Citroen C5 Reviews from Australia and New Zealand - Page 3 of 3

2002 Citroen C5 Estate 2.0 petrol

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance43000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo V70

Summary:

Flawed

Faults:

Where to start!

Major issue is engine shut down whilst driving, causing loss of power steering / brakes.

Despite a number of service call not yet fixed.

Electric motor in passenger seat has broken.

Rear electric locks have been replaced 2 times and are still o/s.

Recalled with engine management system fault.

Recalled with wheel problem - at least I got some new tyres.

When going, a great car, but NOT SAFE when engine can and does cut out at speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th November, 2005

2002 Citroen C5 Exclusive 3.1 V6

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired3 kilometres
Most recent distance50000 kilometres
Previous carCitroen XM

Summary:

Power, comfort, and reliability is always in a Citroen!

Faults:

This car is an extremely magnificent car! There are no problems with it except for obviously the fuel cost, as all the 3.0 vehicles have.

General Comments:

I'd recommend it for anyone. Once you get over the looks, you're flying! It has all the power you need. Also with it's Generation 3 hydraulic system, it's the smoothest car you'll ever go in!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2003

19th Jun 2009, 01:35

What kind of mileage do you get in city driving?

2001 Citroen C5 SX 2.0lt petrol

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0lt petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired200 kilometres
Most recent distance6500 kilometres
Previous carRenault 25

Summary:

The C5 is one sweet ride!

Faults:

No problems to date. After a recent fast 1000km trip from Queensland the lcd displayed `anti-pollution fault' and recommended I get a Service - however the fault reading disappeared the next time I started the car and hasn't reappeared.

General Comments:

This is a great grand tourer, particularly for long trips on Australia's woeful highways. The 2.0 litre manual is a dream to drive, plenty of power for overtaking at speeds of 110km plus, and extremely comfortable for all passengers, front and back. Magic carpet ride - the car seems to float on air. While not concentrating once, the speed crept up to 140km/hr on a highway trip and there was still plenty of power left to go.

Steering is direct and provides good feel. Handles corners superbly, especially when the suspension is set on Sport mode.

The only time this car lost its composure was once on a very badly corrugated, unsealed road at 80km when I sensed I wasn't in complete control of where it was going, but lift off the accelerator fixed that immediately.

The engine idles a bit roughly occasionally, but I am told that is normal for this engine, which is also in the Peugeot 406.

Around the city, the manual shift seems a bit sluggish around first and second gear, but from 3rd up, it is a smooth, accurate and predictable shift.

Averaging 8 litres/100kms on highways and 10 litres/100kms around town.

So far I am delighted with this very stylish, sophisticated and roomy beauty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 2002

7th Nov 2002, 04:23

I had the Anti Pollution fault a few times on my C5. And once I had the fault, I quickly drove to the dealer, and they hooked it to the computer, and discovered that one "Lambda sonde?" was not working properly. (something to do with the Catalysator, and exhaust system)..

They changed it, and never had the problem again. This problem could have taken ages to solve if I hadnt gone in while the error was showing.

2001 Citroen C5 SX 2.0 HDI

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 HDI Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired252 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carCitroen Xantia

Summary:

Quiet, comfortable, effortless and economical to boot

Faults:

Low hydraulic fluid. This was caused by a very poor first service by the local agent. It's worth noting that the local agent has substantially improved their service quality since this experience.

"Clunking" sounds from rear when driven over poorly maintained sealed roads. This was solved by installing factory specified sound proofing and a modification around the rear suspension. (The car is one of the first C5's to come to New Zealand as shown by the miles instruments.)

General Comments:

To step from the Xantia to the C5 is to move to quite a different driving experience. The C5 is quiet, so quiet that one can hear the smallest of sounds in the cabin. Since owning a Citroen DS many moons ago, I have not experienced the head space, ride and such a comfortable driving position as that of the C5.

Economy is excellent though noticeable a little more thirsty than the Xantia 2.0 HDI over the same trips. Acceleration is very good for a diesel.

Seats excellent. Like the arm rests on the long trips, the double sun visors are very useful and the instrument blackout is great for long night driving.

Great boot space, luggage for four adults for a week away, all in the boot, and still room for a several cartons of wine to return with.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2002

2002 Citroen C5 SE 2.2 HDI turbo diesel

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 HDI turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12 kilometres
Most recent distance11670 kilometres
Previous carToyota 4x4

Summary:

Good solid car, just too expensive

Faults:

In over 11000 km since new, I took it only once to the dealer for a faulty alternator and the right rear door to be re-adjusted, as it did not close properly. It was fixed in about 2 hours.

I leased another C5 2.2 HDI SE in 2001 in Europe, drove it hard for 21000 km, and except for servicing at 1500 km and at 15000 km, it needed no repair whatsoever.

It's true that rear suspension rattles sometimes over dirt roads, but you hardly hear it.

My radar detector did not work properly, because of the metal insert in the windscreen.

Rear seats, if you put radio down on a dirt road, you hear them squeaking.

General Comments:

C5 2.2 HDI SE; it's quick off the mark, and overtaking is easy.

The GPS navigation and information system is impressive.

Has plenty of space, and it's comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2002

5th Jul 2002, 06:38

C5 and Radar detector.

On the left side of your rear view mirror (hidden by the dots) you can find a rectangle that is not covered by the special layer on your window. The French are using this spot to place their electronic passes for the 'Peage', the toll way. If you mount your detector there it will function as before.

Cheers, Bart Lysen.

Ps: I'm driving a C5 2.2HDI Break exclusive.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 11 reviews