Volvo 780 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1987 Volvo 780 Bertone V6 from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired14900 miles
Most recent distance29900 miles
Previous carVolvo 244

Summary:

An absolutely fine motorcar

Faults:

Rear brake caliper froze at 29k. Not Volvo fault, but 20 year service.

General Comments:

Very good motorcar. Smooth, reliable, and quiet.

Exotic luxury interior. Custom fittings and appointments. Fine woodwork. Yacht level joinery. Fine materials and design.

Better handling and ride than SL. Heavy sportscar feel. GT like speed. Fine transportation, expensive care needed. Very expensive parts, but very reliable. A fine and exclusive ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th August, 2007

1991 Volvo 780 turbo + from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission turbo + Automatic
Distance when acquired138000 miles
Most recent distance148000 miles
Previous carVolvo 240

Summary:

One great Volvo, and very overlooked in the used market in my opinion

Faults:

Water pump failed.

Replaced a few of the hoses when first bought.

Wood trim on front of dash has started to crack slightly.

Slight crack on dashboard.

Couple of small cracks in leather seats.

Had to replace AC freon.

General Comments:

Very reliable vehicle. Have not had any major problems with car since purchase. No work done except minor issues mentioned above and normal upkeep.

Car has a very stable and quiet ride, but could use a bit more help in acceleration department, especially coming out of stops. But I owe this to the weight of the vehicle.

Very luxurious car. Every option that you could wish for and more. The interior has held up amazingly well for such an older vehicle.

I feel very safe in this car. Even though this was a limited edition car for Volvo, and was produced in Italy, it has all of the safety features of other Volvo cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2005

16th Oct 2005, 11:37

Hello, just an update to my initial review. I meant to say that I had to replace the drive/accessory belts, not hoses. As far as I know, any hoses on the car are original.

I just "fixed" the splits in the leather seats by ordering black sheepskin covers from sheepskin.com. They were very reasonably priced and installed very quickly. Nice touch to the interior.

I had the car fully tuned yesterday, including new cap/rotor and fuel filter. The car was starting to run a bit rough, but now drives like a dream. This should be done on all older vehicles if it has not been done in a while, especially with fuel prices so high.

All in all, I am very happy with my 780 coupe. While it does not get any or very little attention, it is very well built. They pop up all of the time on Ebay, so I would definitely recommend looking into one. But you might want to have it inspected prior to purchase.

1989 Volvo 780 turbo from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission turbo Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired93000 miles
Most recent distance143000 miles
Previous carVolvo 760

Summary:

These were stunning cars; it's a shame they didn't hold value/increase in value due to scarcity

Faults:

Headliner is sagging.

Turbo hoses are going out.

Seats are worn.

Dash has cracks.

Heated seats no longer heat.

Tape player has gone out.

General Comments:

I love this car. It's strong, peppy and has aged well. It will probably last forever.

It's rare and scarce, but is probably worth less than "normal" 1989 Volvos because of its scarcity.

Rear wheel drive makes it tricky to "go in snow."

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2005

1988 Volvo 780 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carBertone 780

Summary:

One hot Volvo

Faults:

Slight body rust spot above the rear window gasket.

Both front electric seat recline features have broken.

Climate control computer was replaced at 95,000 miles.

General Comments:

Very good engine if you maintain the oil changes religiously every 3,000 miles.

The most luxurious Volvo model to date, I would recommend this model over all the others if you can locate one. They are very hard to find (only 8500 made).

Parts are a little expensive since this model is so rare.

Current Volvo models don't seem to have the durability of the 780.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st November, 2001

28th Feb 2005, 07:45

Actually there were only 2863 made.

22nd May 2005, 20:11

Actually there were 8213 built.

4th Aug 2009, 11:17

We are original owners and currently drive our pearl red, 1988 Volvo 780 Bertone in San Diego, CA. Any suggestions on where/how to find market value?

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 8 reviews