1997 Volkswagen Vento Reviews

1997 Volkswagen Vento CL 1.9TDi from UK and Ireland

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.9TDi Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance210000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Vento

Faults:

New Exhaust at 80000 miles.

Timing belts and tensioners every 60000 miles.

3 sets of front pads.

Relay to fuel system (cost £13) at 180000 miles.

New door handle at 207000 miles after lock barrel came out completely.

General Comments:

Bought this car for heavy commuting. Has been totally reliable except for the 2 minor problems listed hard to live with 55mpg at 70 :-)

Cost £1500 less than the equivalent year Golf.

Who needs a hatchback when you have 20 cubic feet of boot before you fold the rear seats down.

Plan to put at least 300000 mile on it before I think of replacing it.

One of the second hand car bargains of all time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th April, 2006

1997 Volkswagen Vento VR6 2.8 V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 kilometres
Most recent distance97000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Great Drive! But I got a lemon

Faults:

Rear shocks lost all the oil.

Gel filled engine mounts collapsed.

Front strut mounts failed.

Front suspension bushes torn to bits.

Bad transmission oil leak x 2

Front electric window failed.

Heater system would deposit all the engine cooling water on the floor on the passengers side.

ABS light fault.

General Comments:

Excellent performance and driving characteristics, usual large boot. Smart looking vehicle and attractive trim. However heavy on fuel use and let down by the constant significant problems that were expensive to fix. The cooling system one was fixed by no longer having a heater. Bad idea not to have a transmission dipstick if your transmission leaks! Wished I never decided to change from the Mk2 Jetta to the Vento.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 2005

12th Jan 2006, 16:15

Hi all, I'm an owner of a vento vr6. oh! what a wonderful car, the performance is wonderful, the air-con is also very effective.

But so far I've experienced the same heater problem, the floor of the driver side always got soaked, I went to to my mechanics and he bypassed the heater, so I don't use it anymore.

I'm also having problems with my ABS and AIRBAG indicators, they are constantly on, at first, it was the ABS indicator, but after a while the Airbag light came on too. Does anyone have any idea of how I can resolve this? I would really appreciate this.

2nd Aug 2006, 04:25

Hi, the airbag light was on in the above vehicle as well. Service agent said it was either a faulty plug, which they usually cut out and hard solder, or the rotary connector in the steering wheel, which was more expensive to fix.

12th Sep 2006, 12:51

Hi,

On my Vento VR6 "safety" which have now 134000 miles (Switzerland) I had the same ABS light problem. After many tests my mechanic finally replaced the ABS calculator (more than 1000 CHF). My case is quite extreme and normally only sensors have to be replaced.

VR6 - What an engine!

1997 Volkswagen Vento CL 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Summary:

Great reliability

Faults:

Nothing at all, unless changing one blown bulb at 50,000 miles counts...

Ultra-reliable so far.

General Comments:

The boot is very big.

The acceleration at higher speeds is very good (i.e. between 55mph and 70mph.)

The Vento hasn't needed anything doing apart from routine servicing each year.

Manual aircon works well and is fast.

Only complaint is that the road noise is noticeable - will get different tyres next change and see if this helps.

Radio-cassette volume push-buttons are fiddly compared to a turn control.

This was a very good buy - can't understand why the depreciation/resale value is so unfavourable given the high quality and reliability of this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2004

1997 Volkswagen Vento GL 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.7 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Good solid family car if you're not in a hurry!

Faults:

A few electrical problems radio, windows.

General Comments:

Only owned for a short time so points of interest to prospective buyers.

Poor acceleration even for an Auto!

Very smooth and quiet at Motorway speeds.

Poor handling especially when loaded.

Excellent brakes, bit thirsty!

Built like a tank feels a safe car.

Small rust spots appearing around glass.

Excellent boot-space, but legroom tight in rear.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2002

11th Feb 2005, 16:37

Well, I own a Vento myself, and I have not had any problems with it. I find the acceleration fairly good, plus, it's a amazingly good car during the winter.

I simply love my Vento GL.

8th Mar 2005, 16:44

I noticed how you said poor acceleration "even for an Automatic."

I don't mean any offense by this, but it is basically common sense that automatics are horrible for any kind of performance, or at least worse than their manual counterparts. A 5-speed Vento will outperform an auto simply by the ability to control the engine speed.

5th Jul 2007, 05:13

I have a 1997 Vento GLI. I find the acceleration (0-100km/h in 10.4seconds) just fine for a 1990's 4 cylinder engine in a safe, solid car. Also the handling for a front wheel drive is simply mind-blowing, although I have low profile tyres which do make a difference. As for the economy... I'm completely satisfied even with today's fuel prices.

1997 Volkswagen Vento CL 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance26000 miles

Summary:

A MkIII Golf in Sheeps Clothing

Faults:

Auto gearbox can be slow switching from drive to reverse.

General Comments:

Typical VW - slightly 'dull', but fantastically reliable. Being basically the same as a Golf MkIII, it has more weight over the rear axle, which actually makes it handle better. But with a tiny engine, in a straight line it isn't very fast.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2000

20th Jun 2003, 10:25

What you said about the switching from drive to automatic was slow, is because that's a way of protection and that's perfectly normal.

When you stop you are supposed to wait like a second and then switch to reverse, but not immediatly.

The same thing is for manual gearboxes, you stop, wait a little and the gear reverse. Maybe you have noticed than if reverse is geared quick it makes some sounds.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 5 reviews