2001 Volvo V40 Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2001 Volvo V40 T4 SE 2.OL turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.OL turbo Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Loads of bhp for your money..

Faults:

The steering column squeaks.

The boot cover pulls the plastic lining away from its housing.

The ECU is at best coping badly. I sometimes have to gun the engine to keep it going. It has apparently had new software for a known fault.

Bulbs keep blowing.

General Comments:

This car is very quick indeed. But for the money you get 200hp traded against build quality and handling.

Handling aint to hot.

It does look good though and can be tweaked up to 250bhp for the enthusiasts. If you do this you might consider a roll cage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th May, 2004

2001 Volvo V40 T turbo from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission turbo Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 kilometres
Most recent distance80000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Neon

Summary:

Absolutely wonderful!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car.

General Comments:

After owning 2 great used Volvo 240's I though I would treat myself to a new American car. What a mistake. You cannot compare the quality of a used Volvo with a new American car.

I have now returned to Volvo with my used V40. What a dream! It is very reliable and a pleasure to drive. The seats are comfortable, the cabin is roomy. It is perfect for a couple with a small family.

The car handles the snow like it has all wheel drive. It is also a great looking car and looks new, even after 3 years.

The dealer experience was also positive. I realize that generally each car dealer stands on their own separate of the manufacturer, but I can't help, but think that Volvo is much more involved than other dealers in setting the 'tone' on the sales floor. The Volvo salespersons are salaried as opposed to commissioned. My wife commented that it was nice to NOT feel like hens among the foxes in a showroom. For example, do you hate it when the car salesman takes your offer to the elusive business manager for secret chat? At the Volvo dealer, I actually was party to this conversation. I was treated like an intelligent human being. What can't other dealers do this?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2003

2001 Volvo V40 Europe 1.9D (115 bhp) from Netherlands

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9D (115 bhp) Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance45000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo V40

Summary:

Attractive and stylish estate

Faults:

I had a problem with the fuel pump that caused the engine to stop on the most inconvenient moments. Had to be replaced. This was a common problem on all 1.9D 115bhp engines.

General Comments:

This is one of the most attractive estates on the market. Not a big and lumpy car, but a sleek design. Comfortable and stylish. And giving priority on the highways here as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th May, 2003

2001 Volvo V40 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance15550 miles
Previous carVolvo 240

Summary:

Love it

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

A trusted start when entering the express way or having to pass.

A quailty ride on short or long trips.

Required oil change set at every 7500 miles and 1st service not reqired until 65000 miles. (so I was told)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2003

2001 Volvo V40 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Safety, performance, comfort all wrapped up into one!

Faults:

Has needed new brakes twice since we purchased it used 18 months ago. I suspect it needed new brakes when we bought it used from a Volvo dealer, but oh well.

Air conditioning leaked into passenger side front seat, but it went away by itself.

Nothing else!

General Comments:

Best value on the road! What more could you want: safety, performance, comfort, carrying capacity, and that great Volvo look!

We bought the Volvo because we wanted something REALLY safe. You don't get any better than this: head airbags, side airbags, front airbags, whiplash protection system, and more. Nobody does safety better than Volvo.

The V40 was our choice because we needed some carrying capacity, but didn't want to pay for a V70. A V40 is 91% of the length of a V70 but only 65% of the price!

The ride is great --- wonderful pick-up, really comfy seats, very stable and heavy feeling.

My only complaint is the interior is a bit cramped feeling (plus we have the sunroof which eats up some space).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2002

2001 Volvo V40 T4 SE 2.0 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance1000 miles
Previous carHonda 1.8 VTi 5 door Civic

Summary:

High performance set of 1950's curtains

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Very fast motor. Good buzz for the adrenaline junky.

The interior however is awful. Tacky bits abound and you could easily fall asleep looking at the dash.. If you weren't to busy spinning the wheels at 40mph that is! The interior really lets this car down. I will look next for a good performer with a better interior. Probably won't be Volvo.

Ford have not improved Volvo's boring image one bit with this car. I've got one year left with it. 1 year of looking at the dash and feeling disappointed. But putting my foot down reminds me of the real reason I bought it. It's a lot of engine for not much money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th February, 2001

15th May 2002, 12:37

I don't think the interior is that bad! The appearance is part of the appeal, looking much the same as a 1.6 V40. Much preferable to a vulgar Imprezza WRX for example.

It all works (quickly!), well finished, reasonable cost and seriously quick.

I've put my name down for the forthcoming S60 T5R...

31st Jul 2009, 22:05

Bought a V40 1.8 GDi for my mother. Dull as ditch water but still chugging along faultlessly after 4 years. Interior wearing well despite permanent presence of 9 stone German Shepherd. Yes, he's a big 'un! Hence the car!

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 17 reviews