.

17th Sep 2007, 11:45

I have a 2005 New Jetta, which is more like a 2006 Jetta with all the options.

I first had problems with the trunk not closing so I had that fixed. Now its the brakelights and the sunroof lifts and opens on its own.

I know the breaklights have a recall, bit the dealer said they would change the switch on the sunroof too.

I am contemplating whether to do the 20,000 mile service, since its $400...I don't know if it is really worth it.

27th Oct 2007, 10:28

WOW! I thought I was the only one with these issues. I have owned my 2005 Jetta 2.5 since 3/06, I had issues regarding the start up noise, hoe embarrassing when you have a NEW car and it makes that noise. VW should have thought about the customer satisfaction on that one. I have also had issues with the dealership and their workmen ship, they left my oil cap off and I didn't find out until the nxt oil change, so 3 mo my car was driven with no oil cap, LOVELY! Now my car idles funny, they say its NORMAL. My fans had to be replaced as well, BOTH of them, the dealership replaced the wrong one the first time. I had also had issues with my truck latch, REPLACED. Time... My car is now losing time, I noticed that the other day, when I was late for work. Issues... Issues. How do I go about SUING the dealership for poor workman ship and getting my money back LESS miles.

22nd Jan 2008, 12:34

I have a clicking noise in my AC/Heater I have taken it in more times then I can count to have it fixed. They have replaced the flap thing and the dials, the blower and now the climate control and still I have clicking. It is very agrivating. I also had the problem with loosing time, but that seems to be fixed now. I also had problems with my stereo's buttons peeling so I am now on my 3rd stereo.

11th Feb 2008, 12:28

I'm shocked after reading these reviews. I love my 2005 jetta, but I am having problems with the electrical system and I'm worried where this might lead. The sunroof opens and closes by itself. The alarm turns on and emergency flasher stay on after alarm is turned off. Auto window in passenger rear opens by itself. I just accepted the engine noise, but I did go back to the dealer with electrical concerns. They simply said they could not duplicate the problem. Three times I left the car and got the same anwser.

The miles per gallon calculator jumps every second to random numbers. I even made my mechanic take a new car off the lot to show him how one works that is functioning properly. He agreed with me and said he did not know what to do to fix mine.

5th Apr 2008, 03:12

VW engines tend to sound louder, especially if it's not driven correctly, (full throttle at 1k rpm and such, if you have a manual) But I personally like the sound. And if you look at the engineering, it's always years ahead of Japanese and American. Well, I don't think anyone really buy a VW for reliability.

29th Apr 2008, 09:58

I purchased an 05 Volkswagen in May of 07 and it has been nothing but trouble ever since. My car has been serviced SEVEN times in the last year. I took it in for the VERY loud noise at start-up that is extremely embarrassing. People often-times ask me if I'm having car trouble. I took it in because the trunk would not close, turned out I needed a new latch that was on back order. 5 months later... they still have not contacted me about a new latch, and I've called them inquiring, and still nothing. My car is currently in the shop, because I have 3 check engine/exhaust lights on for the SECOND time. The last time I took it in for this they simple "reset" the lights. This car is a disaster, I've had it for 1 year and I'm already trying to figure out a way to get rid of it. The only appeal is the outside, inside the car is a mess. And to top it off, their customer service is terrible, if they're going to sell lemons the least they could do is have a little more compassion for the many drivers they often-times leave stranded!! They say "Drivers wanted" I say "reliable transportation wanted!" I will NEVER purchase another Volkswagen. And I will be sure to tell all my friends about this disaster of a car!