1992 Volkswagen Passat GL 2.0L from North America




O2 sensor.

Fuel tank collapsed.

Fuel sending unit.

Wheel bearings.



AC leak.

Coolant leak.

Inner muffler.

Minor engine compartment fire.

General Comments:

Great driving vehicle, but has a tendency to breakdown often. Not built for North American winters. Very sensitive car even with maintenance from VW dealerships. Components on the car are like dominoes, things start failing in succession. Will NEVER purchase a VW/Audi vehicle ever again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th September, 2000

7th Feb 2001, 07:38

I agree, I bought a '91 when it was 2 years old. I replaced the head gasket, heater core head gasket again, rear window motor and other smaller items.

This car was a lemon, I tried to trade it in on a new Golf, but the Volkswagen dealer refused to take it as a trade, because he had too many on the lot!

Finally got Toyota to take it on a trade, I lost $10,000 through negative equity in the trade.

My first car was a VW, and my third and my fourth, but never again.

15th Feb 2001, 17:58

I also had a 1992. These cars are good for cruising but not everyday driving. Too many problems, and repairs are expensive.

27th Apr 2003, 03:42

Upon reading the review... I see you bought a car with quite a few miles on it... and you were surprised to have to make repairs???

9th Oct 2003, 11:45

90000 KILOMETRES - not actually all that many miles.

4th Dec 2003, 12:39

90000 Kilometres is only about 54000 miles!!!

10th Mar 2004, 21:05

I had a similiar experience with mine, to top it off VW dealer and VW customer service is condescending. They answer every question like you're an idiot. This was my third and last VW.

1992 Volkswagen Passat G60 Syncro 1.8L SC 4-cylinder (G60) from North America


High performance bargain for the do-it-yourselfer


Nothing except regular maintainance for a car with 115,000 miles. Problematic areas are a rattling heat shield, expensive/weak supercharger and really nothing else!

General Comments:

You can't imagine how much I love this car. I went to Canada to buy/import it knowing how capable it is. 4WD with the G60 engine, better suspension components, etc. It's beautiful and a heck of a lot of fun whether on the track or in the snow. Only one of 300 or so, though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th May, 2000

22nd Jun 2001, 11:10

I agree. But it should be noted that you need to have a respect for cars and know-how to attack the kinks with the G60 engine and general VW issues.

18th Apr 2004, 00:05

You're probably aware of this online group by now... but, if you're not... http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/syncrog60/

These are great cars... So long as they're properly cared for. Then again, what car isn't, eh ;-)