1993 Volvo 440 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1993 Volvo 440 Li 1.8 single point petrol injection from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 single point petrol injection Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Vastly underrated hot hatch

Faults:

The head gasket was clearly leaking when I bought the car.

The gas struts on the rear hatch pop off their mountings regularly.

It needed several bulbs and the rear handbrake cables renewing to pass it's MOT.

General Comments:

Quite a quick car - LOTS of torque at low revs.

Sounds great at high revs.

Handles well - I've got a 40mm Bilstein lowering kit on order from EuroCarParts.

Brakes are good.

Trim is easily broken.

Need to fix several broken bits including rear wiper motor, both bumpers and the front subframe (don't ask)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th March, 2003

1993 Volvo 440 Turbo 1.7 turbo from Slovenia

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.7 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired167000 kilometres
Most recent distance175000 kilometres

Summary:

Quick, little turbo brick!

Faults:

None

General Comments:

This car is great! It is quick, reliable and safe. I simply love it!

All in all a true Volvo.

(at least from my experiences)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2002

22nd Jul 2002, 08:08

I own a 440 1.7 turbo A.B.S. since 4 years now, bought it with 80'000Km and now it has 221'000Km the motor is still perfect full of power!!! (I LOVE to play with these sweet BMW 318 on the highway!)

In addition of the normal maintenance, I had to change the front brakes at 130'000 the starter at 150'000 and the brush of the alternator at 180'000. The consumption is stable at 8.5/100km does not need much oil than regular.

Just love it!!! and it is so comfortable noise or bumps...

MAy be a bit too smooth for sport driving in curves, but lovely at 150 on highway, Switzerland to Holland by Germany, 900Km, not even tired of driving just miss the sleep.

Don't really want to change it, Because to get à car that powerfull and confortable, had to pay at least 30'000SFR For a T4!!!

1st Mar 2003, 12:25

Well I had some experience with my brothers 480 and my best friends 440 and that two made me sure not to buy a 400 Volvo. That much problems in such a short period isn't typical of Volvo. I'll stay at my rough 240 and help the FWD at the side of the road...

3rd Apr 2005, 15:02

That is true my friend -i love my volvo -Peter Jordanov from Bulgaria.

1993 Volvo 440 G 235 SAV 1.7 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.7 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carHonda Honda, Acord..

Summary:

I just love this car

Faults:

Had to replace an alternator at 125.000 Miles.

Steering bushes needed replacing at130.000 Miles.

Track rod end needed replacing 135.000 Miles.

General Comments:

I love this car, It is fast, Stylish, holds the road really well, Is just built for Motorway driving The seats are just so well shaped and molded to your body, so That even after a long journey, you do not feel tired.

Over the years, I have owned many Cars, (Honda, Ford, Rover, Mazda) But, My Volvo 440 GLT, Is head and shoulders above them all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th May, 2002

1993 Volvo 440 Li 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

A strongly built car, which has been mechanically reliable

Faults:

On the day that I should have picked the car up, it developed a fault with its airbag sensor. The fault was put right by the garage.

In 1997 it again developed a fault with its airbag sensor. This occurred after adjusting the steering wheel position. The main dealer quoted me £300 to put it right. I made enquires and found that it would not suddenly pop out whilst I was driving, but that it probably would not pop out at all. I still haven't had it repaired.

I have had a problem with its engine management system, some times the car races away without me pressing the accelerator. I have learned to handle this, but I won't allow my 18-year-old daughter to drive it due to this fault.

The right hand speaker often cuts out; I have to push the underside of the radio, by reaching in through the ashtray.

The drive cogs on the rear windscreen wiper motor wore away; this was my fault as I forgot to switch it off. When I returned to the car the next morning, the screen was iced up and the wiper could not release its self.

General Comments:

The 1.6 engine struggles to cope with steep hills when fully loaded.

This model does not have power steering, this makes manoeuvres tiresome.

I would like to own a 460 next, though I would go for a 2.0 with a greater spec.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2002

1993 Volvo 440 GL 2.0 litre from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 litre Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired37990 kilometres
Most recent distance80990 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 245

Summary:

This car is a good, cheap to run, reliable car

Faults:

The harmonic balancer was replaced at 73,000 km. I have also replaced countless light bulbs, both brake light bulbs, and several dash bulbs.

The rear demister switch is broken. Haven't bothered to replace it.

The rear wiper motor seized at 39,000 and was replaced under warranty - to buy it would have cost $750AUD.

The front discs had to be replaced at 65,000 because of undue scoring.

The handbrake does not engage correctly and requires both rear brake calipers to be replaced.

General Comments:

Even though I have had little things fall apart on the car, I am really happy with it compared to my older much well used cars.

The car is fast, reliable and costs next to nothing to run in petrol costs, getting on average 620 km around town to a tank of 50-60 litres or 750 on the open road.

I find however that the ride is noisy and rough, and handling on corners (especially rough roads) is bad. This is not up to the usual Volvo standard, probably due to the small size of the car and its weight.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2002

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 10 reviews