2001 Volkswagen Lupo Reviews

2001 Volkswagen Lupo 1.4 Comfortline 44 kW 4 cilinder from Netherlands

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 44 kW 4 cilinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 kilometres
Most recent distance50000 kilometres

Summary:

Fast, cheap and reliable

Faults:

- Cup holder got stuck, replaced entire unit.

General Comments:

The VW Lupo is an excellent car. It is only 60 hp, but it drives very fast. On the motorway I can reach 90 miles an hour easily.

The interior is very spacious in the front. The seats are very comfortable and very well made, the height is adjustable.

The dashboard is the same as from the 1999-2002 VW Polo, with blue and red lights. It really is a thrill to drive at evenings or at night, just to see the blue dials and the red controls.

My Lupo has the comfortline package, which includes power windows, power mirrors, comfort seats, radio/cd player and 2 airbags.

2 airbags are standard by the way.

The car is very economical, only uses 4 to 5 litres per 100 km.

It has no ABS or other electric gizmos, so I don't have to go the the garage every time to read out an error...

I really like the Lupo in every way, it looks good, it drives good, it is cheap to drive and cheap when bought 2nd hand.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2004

2001 Volkswagen Lupo Sport 1.4 TDI PD from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 TDI PD Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance14500 miles

Summary:

An engineering masterpiece, well done Volkswagen

Faults:

Nothing is is a perfect car.

General Comments:

The build quality is superb, quite simply better than almost every other car I have been in (including Mercedes-Benz).

Dealers are unpleasant, rude and unhelpful which is the only blight on ownership.

Performance is unbelievable for such a small diesel unit.

Economy is excellent 400 miles from £20 of fuel.

The engineering is of a supremely high quality.

Handling is fun despite what the uneducated motoring press claim.

Looks brilliant.

Makes a terrific sound (like half a Porsche).

The car is excellent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2003

3rd Jan 2003, 12:46

I have the Arosa TDI and wholeheartedly agree with everything you say except for the handling which was rubbish until I spent £500 sorting it out and it's only acceptable now. Drive the Ford Ka to see how a small car should entertain it's driver.

9th Apr 2003, 07:04

The body roll can be alarming, but handling is simply one string on a very talented bow unlike the Ka the Lupo is well built, quick, modern, spacious and very stylish. if you are committed in a corner the immense grip will see you through.

1st Aug 2005, 07:43

Ooh, your getting touchy! Ford ka's are girls cars... we all know they can't drive! Can't you afford the VW pricetag!

1st Aug 2005, 10:01

Er, hello? Read the last lines of my comment. "An ex Lupo Sport TDI owner". Sold because it was an unreliable pile of crap, rather than anything to do with finances.

Get over yourself! Owning a VW does not make you a member of some kind of exclusive club, or say anything about you in particular. It's a mainstream brand which is charging semi-premium prices for cars which on the evidence of this site, and countless reliability surveys, nowhere near as reliable as people think (and pay for).

For your information, I don't own a SportKa, but I have driven one, and it takes the Lupo apart as a drivers car. I paid extra for the Lupo at the time because I needed a diesel, and VW TDI engines are fantastic. I also (stupidly) thought the VW badge might live up to the expectations I had for reliability. It was not the case.

Whenever anyone criticises a German car, at least one owner always defaults to "jealous" or "financial" arguments. Pathetic!

8th Sep 2005, 05:16

The Lupo Sport TDI only costs £350 more than the Ford SportKa 1.6. I seriously doubt "not being able to afford VW prices" was relevant in this case.

2001 Volkswagen Lupo Sport 16v 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired4000 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Nippy fun for the city

Faults:

2nd gear very notchy when cold, although OK when warm.

General Comments:

Enough performance for most occasions.

Build quality is excellent, cabin materials are very tactile. Feels as nice inside as a 25k Mercedes.

Handling is good, but could be better, chassis could be a little stiffer.

Gearing is short so it's quite buzzy on the motorway, but high revs = instant acceleration.

Boot space is extremely small, but the seats fold flat in seconds.

Quite rare, buy a bright colour and get more looks on the High Street than a Ferrari.

Air conditioning is an expensive (£960) option and is rare on used cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th October, 2002

2001 Volkswagen Lupo GTi 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 106

Summary:

A highly under-rated hot hatch

Faults:

Groaning Rear Brakes.

General Comments:

Fantastic looking car which always turns heads.

Deceptively quick off the line and handling is sharp and well balanced, if a little over-soft, and not quite upto New Mini and 106/Saxo level.

Superb dash, Xenons lights are excellent and a great talking point, build quality is first rate.

Has a "Big Car feel" which belies its size, and is very composed and comfortable on the motorway.

Good specification levels, although it can seem expensive (at £13,000) when compared to the competition like the Mini Cooper.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2002

2001 Volkswagen Lupo GTi 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6300 miles
Most recent distance7500 miles
Previous carNissan Micra

Summary:

Cute, nippy, city car

Faults:

There has been numerous creaks, groans and rattles.

The aluminium body panels are vulnerable to paint chipping.

General Comments:

Performance is exciting, handling sure footed.

Interior is very smart, night time lighting is a work of art.

Radio and CD player are excellent.

The car is very good looking in GTI trim.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2002

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 5 reviews