1996 Daewoo Cielo 1.5i

Summary:

Cheap and disposable

Faults:

The seat has bent.

Cat converter needed replacing.

C.V. joints replaced.

Clutch replaced.

Parcel shelf broke.

Engine oil leaks.

Muffler box needed replacing.

Air con needed regassing.

Battery failed.

Boot handle broke.

Boot struts failed.

General Comments:

These cars are built to be crushed when replaced, not resold! The car is very poorly made. It is very rough to drive for a car which has low kays and service history from the only one owner before me.

The steering is very heavy without power assistance, and the cabin is a little noisy..

The power is pathetic. The motor sounds like a run away shopping trolley when is revved close to red line.

The driving position is seriously wrong.

The only thing that this car has going for it is that it uses only about 5-6 litres of petrol per 100kms of travel. Also it is very light on tyre wear.

The car has exceptional boot area, but the interior is crap and only homely for a 5 year old.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th September, 2007

23rd Dec 2008, 21:29

I agree. My engine screws are rusting away, I have just tried to open my boot and broke the handle in the process.

Engine leaks oil. The car is very good on gas, but at 67ks is still very rough. It it apparent that it was made very cheaply using cheap materials.

It handles very well for a little car though. But overall a waste of time!

1996 Daewoo Cielo 1.5 fuel injected

Summary:

Economical, but unreliable

Faults:

The distributor had replaced in January 2006.

The alternator was replaced 2 weeks later.

In March 2006 the head gasket was replaced, water jackets caused by corrosion were wielded up and a new cylinder bolt was put in the head.

Once the head had been reassembled the water pump and bearing had to be replaced and as well as the cam belt.

Then the car would not start. The starter motor was replaced and it still would not start.

Diagnosed, and the computer was replaced.

The car is still not going. Is presently being re-diagnosed.

General Comments:

I bought the car for private use therefore it isn't under warranty.

The previous owner had no problems with the car and the car was been well maintained.

I believe the car is very economical and easy to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th May, 2007

1996 Daewoo Cielo GL Coupe 1.5L DOHC

Summary:

Good to Borrow, Bad to Own

Faults:

Has Had Reconditioned Engine, Transmission, Alternator, Radiator.

Radiator Cap and Vacuum Cable replaced.

Cheap plastic interior cracks.

General Comments:

Awsome cornering, really speeds around well, easy to drive, comfortable,... only issue I have with the vehicle is the lack of reliability,... not an original part in the car.. but when it goes, it goes!!!

Due to the car being lightweight the 1.5L engine still give the car sufficient guts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th February, 2006

1996 Daewoo Cielo GL 1.5 Litre petrol

Summary:

Good car to drive as its cheap to run and gets the job done

Faults:

Timing Belt at about 88 000.

Oil Sensor was gave up needed Genuine GM part which was quite costly compared to a generic one.

Thermostat had been replaced with wrong one and was cut to fit which meant it didn't work.

Interior trim is quite flimsy like.

Has a bit of surface rust in a few areas.

Rear wheels off centre and scrape on guard if driving friends around.

General Comments:

Very economical.

Idea car for first car or second family car runabout.

Stock radio good, but when upgrading to after-market CD player most likely need to get it installed as special keys required to remove radio/Cassette.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th November, 2005

25th Feb 2007, 04:55

Just an update. Car has done a few more K's and have recently had to replace the radiator which also discovered that there was a stray currant running through the cooling system. Had to be fixed quickly as was likely radiator would fail. One visit to local Auto electrician resulted in a damaged left hand guard, front bumper and scratches to bonnet from a 4WD Ute reversing into me. Kind of worked in my favour due to rust being cut out of bonnet and resprayed and faded bumper replaced. So looks quite nice now.