1994 Volvo 960 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1994 Volvo 960 Strait 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Strait 6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

I'm very happy with this Volvo; it's a great value.

Faults:

This car has some minor leaks, but they're not serious. I probably will not even fix these problems for at least another 20K miles.

I had to replace the ball joints ($300) and get the 90K mile service done. I also went ahead and replace the timing belt because I couldn't find proof that it had been done ($200).

The interior of the car has been abused, but it's mostly cosmetic. One rear speaker was blown. That is expensive to fix because the whole rear area interior has to be removed to change the speaker. $150 labor to replace a $20 speaker?

General Comments:

Very solid driving experience. Ride is a little rough, but not annoying. I feel almost as safe as when I'm in my Range Rover.

Very spacious with lots of rear leg room. Trunk is large and there a lot of "cubby" holes in the car for all my junk.

I don't like the cup holders coming out of the center console the way they do, but it's minor.

The interior color is fading with an orange tint to it, but I'm being very picky.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2002

1994 Volvo 960 2.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.9 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance94000 miles
Previous carVolvo 760 Turbo

Summary:

Very dependable, safe, smooth running, quiet, comfortable car

Faults:

Left rear wheel bearing failure at 82k miles.

ECT (engine coolant temp) sensor failed at 93k miles.

General Comments:

Recently struck from behind while stopped in traffic. Offending vehicle was '98 Dodge minivan traveling at 35 - 40 mph and did not attempt to stop. My 960 was pushed into the vehicle in front and totalled. I had no injuries. I am looking for another 960.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2001

24th Aug 2001, 10:51

Definitely a smart move if you want a safe car!

1994 Volvo 960 2.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.9 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carToyota MR2

Summary:

Temperemental sports sedan

Faults:

Perennial brake rotor vibration and replacement.

Cruise control went out at 100K.

Entire new valve job at 120,000, but I think it was the dealer's fault due to faulty timing belt installation.

Radiator thermostat out at 112K.

Minor light/electrical bugaboos.

Sunroof jammed recently.

Then $600 to fix the ignition (car thought it was in park).

General Comments:

Despite all the above I really like this car! It is super comfortable, solid and surprisingly quick especially when you choose sport shift mode, it's just very pleaureable to drive, even around the bends, safe feeling.

I think the valve job was unlucky, the endless rotor replacement is irritating and there is never a satisfactory answer from the dealer. However, it has never let me down starting.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2000

26th Feb 2001, 17:07

IPD (http://www.ipdusa.com) have replacement rotors for the brakes that may well fix this problem. They are also cheaper than the original rotors.

14th Jun 2004, 07:51

The problem is not the rotors ITS THE HUB!

11th Oct 2009, 17:57

A frequent cause of rotors distorting on Volvos is over tightening of the wheel nuts.

Most shops put them on with an air impact wrench with the torque set way too high.

It doesn't take a lot of torque to secure them.

Do it by hand and use a torque wrench to the specification listed in your handbook, you should have no problem with distorted rotors.

The other common cause on any vehicle is repeated heavy braking.

1994 Volvo 960 Sedan 2.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.9 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance147000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Astro Van

Summary:

Great quality as evidenced by the fact it is running strong at 146000 miles

Faults:

Rear main seal leak.

Automatic transmission shifter had a broken clip in the shifter.

All transmission sensors failed.

Air conditioning bellows behind the dash failed.

General Comments:

Overall a great car, very stable, powerful, good handling and quality. Biggest mistake was taking the car to the Volvo dealer for any kind of service. Once I found an independent Volvo mechanic, I appreciated the car much more.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th November, 2000

20th Jan 2010, 17:38

I have a 94 Volvo 960 with 243k. Just gave it a tune up, and she's going like I just pulled off the lot.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 9 reviews