1997 Volvo S40 Reviews

1997 Volvo S40 2.0i 16v from UK and Ireland

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0i 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired41000 miles
Most recent distance99000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Scirocco

Summary:

Brilliant, most reliable car ever owned

Faults:

Only wear and tear items, tyres and brakes.

General Comments:

Seriously reliable. Plugs and oil change once a year. Engine has not been touched, and never broke down or not started once!

Very comfortable, especially long journeys.

Only down side is it is little bit boring to drive, but on the plus side it never stops, it just keeps going without any problems!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2009

1997 Volvo S40 T4 1.9L turbo petrol/gas from Serbia

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.9L turbo petrol/gas Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired131000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Better and cheaper than other cars in same class

Faults:

Just small problems, nothing dramatic.

Over 180 km/h, wind blows so loud.

Leather is sensitive.

Too expensive for service (just in my country).

General Comments:

Great car.

Looks very nice.

Great performance for such a small engine.

Very cozy seats.

Very low fuel consumption.

Better than Audi A4 1.8 turbo (1999), BMW 325 (1998), M. Benz C230 Kompressor (1999); I compare with these cars because my friends own them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 2008

21st Apr 2008, 15:00

Please do not compare the tragic S40 With the MB 230...not the same division...

22nd Apr 2008, 04:41

True, you can't compare the S40 with the Mercedes - the Mercedes would have rusted away and fallen to bits long ago. Judging by the amount of rusty 10 year old ones here in the UK! The Volvo is far better!

22nd Apr 2008, 13:16

He he he... you guys are funny... S 40 is probably the worst Volvo produced since the 340/360.

I live in Gothenburg Sweden and the S/V 40 reputation here is not very solid.

22nd Apr 2008, 13:19

I have to agree with the fact that a MB uses quality materials... Volvo is a nice brand but not MB quality and the price shows it.

23rd Apr 2008, 07:28

I have had many experiences in past; with Volvo and the Mercedes.

I agree that S40 is the worst Volvo, and interior materials are far better on the Mercedes. But that's it. In every other aspect Volvo is better. Even on quality aspect.

Not everything that shines is gold. Quality has absolutely nothing to do with price. Price of the Mercedes is simply based on their old image. You have to remember, that Mercedes'es were quality cars about a decade ago and more. Now... not so much anymore.

1997 Volvo S40 CD 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

Cheap comfort and luxury

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

Very comfortable, heated leather nice.

Air con ice cold.

Genuine feeling you're in a safe and well-built car.

3-series quality on the cheap.

Carries 5 adults in relative comfort.

Top notch brakes.

Big boot and good size entrance for a saloon.

Good quality stereo as standard.

Cruise-control works at silly speeds (not like the 100kmh limit on import preludes) :)

I bought this car after having owned 3 Prelude 2.2 vtecs, so obviously the performance is far from comparable, although I was pleasantly surprised by the little touches.

The standard stereo is very good and plenty bassy enough.

The bonnet used hydraulic supports for holding it up, no fishing about for the bonnet rod thing in the dark!!!

The performance isn't too bad though considering the weight of the thing. It will accelerate quickly enough and will do 130mph (on a private test track of course!), and the brakes are excellent. Only the handling lets it down, can feel scary if a corner appears tighter than you expected it on those 60mph B roads... My car does have the 15" steelies on though, so perhaps some nice low-profile 17's and a shocker upgrade would help...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2006

2nd Jul 2011, 12:17

I have just bid farewell to a S40CD auto (petrol) 1997. She was getting VERY warm when stationary on anything above mildly warm days (98c!!) Worth nothing, of course (£500) p/x, nevertheless she was a great car, having covered 25000 in 3 years with me - trips to Northumberland (grandson) Helston, Cornwall (life long mate) + others from Midlands to N.West, to Somerset, to East Anglia - all from Kent. Quite a few squeaks and rattles, but was 100% reliable on a run. You cannot ask more.

All leather, decent stereo, comfortable and had a decent boot (two suitcases and 2 flight bags for holidays - NOT a problem!) Asda? Not a problem - you get the idea. Amazingly, she would also 'GO' (as did the petrol) on the few occasions she was asked to.

Now approaching 70, with 50+ years driving behind me, she will be a car I look back on with a smile. If I could buy a brand new one today? Yes, I think I would have one. With today's bells and whistles, of course.

Replacement? Peugeot 407 SW Diesel. Another animal altogether, and she does 'go' a bit too!

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 11 reviews