1995 Volvo 460 GL 1.8 from Estonia


Once you drive it you cannot stay away for long


Sorry English is not my first language!

The car has an interesting problem. Every time I start the engine a light starts to burn, indicating that one of the light bulbs has failed. When I press the brake it disappears and does not return until I start the engine again.

The car failed to pass the inspection on the first time. There were problems with steering and front brakes.

Then the driver's side windshield water failed. Also the rear light bulbs and sockets needed cleaning so they would work correctly.

General Comments:

The car handles very good in fast corners and on ice and snow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th December, 2002

25th Dec 2002, 08:02


The light on your dashboard that's on after you started the engine, is a warning light for malfunctioning brake lights. It's always on when you start the car, and should turn off the first time you touch your brake pedal. When the warning light does not turn off after the first time you've used your brakes, one of your brake lights is not functioning.

1995 Volvo 460 2.0i from Norway


I've got the car very cheap from a local dealer who gave me a good price


The passenger door is about to fall off. Parking lights are failing, and the door to the trunck is bad.

General Comments:

It's a really nice car. I like it a lot, so does my friends and family. I hope Volvo gives me what I need. Sorry about my bad English, but I'm from Norway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2002

10th Jul 2006, 07:30

Since I´ve heard that these 460´s tend to rust It would be nice to hear some of your thoughts on that. I´m doing a little detective work for a friend who´s buying a car. I prefer the 240 series, but He thinks they are too thirsty. Comment if any thoughts.

1995 Volvo 460 1.9 turbo diesel from Belgium


For those who prefer reliability and economy over style and technology


The car started losing coolant after 180.000 km. Ever since I got it, it made funny noises when I started it, until the clutch pedal was pressed.

General Comments:

The car was very reliable and even though it looks a bit odd and dated, it was a rather fast car due to the high torque of the engine. It was also a very economic car.

For those who like comfort and a lot of gadgets, this is not exactly an ideal car considering the long options lists of Volvo dealers.

Given the fact that customers pay a premium price for their Volvo, one would expect a premium service from Volvo dealers. Nothing of the sort can be expected from Belgian Volvo dealers, alas!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2001

13th Oct 2001, 02:09

I own a 1995 model 460 2.0 GLT. I bought it from my father-in-law, who was its first owner, so I know the car's history from the day it left the showroom.

It has only refused to start once, when its alternator developed a fault. This is in fact the only major item ever replaced (apart from the cam-belt which was replaced on its 5th birthday, not because it was anywhere near snapping, but just as a precaution). Otherwise it has gone from one service to the next without a hitch.

On today's standards it is dated (compared with my father in law's current Volvo S40 2.0 (2000 model) which has a much better drive and steering). However I am VERY VERY happy with it because it is a nice, comfortable car with all the gadgets and more than I need (info centre, alloy wheels, AC, 6 speaker stereo, electric windows and mirrors, sunroof etc), is still reasonably good looking even on today's standards, is completely rust-free (it's always garaged) and above all is as close to 100% reliability as any car can get.

10th May 2005, 06:43

Four years ago I bought a Volvo 460 GLE and although the car was already seven years old it was in a very good condition, due to the proper maintenance of the two former owners. Despite its square lines, I like very much its general aspect and, in fact, I consider it a classic car. As to the mecanic and comfort, I find them perfect. It's a very pleasant car to drive and I intend to keep this car as long as I can.

Popa Stefan, Braila, Romania.

14th Aug 2009, 09:57

Hello Again...

Bought the car (Volvo 460 CD 2.0i petrol)... drove more than three hundred miles home with no break -- went like a whistle and only took a third of a tank!

Many new cars thought to over take on the motorway... not a chance, amazing lift in this car.

Okay, second day so far but really pleased.

I'll leave an update in a few months, but I have to say I'm walking round smiling constantly despite the terrible weather - I LOVE IT! -- and so does everyone else.

A flying armchair :)

1995 Volvo 460 Si 1.8i from UK and Ireland


A lot of car for the price of a similar age Escort


Driver's side heated seat not working.

Everything else is fine.

General Comments:

Feels safe and comfortable on the motorway.

Good fuel economy (38 mpg).

Cheap insurance (Group 7).

Electric 'everything' on this car initially worried me, but apart from the driver's heated seat, everything is fine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th April, 2001

23rd Jun 2001, 09:17

I own a Volvo 460 GLE I 1.7 and I love it. It is fully loaded and a lovely drive. My sister gave me it and in the 7 months I have had it, it's been great. I love it on the motorway. It just passed its MOT no problem.