1992 Volvo 460 Reviews

1992 Volvo 460 GL 2.0 from Sweden

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 kilometres
Most recent distance142000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Reliable roadrunner

Faults:

Gear box (5 speed) collapsed in beginning of June 2008. It is costly to buy from a junk dealer and it's much work to replace it.

Volvo has a good reputation when it comes to quality, and I think my Volvo 460 is well built car in general... but I have driven some Volvos with bad or sluggish gearbox, so maybe it´s one of the few bad components in Volvo. So I suggest to other Volvo buyers to test if the gearbox is shifting smoothly... if not, you should look for another car.

General Comments:

In overall I rate Volvo 460:

Good front seat comfort

Very warm in winter

Good noise isolation at high speed

Reliable in driving, but not exciting

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th June, 2008

1992 Volvo 460 Si 1.7 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.7 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Best Car For £500

Faults:

Nothing major since I've had the car only this year, the radio chewed a tape and that's it.

The Only needed a tyre for MOT.

General Comments:

This Car is superb I've done 5,000 miles in 3 months and I can say it's a very comfy car. The car starts first time every time on the button.

The car handles great and goes great on long runs, acheving 35MPG and 70MPH.

Overall a superb little car for £500.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 2006

1992 Volvo 460 Li 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Most recent distance104000 miles

Summary:

More of a friend than a method of transport

Faults:

"Electrics"- cost £50 to replace when car broke down in service station.

A light failure warning signal occurs every time I start the engine, but switches itself off once I've used the foot brake.

General Comments:

This car is great. It's a bit of a tank to manouver as I don't have automatic steering for parking, but this is a small price to pay for all the good attributes- it's big and spacey with a large boot and efficiency of space within the cabin. I bought it because of Volvo's safety track record, but this aspect of my car hasn't yet been put to the test!!

It gives a smooth ride- I drove it between Dundee and Cardiff on a regular basis for several months two years ago and there were no aching shoulders or legs at the end of each journey.

The car offers good visibility with a narrow blind spot between the rear view and wing mirrors.

I've changed the speakers since buying this car as the existing speakers didn't have great base and these were easy to fit (even for a girl!)

Overall, I have no intention of parting with this car until it dies on me- it's a solid, reliable car which gives a smooth ride, doesn't drink too much petrol and comes with a great safety track record- what more would a sane person wish from a car?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2003

20th May 2003, 03:10

Just regarding the light that comes on when you start and then turns off when you press the brake. Check your lights, you should find that a globe has gone in one of the brake lights and that is why you are getting the warning on start up.

20th May 2003, 08:20

I drive a 1995 GLT 440 1.8i and I agree with most of your review.

It is a very comfortable car on long distance drives. The seats are very supportive and at the end of the journey you are free of any aches or pains.

The light warning failure lamp is also on my car. Apparently, if it stays on after you have touched the brakes then it indicates that there is a blown bulb. Although I did have a faulty tail light and the failure lamp didn't stay on. Maybe it is just for the brake lights.

I was also considering upgrading the rear speakers as they don't seem to be of a very high quality.

4th Dec 2003, 04:35

Regarding the lamp failure warning. Yours is behaving in a perfectly normal way. It cannot test the brake lights until you have pressed the pedal. If the warning goes out at that point the brake lights tested OK.

If the warning remains on then you have a blown brake light bulb.

Our current, and previous two 440/460's all behaved the same way.

Hope this helps.

4th Dec 2003, 04:46

Regarding the idle prob, we had a 1721cc 440 that had a similar prob. I assume yours has got fuel injection. unfortunately it could be the engine management system that is at fault. It may be repairable with a specialist. Ours had to be replaced as the car was (fortunately) under warranty, otherwise we may have just put up with it!

If you have a carburettor, it could be a basic carb prob, cheaper to fix!!

Our present 1.8 ltr 460 does this a little, but we can live with it.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 6 reviews