1997 Volvo 940 Torslanda LTP 2.3 LPT turbo from UK and Ireland


The last of the best Volvos ever made


Nothing major.

General Comments:

This is my third of this model. The first 740 GLE 2.0 estate. 1989 (245.000 miles) was sold in 97, then a 940 2.3 LPT estate, a 1994 model (210.000 miles) sold in 2004.

I now have what I consider to be the best of the last of the true Volvo's. A 1997 Torslanda LPT Estate 2.3 (136.566 miles). I have no desire for any other vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th November, 2008

1997 Volvo 940 Classic 2.3 LPT from UK and Ireland


Best workhorse ever made


Nothing at all.

General Comments:

I already own a V70, but I have 2 jobs and only really need a large estate car at weekends, so I decided to buy the 940 for weekends, and get a small diesel car for my midweek job, which takes me all over the country.

In comparison to the V70, the 940 is very plasticky inside, nowhere near as a nice place to be as the V70, but having said that, it is an older design and that's my only niggle on the subject of comfort; the seats are very supportive and ideal for long journeys, and all the controls are incredibly light, which surprised me in a car that's often referred to as a tank.

Mine is the 2.3 light pressure turbo version; not a racing car by any stretch of the imagination, but it pulls like a train no matter how much weight is in the back, or how steep the hill is. It makes you quite lazy with the gears; just leave it in 4th and it goes everywhere; it's like an auto.

Don't expect good fuel economy if you choose one of these; no matter how people try to gloss over it to defend their cars, they are very thirsty, but who cares (sorry to the environmentalists for that).

The trade off is the best workhorse ever made; better than the V70 as it's bigger in the back.

This one has a full and comprehensive service history, and feels like it's done 20,000 miles, not over 100,000. It's built to last for decades.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2008

28th Apr 2010, 04:02

I like the review. It's pretty accurate. The only thing is the reference to fuel efficiency. On short journeys they can be very thirsty. Very high mileage ones that haven't been properly maintained can be disastrously thirsty.

A well maintained 940, with no CEL light glowing (Lambda Light) can return as well as a petrol 850/V70 quite easily. Drive them within their capacities and I never found them to be any more guzzling than equivalent 2.0 to 2.5-litre engined cars.

1997 Volvo 940 Polar 2.0 turbo from Italy


A great family car

General Comments:

A comfortable, reliable, speedy and roomy car. No one problem in 10 years. Really a great car. Weakness: the gasoline price, today in Italy 1.36 eur/liter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2007

16th Jun 2007, 09:58

Fully agree. these are great cars. 180,000 miles on my 960 - would fully recommend.

1997 Volvo 940 SE 2.4 from UK and Ireland


Probably the best and safest family car


Leak in the sun roof.

General Comments:

This is the safest car I have ever had the pleasure to have driven. The side impact bars saved my wife and child's life.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2006

1997 Volvo 940 Turbo 2.3 high pressure turbo from UK and Ireland


A roomy workhorse which is great for long hauls, but is outdated now


Aircon failed multiple times.

Prop shaft broke.

Power steering pump failed.

Cooling fan relay failed.

Sunroof has seized.

Manifold gasket failed.

General Comments:

Very roomy and a smooth ride.

Very comfortable seats.

Noisy at speed.

Heavy on fuel and front tyres.

Mine has not been reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th June, 2005

1997 Volvo 940 LPT Classic 2.3 turbo from UK and Ireland


A good solid family estate and workhorse!!!


Since I have owned the low pressure turbo version of the Volvo 940, not many things have gone wrong with it. I've had to replace the thrust plate @ 134000 miles (cost £140 supplied and fitted) the power steering pump @ 135000 miles @ a cost of £200, the clutch @ cost £180 supplied and fitted (the above are done by a mechanic I know ad the dealerships are very expensive-£500 for a service) timing belt @ 12400 miles the front suspension as these were discovered to be damaged perhaps from previous owner (split in two place and on the the passengers side front-left split in 3) cost of £90 supplied and fitted. Full service £50, yes £50 will expensive performance oil and original style parts, not replicas!!!

General Comments:

The Volvo 940 2.3 low pressure turbo Classic Estate, is an excellent family car and work horse. This model (1997-R plate) comes with half leather interior, air con, headrests all round, cup holders, storage facilities, rear load cover, front and side impact bars, air bags, clear lights, elec windows, mirros and sunroof. Heated front seats and mirrors.

The car is very specious and has a large boot space, and is a very fast family estate (estimated 168BHP) and comes in a 5 speed manual. The car gives a good smooth ride, although is quite expensive on fuel (unleaded). If the car is well serviced and regularly kept tip-top it will last a long time, like most cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th May, 2005

1997 Volvo 940 estate 2.3 petrol from UK and Ireland


Reliable and roomy


Had to replace fan belt on 4 occasions.

General Comments:

As a courier working throughout Ireland, car has proved itself to be reliable, roomy, and comfortable to be in for long periods of time.

Fuel economy is acceptable on longer journeys, but working in traffic can be costly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2003

1997 Volvo 940 Polar 2.3i LPT from Netherlands


Last of the real Volvos


This Volvo is one of the last 940s and is in service as a taxi.

The Liquid Petrol Injection gas tank has been replaced already (the old LPG tanks are much better).

Only one time the clutch was replaced, as was the gearbox (it's still a taxi!).

General Comments:

The best 940s made are the ones with the 2.3 litre LP Turbo! Very fast indeed! No powerloss on LPI, so you don't have to change on petrol if you want to 'test' it.

Also: Nice seats, enough space and comfort (on this one with leather and ECC, but these are options). Due to its shape you hear more wind noise than on newer models. Also, handling in curves is not too good (beware of this during rain!!).

Seats can't be adjusted as well as on older models.

Very solid and safe. Still (to me) very good looking and (like the 740) looks like a rock. It IS a rock in fact, as I've seen some crashes of colleagues... But these colleagues are still alive!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 2000

9th Apr 2001, 13:27

Hello there!

You can rest assured that it will last if you take the best care of it.

The best car there is.

Trust me.

Peter Willman


11th Sep 2001, 05:08

I agree, the Volvo 940 LPT is by far a most reliable car.