1984 Volvo 244 Reviews

1984 Volvo 244 GLT 2.3L OHC I4 FI B23F from North America

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3L OHC I4 FI B23F Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 kilometres
Most recent distance195000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 245

Summary:

Try one and you'll see why such unassuming cars have a cultish following!

Faults:

The sunroof, hand cranked, stripped the gears over time.

The car died at about 195,000km when someone drove it from town (10km) with an oil light glowing.

General Comments:

This was a great car. I wish that my family had kept it, because it would have made a great car for me.

It had all the amenities you could expect for a top-of-the line 1984 Volvo. It was not fast, but did well by itself, considering it just had a little four under the hood, pushing 3200 pounds.

The seats were Volvo seats, which is to say immensely comfortable, even on long trips, for a 6 foot family. The rear seat, unfortunately, was also a Volvo seat, with the peculiar bulges on the sides that make the occupants face inwards. The car would get amazing fuel economy. I remember that it could do 30 mpg on the highway. It never once broke down until the end, which happened while I was away at school.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2009

1984 Volvo 244 DL 2.3L B230F from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3L B230F Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired167000 miles
Most recent distance191000 miles

Summary:

Dealerships would be broke if these were still made

Faults:

I could've sworn I already made this post, but whatever...

The car has A LOT of rust, apparently the previous owner didn't like to wash the car or something..

The only things that "went wrong" with the car when I drove it was the front brakes needed to be replaced, and the low beam switch died.

The driver's seat is really worn in

Besides that, it was a wicked reliable car!

The engine loops-It needs new fuel lines and a fuel system flush.

General Comments:

I bought this car for $350 expecting to do a total overhaul on it. (It needs A LOT of body work) Instead, I got tired of my girlfriend making fun of how ugly it looks (It has that yellow Volvo paint), and I caved in and bought an '86. Unfortunately for my '84, it soon became a parts car, since the '86 needed the '84's gas tank. So the '84 has been sitting since then, and the '86 has been nothing short of UNRELIABLE. After having it towed for the 6th time, I have decided to give the '84 another try. But when I drove it, it ran like a dream. Even with 191K on it, it runs like it has 60K on it. She's a unique, safe, reliable tank. It is the best car to take to a drive in too, with its huge, sturdy hood. It has been BY FAR the most comfortable car to drive in, and the huge steering wheel makes it easy to sit back and relax!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th December, 2004

7th Dec 2004, 13:38

Hello,

My dad has bought a 1985 Volvo 240 GLE saloon. It is a UK car, and it has a manual gearbox as most do here. It looks lovely and has no rust, even though our roads are salted and gritted every winter, It must have been looked after. He bought it cheap. He likes it very much. It's blue with a blue cloth interior.

It has covered 205,000 miles, and still runs perfectly and starts well. It is a carburetted version and blows no smoke out of the exhaust.

If your other Volvo was more reliable, I would definitely use it again and put it back on the road.

I have got a 1986 Volvo 740 GLE estate, which I absolutely love and is a great car. I bought it for £425.00 about 17 months ago with 130,000 miles on the clock. I like Volvos for their safety and reliability, and ease at fixing.

Have a look at www.autotrader.co.uk for Volvo cars and prices in the UK. Post code SW19 3RQ

James.

1984 Volvo 244 GL 2.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired129000 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

A reliable, rock solid car with little flair and performance

Faults:

Back leather seat cracked from the sun.

Dashboard has cracked from the sun.

Ignition is bad in this year of car (pinging)

General Comments:

My daughter just rear-ended another car and her 244 performed like a tank. The car was totaled, but she didn't get hurt which is the important thing. When showing her a Porsche 944 to replace it, she said "No, I want another Volvo"

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2002

19th May 2004, 14:17

The 244 is the best! you don't want a porshe, you want a volvo! I love it! I am a 244 owner for life too.

1984 Volvo 244 DL 2.3i from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.3i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired174500 miles
Most recent distance237325 miles
Previous carPontiac Parisienne Brougham

Summary:

Safety, reliability, durability: Volvo says it all

Faults:

The previous owner didn't keep up with the maintenance on it, so I've had to fix a number of things as a result of this neglect.

First the clutch, rotors, calipers, exhaust, water pump, alternator, and overdrive relay.

Then, I retrofitted the air conditioner for R-134a coolant.

After taking care of these things right off the bat, I've only had to have normal maintenance done.

General Comments:

Great car. I've put over 60,000 miles on it without a breakdown, driven from Indianapolis to Toronto several times as well as commuted sixty miles one-way to work, six days a week.

It gets good gas mileage, has enough pick-up for the highway, and is fun to drive.

My only real complaint is the high price of parts and repairs.

And I know these cars are safe. I wrecked my last Volvo, an '81 240 GL, running off the road, over a gulley, and up a tree. I was driving at about 40mph, and only bumped my head when the car flipped over on its side. After the tow truck had pulled it back onto the road (right-side up) I started it, drove it for another 30,000 miles, and finally sold it with 283,000 miles on the odometer.

I was sufficiently impressed by that experience that I was not turned away by the large amount of repairs this one needed. Being about a $2000 investment (including purchase price and repairs), this car has paid for itself several times over.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2000

28th Jul 2012, 11:51

My comment is in regards to the retrofitting of the A/C on the 1984 Volvo 240 DL to the coolant that is used today. Does this process work? Is this process costly? Thanks in advance for any and all comments on this process!

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 4 reviews