2006 Volvo S60 R from North America - Comments

7th Jul 2008, 16:46

My mother switched from Lincoln Town cars to the Volvo S60 in late 2006. The comparison is sort of like going from a room at the Ritz to an outhouse. The Volvo is crude, rides like a truck, and feels exactly like a compact Ford or Chevy. Mom hates it, and although it has had no problems, she wants her Town Car back. She had driven Town Cars since 1984 and never had a problem with any of them, plus they rode so smooth it was like sitting in your living room. Also, the last one was much faster than her S60.

7th Jul 2008, 18:17

I have a 20004 S60R Volvo. I took great care of this car. Transmission needed to be replaced at 2000 miles. Before 50 000 miles AWD system had to be replaced and the car had :suspension, brakes, tie rod end, noise problems. Almost since I had this car, there was and still is a vibration problem. The car dealer, against who I cannot complain, did what he could but with no result. With this vibration problem, I cannot sell it. The dealer won't buy it unless I buy another Volvo. I don't want another Volvo. So I'm stuck with it unless I accept to lose a considerable amount of money. Great deception. Worst car I ever had.

11th Jul 2008, 11:54

I made comment 16:46 and it was not the mechanical quality of the car that I was criticizing, but rather the harsh ride and rather cheap overall feel of the car.

My mother has not had the car long enough to have any mechanical problems with the car. The first negative impression we had of the car was right after she bought it. My wife and I own a 2001 Pontiac Grand Am, which is used as a third vehicle and to carry our rather furry dog to the park in. After riding in mom's new S60, my wife's first remark was "The Grand Am rides much better". I had to agree.

The Volvo has a very harsh ride, did not handle nearly as well as I would have thought, and was not as fast or peppy as mom's last Town Car.

We encouraged mom to get a smaller car because her new garage was smaller, however we have all come to regret not allowing her to get another Town Car. No compact car can compare to that level of quality and luxury, and the cost is about the same.

27th Jul 2008, 19:34

I've talked to 1 S60R owner. His car gives him complete satisfaction. But I also talked to 3 ex-owners who were greatly deceived. The S60R was not their first Volvo but it's gonna be their last. Maybe that the other models have a better reliability?

20th Oct 2008, 04:31

I doubt the person with the vibrating problems will ever read this but I hope he does. The vibration is mostly due to the fact that you need new tires and or rims. Maybe you have already done this or thought of it I don't know. I had a 1996 Mitsubishi Eclipse GSX that would vibrate after 55mph then after about 90 it would stop. My friend told me to get new tires... I did and the vibration is gone, I forget what it is called but it was like my tires were out of alignment or out of round??? But it fixed the problem. If you get knew tires and it still happens you probably need new rims too because you hit a few too many potholes.

17th Mar 2009, 22:47

The wheels (rims and tires were changed). The vibrations were still there. Volvo never found the cause. Really, a mediocre car.

19th Mar 2009, 06:06

Another review among these mixed ones. All I can say is that my 2005 S60 R AWD is gorgeous in every way. It's up to 64000 miles and runs like new. I completely love this vehicle and cannot think of any other car within its price range that can eclipse it. Volvo have done a good job with this one. Not one squeak or rattle, every little thing works and the performance and handling is spot on. Just for the record, I think the ride is actually very good on this car! Would fully recommend this Volvo!

11th Apr 2009, 16:58

The VOLVO S60R is an absolute masterpiece. Nobody should compare it to a Lincoln which is made cheap and drives cheap. I own 3 Volvos (two 850 Turbos and one 2007 S60R). I used to sell Fords and Lincolns. They are both sofas on the road compared to the S60R.

On my 850 Turbo, currently, I have 341000 kms and it still drives strong.

24th Apr 2009, 13:39

I bought my 2005 S60R in August 2005. It has 54,500 miles on it. It has been trouble free, and a fun, comfortable car to drive. The 6 speed manual, AWD, and 300hp combined with the 28.5 mpg I average in my commuting make it a lot of car for the amount of fuel it consumes. It will flat out fly. The auto transmission was not well matched to this engine.

The 18" wheels are easy to damage and cause vibration when they get bunged. I am on my 3rd set of tires and these Nitto's are wonderful and offer all season protection.

The back seat is tight, but works fine for our 3 kids. Looks great, paint is better quality than most Japanese brands.

Turning radius is overly wide due to the AWD and the wide tires.

I recommend this car. I have been running Mobil 1 synthetic in it. Changed the front brake pads at 50k miles. No other repairs. Runs like new and no rattles... and I don't baby it!

14th May 2009, 10:49

While I wanted to love this car, our 2006 S60 has had 4 wheel bearings replaced at considerable cost. The first 2 went at 30K, one that had already been replaced went again at 60K and the last one at 90K. The dealer seems to be "perplexed" as to why this keeps happening, but after researching the problem, I am convinced that there was a manufacturing flaw with the hubs. After getting no dealer satisfaction about this problem, we will not be buying a second Volvo.

15th May 2009, 03:45

Seems a little harsh that after 90,000 miles all that has worn are the wheel bearings and therefore you won't be buying another Volvo. The rest of the car seems great. I love my S60R (2005) and would easily forgive it if only a few minor things wore like that. Luckily though, nothing has gone wrong with mine - more smiles per mile for me!

9th Jan 2010, 21:57

I do love Volvos. I have a 1996 850 5 speed and a 2004 S60R 6 speed. The 850 has 241000 miles and no problems. The R has 111000 and has had too many problems to list, and I use it only on weekends now because it is so costly to maintain. It's impossible to sell at KBB price, BUT the performance of the car is what makes me keep it around. Hopefully I will get the transmission problems fixed.

5th Apr 2010, 18:41

I made a mistake with the purchase of a couple of 3 Series BMWs, which are very expensive to run (insurance, maintenance), and loved the Renault Laguna, which turned out to be a money pit to keep running.

So my next car had to tick several boxes in order for me to part with my cash. The Volvo S60 is by far the best car out there as an overall package, and those that think otherwise don't know their cars. That's not to say we can't have opinions.

In the UK they are considered an old mans wheels, but they are anything but that. In fact the power, comfort, reliability and the economics to run are up there with the very best, and suit a wide range of ages from their 20's to their 70's. Of course you can buy better, but at what cost? I can't recommend this car highly enough.