1999 Volkswagen Lupo Reviews

1999 Volkswagen Lupo S 1.4 16v from UK and Ireland

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.4 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carNissan Micra

Summary:

Never owned such a fun car!

Faults:

Driver's side electric window mechanism failed.

Clutch bearing changed.

General Comments:

Really nippy car, the 1.4 16v lump chucks out 75bhp and being so light, flew off the mark sometimes leaving BMW drivers red-faced!

Handling wasn't amazing in cornering with too much roll, but after uprated springs handled and looked great.

Reliable car, and more than competent both around town and on the motorway, such a fun car to drive!

The only negative I can think of is the lack of space and no glove box, but I knew these things before I bought the car.

Economical too, getting about 40mpg on average! Definitely would recommend!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2009

1999 Volkswagen Lupo 1.7 sdi from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.7 sdi Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance35000 kilometres
Previous carSeat Cordoba

Summary:

Nice and spacious, but have doubts about the build quality

Faults:

Engine failed completely twice.

Brakes failed twice.

Tires had to be replaced too soon.

Smaller things.

Everything replaced by excellent Fushings dealer.

General Comments:

A very nice car. Spacious enough for a family with two kids. Makes you feel like you're driving a much bigger car.

Fuel consumption is excellent.

Safe car too...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2000

23rd Sep 2002, 16:26

I drive a 'W' reg Lupo 1.7 SDI. I bought it this year (2002) in May sometime. It has been a fantastic car. Excessively cheap to run and brilliant fun, but I am noticing a few little niggles with it now.

The tires seem to have worn out rapidly. I would not call myself a 'boy racer', but do find that the very torquey engine does spin the wheels in the wet if you are not careful. Mind you, the distances that I have covered in this 'little car' are closing on the 10,000 mark already and it was second hand.

The brakes are unusual. Sometimes it possesses the stopping power of a triple parachute launched from the boot. Other times though, I just find them poor and soggy. I have just learned that VW have been recalling many of the Lupos manufactured in 1999-2001. As far as I can tell, the brakes are supposed to be a little more positive. I am going to look into this tomorrow to see if my car is affected.

Initially the body roll was surprising for a car of this size. I think that the damping could be a little firmer. I did adjust to it after a while, and often find myself at a fairly brisk pace on the 'B' roads that run through Wales.

On a positive note though, this has to be the most fun car I have ever owned. I also own an 'E' reg 1.6 8v Golf GTI cabriolet. I choose the Lupo for most trips, for the economy and creature comforts. It has some poke on the motorways, and will comfortably hold 70-85Mph with no trouble. The engine does get a little noisy at 90Mph it will continue to a little over 100Mph.

I am very pleased with this car and would give it a high rating, say 4 out of 5 stars.

Nicholas Llewellyn (Wales UK).

9th Dec 2007, 10:48

Thank you for your review Nicholas not in the dictionary Llewellyn!

1999 Volkswagen Lupo from Portugal

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance14500 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Don't buy it

General Comments:

Volkswagen really surprised me with this car. Appalling quality! Interior materials are low in quality, the engine is oh so weak, all the car is very poor for a 'Volkswagen'. Not even the fuel economy is acceptable. Don't buy this car! It could be pretty at least... but no.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th December, 2000

29th Dec 2000, 16:30

Seem's my Lupo must have been built by someone other than VW then.

Fantastic build quality inside and out.

Mine's only a humble 1 litre E, but it's a great little car. 50 mpg too!!!

2nd Feb 2001, 06:04

I really don't know what car are you talking about? Everybody loves my Lupo, it's beautiful, well built, and very safe (I know).

Performance could really be a lot better, but what are you to expect from a 1.0L motor. And it takes the curves very well.

I am 2m tall and I feel quite comfortable driving one. Well, 100 people, 100 tastes I guess!

27th Apr 2001, 11:57

I have just bought my little lupo - I've covered a grand total of 550 mile so far - I guess there's still time for things to go wrong - but I LOVE IT!!

Great Car, Great Fun, Nippy for round town - wouldn't be without it now!

My last car was a 1.0L polo - now I've gone for the 1.0L lupo surely that's says it all - BUY ONE

11th Jun 2001, 08:08

I have owned a 1.4 Lupo for a year now, and I am totally satisfied, although there is a serious problem with the brakes.

I also own an Audi A3, but I can't stop driving my Lupo. Great acceleration! Only disadvantage... expensive!

17th Jun 2001, 16:06

I have a black Lupo 1.0E and I think it's fantastic. The 1 litre engine is quite adequate. I`ve added a centre exhaust and 16v badges and it looks just like a Lupo Sport, but £3,000 cheaper.

8th Apr 2003, 23:05

I have a 1.0 Lupo SE and have had it now for nearly 3 years. A great little car, It is great on Motorways and makes city driving fun (London). I am now looking forward to adding some modifications. The only disadvantage is that there is not enough room in the boot, nevertheless I have managed to fit a 3 suitcases and 3 people + hand luggage on the way to the airport the other day... the space can be deceiving.

An excellent car... thank you VW.

AA.

18th Jan 2006, 10:45

I have been driving a VW Lupo for 5 years and I can assure you it is reliable and a string little car. Of course I cannot expect the performance of a Porsche on a VW Lupo.

I recommend this little bug.

4th Jun 2012, 20:08

Great car! 260.0000 Km. without problems! All parts are original.

1999 Volkswagen Lupo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance6000 miles

Faults:

The plastics seem very cheap on the dash, which is very rattly, engine is noisy, steering vague. Will be going Japanese soon.

Can't understand why VWs hold their value, since they build crap.

General Comments:

Don't buy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th June, 2000

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 4 reviews