2004 Volvo S40 Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2004 Volvo S40 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance300 miles

Summary:

This car does not lived up to my expectations

Faults:

The car was hit in the rear. The repair cost is unbelievable in terms of time involved. Volvo does not manufacture the body parts and it has been two months since the body parts were ordered and still has not arrived. Effectively, this S40 model has a very expensive collision repair even for small dents by virtue of the reason given above, and caused a lot of hassle. I cannot recommend this car to anybody. Stay out of this car.

General Comments:

Volvo s40 does not have readily accessible parts and costly to repair.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th October, 2004

19th Oct 2004, 05:29

Fair enough comment if you live in North America, probably all European cars are costly to repair compared to the domestic product. However, in Europe this is not a problem and I think you should say something about DRIVING the car to be more credible, all accidents are horrible and never cheap to fix.

8th Jan 2005, 00:54

One of the major factors why motorists choose to buy a Volvo is safety. Another motorist crashed your car, it would be useful to know how the car was after the during and after impact. If the crash was a lot worse, would you have preferred to be in the Volvo or something else? a Ford for example..

10th Nov 2005, 16:49

I agree, the original poster should comment on how the car drove, not its repair time. My 2000 528i was hit by a drunk driver and it was in the shop for seven weeks. Luckily, I got a loaner paid for by the other's car insurance. But I can't fault the car for this.

13th Dec 2009, 22:00

I agree with the original poster. We have a 2004 S40, which has been nothing but horrible trouble. While the drive is pretty good for an automatic transmission, it's not worth the money.

The car has never been in an accident. It has under 50,000 miles on it too. Yet the heating core, radiator, struts, rotors, have all broken. Also, we've never been notified of the 5 recalls posted for the model we have, and are currently experiencing a problem as a result. The car is now stalling out on us. Do not buy these cars, you'll throw away your money.

2004 Volvo S40 momentum 2.4i from Finland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance11600 kilometres
Previous carNissan Primera

Summary:

A satisfying pleasant individual

Faults:

A piece of equipment (electronic compass) had not been fitted when delivered. Dealer obtained one from the factory and installed it. This was due to the extremely & over complicated options packages that cause headache for dealer and client alike.

Driver's door needed rather too much slamming at first, dealer quickly fixed this.

Dealer very good and helpful.

General Comments:

This is the new S40 and is an entirely different car from the previous model-thankfully.

I did extensive test drives and the dealer loaned me a car for a whole day, I was able to see if it would go in my old school garage-just! I did have to wait 10 weeks for delivery, a real bore.

Because I live in Western part of Finland the terrain is flat and the roads' are straight so it was extremely interesting to drive the car in France & the UK, hills and bends. The chassis is excellent and it laps up twisting roads.However, the performance in terms of acceleration 80-120kms is disappointing for a 5 cylinder 170hp car. My previous Nissan 2.0 litre was much livlier, consequently, overtaking requires changing down, The gearbox is too long to wring the best from the engine.

The car cruises effortlessly though, it is extremely quiet at 150kms/hr and is very refined.

The seats are beyond imagination, the comfort is outstanding. I wish my flat and office had chairs like these... long journeys are sublime.

Build and construction are very good quality, tasteful simple design inside with elegance. The ergonomics are NOT what the motoring press would have you believe though, some switches:foglight, rain sensor switch are obscured and awkward.

Heating and ventilation first rate. Turning circle is small so town parking is easy. The clutch is one monster though, a real agricultural horror very stiffly sprung and fierce so stalling is not unknown together with swearing..

Interior storage space preety minimal, door pockets literally holds a condom packet nothing else! Glove box good enough.

Folding electric mirrors a boon in alley parking, the illumination switch from the key fob excellent for finding the car in a dark car park and the panic button which detonates the alarm could be useful in an unpleasant situation...

Headlights rather poor for a Volvo this is odd, changing all the bulbs looks very simple and that's a real advantage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th September, 2004

15th Oct 2004, 08:36

Thanks so much, mucho helpful.

2nd Mar 2005, 06:00

Update on the Volvo S40. Not much to report, I'm happy to say. Just had its 20k kilometres service and all running smoothly, I have noticed that after two oil changes now (1st wasn't scheduled, but I believe in 6 month oil changes because of arctic weather) the car is a lot sharper in acceleration and quieter. This may be due to oil changes using 0-40 synthetic oil and I find 98 octane fuel works better than 95,more response better fuel figures. Clutch still very fierce though and this is the only annoyance. First class distance car for one or two people, but its limited boot access and oddments capacity rules it out for families. Choose the V50 estate then (doesn't LOOK as sharp as the saloon though!) I've been very pleased with it and the dealer, lot of pride in ownership too.Recommended.

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 12 reviews