1996 Volvo 440 Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1996 Volvo 440 I 1.6 Injection from UK and Ireland

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Injection Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired113000 miles
Most recent distance113240 miles

Summary:

Great!

Faults:

Nothing yet..Haven't had it very long... only had it for a day...

General Comments:

Very nice outside and inside... i love the shape and the inside...

I will update if I have any problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th November, 2005

1996 Volvo 440 CD 2.0 injection from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 injection Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carCitroen BX

Summary:

Bargain basement quality motoring

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong with it.

General Comments:

Unfashionable model, but with the blinding 2.0 Volvo petrol engine it really goes.

A little bit heavy on fuel, but not scarily so.

Superb interior with leather, air con and 10 CD player makes for long journey heaven.

The only downside is badly designed luggage space which means we cannot fit our new baby's 3-wheel buggy in so now the car must go.

The end-of the run 440s have a more modern face, but the shape is very dated, which seems to keep the price down on an excellent car.

Buying a V40 next so hopefully will get a repeat of this excellent car, but with that tiny bit more space.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2004

1996 Volvo 440 Si 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired55 miles
Most recent distance57 miles
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

Safety Style performance valve all in one

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong yet with the car.

The only problems I have are that the temperature gauge some times fails to work.

And the rear suspension sometimes squeaks.

General Comments:

This is a brilliant car for the money.

You get a fully loaded car with all the toys for not a lot of cash.

Electric everything and Air con all for the same price as a basic Ford.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th June, 2004

9th Mar 2008, 13:38

I am thinking of buying a Volvo 440 2.0Si as a second hand car and have been reassured by the positive comments in this review.

1996 Volvo 440 STi 2.0Turbo Injection from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0Turbo Injection Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired71800 miles
Most recent distance94000 miles

Summary:

High performance hatch

Faults:

The alarm played up after it was 7 years old.

General Comments:

Very fast car 0-60 in just 7 seconds and a top speed of just over 130mph, I would recommend one to anyone looking for a good second hand car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th March, 2004

19th Jan 2007, 14:10

I take the t is for turbo? I have a 1.6 le that could do with the motor do you have any?

1996 Volvo 440 Si 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Summary:

Not one of Volvo's better cars

Faults:

The car suffers from 'dashboard jump' at 85-90 MPH when on an even surface. This consists of loud jitter and visible movement (and is quite disconcerting).

The driving position is uncomfortable although the seats are not bad.

The gearbox is harsh and unsophisticated (especially when compared to VW).

General Comments:

Volvo's wonderful (not!) safety-belt reminder clicking is extremely annoying.

The car's performance is not bad and could be described as being eager.

The SI's alloys and low profile tires are quite attractive.

Residuals are abismal to the extent that these cars make second hand bargains.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th May, 2003

2nd Nov 2004, 10:14

You might try driving at the speed limit and wearing a seat belt. At least that would clear up a couple of your "faults"

5th Mar 2005, 09:21

Hahahaha, lol!! I have to agree there I'm afraid. Sounds like you also eat your kitkats with the wrappers still on and complain about the taste??

1996 Volvo 440 GS 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance72170 miles

Summary:

Safest Car - For Definate!

Faults:

Battery changed.

General Comments:

Has this car for a year, and just recently saved my life. Involved in major head-on-collision, involving speeds of up-to 100mph from the person that hit me. I walked out of the car with only a few scratches. No broken bones or major injury. I don't know of many cars you can do that in. The car was a write-off, but when the insurance money comes through I will be buying another Volvo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2002

23rd Nov 2004, 19:45

We too drive only Volvos and the little old 340 also did a good job protecting my husband when another car drove into him head on-only a broken wrist. Both cars were write-offs-unfortunately the other car was a (very substantial) Volvo 240!! (1979)

In 1972 we had a 145 which came off best when a double decker bus ran into the back of it-we had a towbar and the ball punctured the bus's radiator. The bus had to be towed away.

13th Nov 2009, 09:40

Yes, they are bulletproof. But not the safest!

I knew a farmer up on the Rhodesian border back in the early 80's who was driving his family to town on a dirt road when he hit a land mine. Fortunately they were in a Mercedes, and all walked away unharmed.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 14 reviews