1993 Volvo 960 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1993 Volvo 960 6 Cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 6 Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired83000 miles
Most recent distance99000 miles

Summary:

This car is high maintenance, but a nice ride

Faults:

Timing belt failed, cost me $2,700 to fix engine. Should of replaced it at 30K intervals.

Transmission failed at 98,000 miles.

Leather seats have worn poorly.

Only gets 18 miles per gallon.

General Comments:

Car rides well.

The car is safe, has a heavy feel.

The car looks great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2004

1993 Volvo 960 965 (Wagon) V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carBMW 1993 BMW

Summary:

All in all, a very good car

Faults:

Back headlight cover falls off regularly.

Front Driver Seat has cracked.

Shifter lights have gone out.

A/C sometimes doesn't cool properly.

8-Way Power Driver's Seat sometimes doesn't control properly.

General Comments:

The car is very roomy and comfortable to drive long distances with.

It has more cargo room than the rest of the newer ones.

Has an exceptionally large gas tank 23 - 26 gallons.

Very good gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2003

1993 Volvo 960 2.9 Inline six from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.9 Inline six Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance121000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

A luxury bargain

Faults:

Temperature sensor failed at 100K miles.

Driver's seat leather is cracking.

General Comments:

If you don't mind the fuddy duddy image then this is a great car. An undeserved reputation for being unreliable and expensive to repair keeps the second hand value of these cars low.

This is a fully loaded, carefully designed luxury car so it will never have the running costs of a Corolla.

However, Volvo dealers in my experience are very helpful and I have been able to get every little trim part I requested. Completely different from my Ford Thunderbird experience.

It also helps the bankbook to have routine servicing done by a local Volvo independent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2003

25th Mar 2003, 14:08

Fuddy Duddy Image?

My Black-on-Black 1997 960 wagon has over 200 horsepower right from the factory.

For a station wagon, or any other car you may mention, it is really fast.

11th Feb 2005, 11:51

Mine too looks pretty sharp with the black paint, tinted windows, and Enkei rims on low-profile tires.

17th Mar 2005, 11:51

You should be happy to pay more gas for your life. My 93 Volvo 960 was just T-boned by another Volvo 740. Mine is total lost. I could got out from my 960 without any hurt.

The Volvo 740 with the same chassis as 960 was only with the front right lights gone. Volvos are designed and made as tanks.

I only paid on the routine maintenance for about CAD $1,500 in the last 14 months of my ownership. The low expense on maintenance is because of the high level of workmanship. The feelings of safe and protected were not be found on the rental car of Japan made.

Just for life, I swear to buy another Volvo 960.

14th Jun 2005, 02:07

Overall, a superb luxury brick with good road manners (I've partially spun mine twice in the wet and recovered with a "flick of the wrist"...).

As these cars are getting up there in age, a few suggestions; replace your O2 sensor, air filter box (lower portion), and have your fuel injectors cleaned professionally. Given a well maintained car to begin with, you will restore a lot of that new car feel. ie: shut down those '05 Range Rovers, Acura MDX's, BMW X3's, Volvo V70's, ect. and get good gas mileage to boot...

Also, please don't skimp on strut cartridge replacement, get the Nivomax (stock parts) units for the 965 and revel in another 100K of safe comfort.

Besides, rear wheel drive rules!!!

6th Mar 2009, 20:39

I like these cars, but how is CAD$1500 over the last 14 months routine? That's ridiculous. Outrageously expensive.

1993 Volvo 960 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired49000 miles
Most recent distance99300 miles
Previous carMercury Cougar

Summary:

I would by again

Faults:

Automatic transmission selector switch failed. Covered under warranty.

Front brake rotors warp. Have had to turn rotors twice.

Would not start one time. Ended up being the spark plugs installed by the dealer. Independent garage replaced with different type.

Two center air conditioning vents not blowing as cold as outer vents.

General Comments:

Most of the issues above I would consider to be maintenance. I would like to have front rotors that do not warp as often.

Car handles like new. Very comfortable ride. Not high performance, but I have another vehicle for that.

This has probably been the best car I have owned. Low maintenance, comfort and Volvo safety are all there.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2002

14th Mar 2005, 13:35

I love my Volvo! I would marry it if I could! I prefer it to my wife! it is just 'niggely' little things that sometimes bug me, but overall, I would never have another make of car!

8th Jun 2006, 19:52

I have just bought a plum one-owner 1991 Volvo 960 in Perth, Western Australia. It has 139,000kms. It is a pleasure to drive. I don't think it has airbags, but it does have an electric sunroof. I would like to buy an original CD Player for it if anybody can help. Very Happy Volvo Driver :)

1993 Volvo 960 Wagon 3.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.9 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 miles
Most recent distance148000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Galant

Summary:

A high-performance, reliable, highly stylish buy

Faults:

Discovered the A/C evaporator coil leak, which had to be replaced one week after purchase.

A/C blower motor failed and had to be replaced at 145000 miles (10,000 miles after purchase).

Replaced the front brake pads at 142,000 (7,000 miles after purchase).

Memory for the seat positions sometimes fails.

Vehicle rear-ended at 140,000 miles. See comments below.

General Comments:

All items noted were easily repaired. One hint: if you need an inexpensive evaporator coil, call the local Volvo junk yard and they will have NEW after market parts for 1/2 the price - and they perform just as well, if not better than anything obtained from a dealer or the original.

When car was rear-ended by a full-size cargo van at 140,000 miles traveling at about 45 miles/hour, estimated damages amounted to over $7,000. The rear door was completely destroyed and the quarter panels buckled under the impact of the cargo van's orange cone holder. The roof buckled slightly above the columns of both rear doors. The sun roof also required some adjustment. Notwithstanding this damage, we were impressed by the safety and sturdiness of the vehicle, especially given the fact that my 2 children were riding in the back. No one was hurt. We were so impressed and loved the car so much, I ended up repairing the car. I was able to do it myself for under $1,000 using after-market and used parts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2001

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 9 reviews