1993 Volkswagen Polo Genesis 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Holds value, quick, cheap, reliable, nice

Faults:

Trim falling apart,

Leaky sunroof when I bought it, Distributor went two miles after I bought it that's it so far!

I've heard loads of stories, Distributors, Head gaskets, Radiators all going but if you like the car and you look after it, it will run forever

Quite easy to fix although don't go to a dealership cos the cost will out weigh the worth of the car, a scrappy and a Haynes manual is all you need.

General Comments:

1.3 engine is very quick can't wait to try a gt or g40. feels more than 55bhp considering it'll burn off a fiesta 1.25.

Since I've had two; a 1.05l fox and a genesis 1.3l (current car) I can say safely that the 1.05l is a petrol guzzling slow piece of rubbish. the 1.3 I own now, consumes less fuel, and feels like the millennium falcon in comparison, they don't go round corners all that well as I found out with the fox! (i rolled it) That one didn't have an anti roll bar which might have something to do with it. They kind of get you hooked on Vee Dubs as next I want a GT!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2004

1993 Volkswagen Polo CL 1.3 from North America

Summary:

A complete wash out

Faults:

I bought a new Polo 1.3 CL, having previously owned a Golf 1.3. I had moved house 2 years previously and didn't want to risk going into debt, otherwise I'd have bought another Golf.

For the first 2 years, the Polo was reliable, but it was no good for long journeys and the performance wasn't the slightest bit exciting.

The brake cable had to be replaced after 25,000 miles.

By the time the car was 5 years old, it developed a brake fault which had to be repaired by on holiday by a mechanic.

Then came a phase of the car failing to start.

General Comments:

I tried to hold onto it for as long as I could, but finally I got fed up and after 5 and a half years it was time for the Polo to go.

I bought a new 99T Cordoba which was hardly the perfect car, but was a great deal more comfortable than the awful Polo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2004

28th Oct 2009, 20:46

Somehow two completely different cars are included together in this section. The VW Fox sold in N. America has no connection with the VW Polo sold in Europe. The North American Fox was produced by VW Brasil with 1.8 Golf engine. Euro Polos were never certified for sale in the U.S.

U.S. model Foxes had early '90's Brazilian build quality. I think this might explain the disparity in ratings.

1993 Volkswagen Polo CL 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A good little runner

Faults:

The brake pads wore down after 10,000 miles.

The clutch cable broke after having the car for three weeks.

General Comments:

As a first car it is a good little runner.

The car is nippy and will go 105mph if you push it.

An ideal first car for a young person.

I have added a sun strip, nice trims, exhaust. It is a good first car to start modifying.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2003

1993 Volkswagen Polo Genesis 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A dull, but reliable car

Faults:

Front disks and pads needed to be replaced, rear wheel cylinders replaced, rear shocks renewed, injection system overhauled, thermostat replaced and new aerial fitted.

General Comments:

Good well built car, but had needed quite a lot of money spent on it, its quite quick for a 1.3 if you have all day, interior is good comfortable seats although one squeaks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2003

14th Dec 2003, 14:04

Not a dull car!

Really quite nippy for a 1.3, its as solid as a rock and the 0-60 is quick.

3rd Mar 2005, 08:08

Dull car?

Admittedly this is only a 1.3 but is not a dull car. v light and nippy, handles well, a laugh to drive.

1993 Volkswagen Polo Fox 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Not up to the VW hype

Faults:

Very easy to break into. Ended up buying lock shields from Volkswagen dealer (why didn't Volkswagen fit as standard - dealer did a roaring trade in them).

Radio stolen. Linked to above problem, plus lack of any real security on the radio itself e.g. code.

Seat adjuster snapped - complete pig to fix.

Habit of stalling for no reason - dealer never did manage to fix in 6 years of ownership! Often refused to restart. Just as well VW offered free RAC cover for up to 6 years - got to know most of the local RAC patrol men.

Consumed tyres at an alarming rate - hard to understand as performance was sedate to put it mildly and got the tracking checked every few months.

Car generally felt very tired after 6 very cossetted years and only 23,00 miles. Felt more like a hack with 200K on the clock.

General Comments:

Didn't expect terrific performance from a 1.0 litre engine, but boy was it slow!

Considering the above, fuel economy was pretty poor (never better than 38mpg - got better out of my 1800cc Vectra).

VW 'quality' is a sham. Dealer service a very expensive way to get insulted! £200 (approx $280) for a standard service nearly 10 years ago!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st May, 2002

16th Oct 2002, 19:27

I have a 1993 Volkswagen fox polo and the only thing that has broke on it was a hose to the radiator (about three months ago), and the starter just went out in it. Other than that I have had no problems with it. No body rust, great gas mileage, it kind of gets uncomfortable after driving to South Carolina (I'll manage).

Alex Hunter

Nelson, Ohio.

(rhunter900@yahoo.com)