1984 Volvo 245 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1984 Volvo 245 245GL 3.0 Toyota 2JZ-VVTi from Thailand

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 Toyota 2JZ-VVTi Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired244252 kilometres
Most recent distance265000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

When Utility and Safety come together (on Lexus' reliability)

Faults:

Steering rack leak, cost US$150 to get it fixed.

General Comments:

With transplanted Lexus 3.0 2JZ-vvti engine (stock drive-shaft to bewel gear), the car runs very smooth and powerful for its weight. Accelerated to 100km/h in around 10sec with two passengers on board.

I have no experience on its stock engine. I decided to buy this car because there are very few modification on the mounting, and the drive-shaft is in its original position with the stock bearings.

The standard equipped 4-disc brake with better brake pad works just fine on 205/65R15 tires.

Stock suspension is hard and tough, but give less comfort than many '90s cars. However, cruising is very pleasurable, steady and solid. You only have to be careful on the sharp curves.

This car is not a wind-friendly car. The poor aerodynamic design would make most drivers feel the strong wind blowing against the car beyond 140km/h.

In general, as I feel it, this car is the most impressive workhorse with respectable look for its age, elegance and classy. Big space can be obtained in 2 minutes with fully flat folded-backseats.

Safety standard is generally recognized. The front seat passengers are protected by big metal frame in the ceiling and door pillars. All the safety equipments are far more equipped than many new mass market cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st December, 2005

1984 Volvo 245 DL 2.1 litre gas from North America

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.1 litre gas Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired239000 kilometres
Most recent distance261000 kilometres
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

This old Volvo continues to be pleasure to drive and own

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this car.

General Comments:

I commented on how happy I was upon purchasing this old Volvo wagon in October of 2004. I have put over 22,000 KM on this vehicle and it runs perfectly. A $100 tune up was all that was required to keep the engine running smoothly. This Volvo is a solid tank that is highly reliable and very safe in the event of an accident. This is of critical importance to us, as we have a 20 month old child in the back, and we are expecting another child to be born in March of 2006. Safety ratings are of paramount importance. If this is a consideration for you, and you do not have a lot of money to invest into transportation, then an older Volvo is the way to go. Safe, highly reliable, comfortable and very roomy. This combination is hard to beat. My only wish is that is was more economical on fuel. It's not bad (at 26 MPG combined), but it's not great either. In BC Canada, fuel is now $5.00 per gallon, so it adds up fast! When all factors are considered, I highly recommend this vehicle!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2005

10th Mar 2009, 10:13

I own three older Volvo 240s...an 82 240 DL; a 76 245 DL Estate Wagon; and a 91 240...all are delightful cars. Reliable, comfortable, safe, and relatively economical to own.

Why Volvo quit making this model is beyond me...they'd still be making $$$ and not a subsidary of Ford if they had.

The cars are simple, straight forward and easy to work on... if basic maintenance is applied, they'll last longer than you will. Would recommend one to anyone. Rajin Cajun.

1984 Volvo 245 DL 4 Cylinder from North America

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 Cylinder Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired220000 kilometres
Most recent distance348000 kilometres

Summary:

Best tank you'll ever drive!

Faults:

Having a bit of trouble with the automatic overdrive working consistently.

Replaced the original radiator at 300,000 km.

General Comments:

Love the car! For the tank that it is, it handles well, drives beautifully and even with this many km on it, runs like a top. I would definitely buy another Volvo. Living in a very cold winter area this car is the best for winter driving with its even weight distribution, rear wheel drive and fantastic heater!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2004

1984 Volvo 245 DL 2.1 liter gas from North America

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.1 liter gas Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired239000 kilometres
Most recent distance240000 kilometres
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

An extremely solid well built vehicle that is a pleasure to own and drive

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

I have only owned this Volvo for a few weeks. I wish that I have discovered Volvos years ago. This is undoubtedly the most solid and well built vehicle I have ever owned. Today I took the vehicle to a mechanic for a complete bumper to bumper check up. With 240,000 Km, I was expecting something to require attention. Nothing! A clean bill of health! All tight and mechanically sound. Not bad for a 20 year old car with 240,000 Km on the clock. I'll write back in one year from now, but I suspect this car will be reliable for years to come.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2004

2nd Jul 2010, 22:38

What is up with the KM's? Your title reads North America. Just wondering. Thanks.

1984 Volvo 245 GLT B23E petrol from Romania

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission B23E petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 kilometres
Most recent distance237000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 240

Summary:

Very good and economic car

Faults:

The petrol pump crash at 220000km, i find some oil leaks at the power steering gear at 230000km.

Just minor problems at electric mirrors, but I think that was due the freezing in winter time.

General Comments:

Usually I drive long ways, and with this car is very comfortable.

It is a good car, and I really like this model. I have 4 cars like this and I don't think that I will sell them.

I intend to buy a new V70XC. If volvo still do this kind of cars!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2003

1984 Volvo 245 GL 2.3 L 4-cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 L 4-cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired380000 miles
Most recent distance400000 miles
Previous carFord F250

Summary:

A darn reliable, comfy, gas saver

Faults:

Cracked radiator due to age and the unbelievable heat in Virginia. It only cost me $75 to replace with a brand new one (from Radac).

Blown brake light bulb and reverse lense fell off, which were both very easily cured for less than $2.

General Comments:

I bought this awesome car for $1200 from a used car dealer. It had brand new paint and 5-spoke 16x8 alloy rims.

Runs and handles so great and reliable that my Mother wants to drive it more than her late model Ford.

Brakes on a dime and not too shabby on performance (could be better). My last auto was a 1968 Ford F-250 which went 0-60 in 6 flat, but at the same time used 8-10 miles to the gallon. My Brick gets 25-30 which is great since I drive 40 miles to college and 40 miles back every single day.

Something that could be different is the smell which all 10-years or older Volvo's produce.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2001

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 8 reviews