2003 Volkswagen Passat Reviews - Page 14 of 14

2003 Volkswagen Passat GLS 1.8 turbo from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired400 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carNissan 240SX

Summary:

High end German car at a reasonable price

Faults:

The electrical truck latch failed, but was promptly fixed by the dealer.

General Comments:

This is a fantastic car for the price.

1.8t engine has plenty of zip to move this automobile, very fun to drive.

We love the black leather interior and the dash lighting is fabulous.

I would definitely buy another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2004

2003 Volkswagen Passat GLX 2.8L V6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance40500 miles

Summary:

Awesome car, but I'm a little concerned about maintenance costs after the warranty expires

Faults:

Loose driver seat

Air Conditioning electronics failure

Rear brake light went out.

General Comments:

People who ride in this car are always surprised at the exceptional interior and illuminated panels at night.

Great smooth ride. I have never had an engine problem.

The problems I had with the car were fixed on the 2nd and 3rd try by two different dealers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2004

2003 Volkswagen Passat GLS 1.8L turbo from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8L turbo Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles
Previous carToyota Landcruiser

Summary:

We stole this car at $18,500.00

Faults:

The vehicle was just recently purchased and we have had nothing but pleasure driving it.

General Comments:

This car is a true tribute to fine German engineering. It handles exceptionally well, it is spacious and roomy, and all the controls are well placed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th March, 2004

2003 Volkswagen Passat GLS V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carAcura Integra

Faults:

The car is in good shape.

General Comments:

The Passat is a good family car - comfortable for four people.

I have had one serious complaint to make though - which is not related to the mechanics of car as such.

The front panel on which the registration plate is mounted is a standard sort of thing in most cars - ie, You get your registration plates and you screw them on the front bumper.

However, with passat, this is not the case. The car requires a premounted plate from VW which costs $150. When I bought my car, this did not come as a part of the deal and as I didn't have the registration plates then, I didn't realise it. After 3 months, I got my plates and realised I can't mount them - so I called the dealer and he simply refuses to send me the mount.

To me this is same as paying for a car and paying separately for the tyres.

Folks, if you buy a passat - make sure you are not tricked as I was.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th March, 2004

19th Oct 2004, 13:19

I am not an expert, but I do believe that if front license plates are required in the area that you live AND the area you purchased your car, the dealership should have made the vehicle compliant with such laws. (Installing the bracket) Had it just been an oversight prior to the sale of your car, I believe they should have provided you with the bracket upon your having brought the matter to their attention.

It seems to me you did have a below average experience with that dealership, but I hope that this does cause you to think poorly of the manufacturer. It is a benefit too many to make the brackets an option. When a new car is delivered, the bracket is included. The dealership installs the bracket, when required, and will occasionally even leave it off, at the request of the customer. If a license plate is not required, why would one want the empty bracket on the front of their car? It lends to cleaner, more refined lines to leave it off.

So... Volkswagen is trying to do right by everyone, in my estimation, and your dealership was less than adequate in servicing you, as their customer...

Drivers wanted.

2003 Volkswagen Passat GLS 1.8T from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8T Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.7 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance4500 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

A well built, great handling beauty

Faults:

The only problem that I have experienced so far is that the gas gauge reads 3/4's of a tank when it tis actually full.

General Comments:

It is a very well made car. It accelerates quickly after the initial turbo lag. The steering is precise. The ride is smooth. The interior is comfortable and well designed. My Passat has heated seats which are great in the cold or if you have a backache.

The trunk is huge. I love the styling. It feels like you are driving a much more expensive car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2004

2003 Volkswagen Passat Sport 1.9TDi (130) from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9TDi (130) Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired37 miles
Most recent distance9000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

Fantastic

Faults:

Absolutely nothing.

General Comments:

I had a 1999 Passat and this new model just strengthens my faith in the VW brand.

Unfortunately this is what the fleet company call a pre hire car, which means I only have it for 10,000 miles or until whatever car I have chosen is delivered. This was out of my price range so I have had to settle for a Mazda 6. It will have to be one hell of a car to beat this.

Its the estate pump deause engine, quick, economical, smooth.

It is finished in the nicest shade of metallic blue.

The only down point on the entire car is the useless wipers. They are a new design with no metal parts, just like a big blade. They shudder, smear and jump off the screen at anything over 50mph.

Brilliant car though, Buy one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2004

6th Apr 2005, 13:43

I fully concurr with the remarks regarding the new syyle of wiper blade.

What was wrong withe the previous tried and tested blade?

I will probably end up replacing the wiper arms so I can use a universal blade.

2003 Volkswagen Passat V Range 2.5 Tdi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 Tdi Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance5600 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

Fast economical cruiser

Faults:

On collection from dealership to getting the car home I noticed all the chrome around the windows had white blemishes. Took it back and two days later the car had all the chrome replaced.

I asked for black paintwork, but got a metallic black which shows the smallest of scratches.

General Comments:

This car can shift.

Super six speed gearbox

The 2.5V6 engine launches you

A little body roll on corners to my surprise with having 225/17 tires should have opted for sports suspension

Would you believe it 20000 miles between services

Very happy to own this motor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th May, 2003

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 43 reviews