2003 Volvo S40 Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2003 Volvo S40 LSE 1.9T from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.9T Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

A bullet with luxurious interior and super sporty feel!

Faults:

Absolutely nothing.

I bent my alloy, but it was my fault.

General Comments:

This is a luxurious car with a super sporty feel.

Very comfortable front seats.

Great options and safety features

The turbo makes the thing accelerate like crazy! watch out on highways not to get carried away...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd February, 2006

2003 Volvo S40 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Don't Know

Summary:

Nice car, bad paint, bad customer service

Faults:

We have had the same problem with the paint. After two years the car looks terrible. Volvo simply said that it is out of warranty and I'd have to pay for it myself. Great way to lose a customer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd November, 2005

2003 Volvo S40 1.9 turbo from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.6 / 10
Distance when acquired50 kilometres
Most recent distance70000 kilometres

Faults:

Buyer Beware. 2 weeks after purchasing this brand new car, the power and engine just shut off in the middle of the road. This was caused by a faulty Immobilizer theft deterrent system. It took 5 days before the dealer was able to fix it.

The brakes been serviced three times due to high speed braking pulsation or in other words warped disk brake. My mechanic said because of soft brakes.

Starting up the car cold, the engine vibrates too loudly and it takes about 10 min before it settles down.

The only plus side of this car is the acceleration which is very responsive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th May, 2005

2003 Volvo S40 LX from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous carVolvo S40

Summary:

Be Careful purchasing this vehicle

Faults:

First of all we purchased this car in Tyler, Texas. About 20,000 miles into the purchase all of the service, brake, and other lights would come on just basically whenever. I would take it back to get them reset.

Then came the brake issues at 40,000 miles. I had the rotors changes and all of the brake pads. This was so expensive. Then came all of the brake and head light issues. I have replaced those so many times I can't even count from this point. And that brings me to today. I has two new rotors only 10,000 after I replaced them all and got again all new brake pads.

I had this procedure done at another brake shop in the city that I live because when I went to the dealer on the last brake job they charged me double what this shop did.

After that I went by the dealership to reset the service engine light and replace a tail light. I tell you... Be very careful when purchasing this car. I have never seen anything like this in my life.

When I asked the service manager at the dealership about all of this she just shook her head and said...it's a Volvo. Well, it's certainly not what I bargained for.

Be careful.

TEXAS.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th January, 2005

13th Jun 2005, 08:47

I echo your thoughts! BE CAREFUL!!! Just because it is a Volvo does not mean it is any better! My car loves the dealership so much it is there every other month, sometimes for up to a week. I could have bought any other car and not had as many quirky little problems (a basic functioning item, like air conditioning) as I have had with this car. I question if it is the Volvo or just the service?

: (

5th Jan 2006, 22:35

"I question if it is the Volvo or just the service?"

It's gotta be the service; I think everybody knows that dealerships will always try to rip you off when it comes to servicing your car.

22nd Mar 2006, 09:37

I think you are riding the brakes, I have never heard of anyone changing the rotors/pads that frequently.

24th Oct 2006, 09:30

For those that brag on how bad the S40 reliability is those take their car to dealer and those knows how to change their own oil...lol.

30th Sep 2007, 23:22

Brakes and rotors wear quickly on all cars. Look at the reviews for Honda, you will see brake problems on those cars too, and Honda is supposed to be so great. I just put new Akebono Euro Ceramic pads on all four wheels for just under $100.00, don't let a garage talk you into spending more money than you have to.

24th Feb 2009, 04:47

Yes, the headlights are a serious problem for me as well. It's getting a little ridiculous at this point since I live in a state where a ticket for having a headlight out cost around $130. Any suggestions for resolving this issue??

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 15 reviews