Daewoo Matiz Reviews from Australia and New Zealand - Page 2 of 2

2000 Daewoo Matiz SE 0.8 cc petrol

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 0.8 cc petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres
Previous carFord Laser

Summary:

Never again

Faults:

CV joints noisy at new. 2 weeks to get parts.

Water leaking into cabin from new from antenna.

New clutch needed at 130000 km cost $780.00.

Water pump leaking at 100000 km. 21 day delay while parts ordered from Korea.

Ignition switch failed at 145000 no part available. had to use another make of vehicle switch.

CV joints failed 2nd time. Genuine price $480.00 each, non genuine $120.00 each.

Rotor arm broken at 155000. 3 weeks delay ordered from Korea.

General Comments:

Petrol consumption good 15 k/p/l (42 m/p/g city driving.

Parts availability is terrible and very expensive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th April, 2005

22nd Dec 2005, 09:56

Interesting! So it's not just in the UK where parts are expensive and difficult to get hold of. My next car will most definitely not be a Daewoo or Chevrolet. The Matiz is just too expensive to maintain once it comes out of warranty.

5th Oct 2011, 04:50

What vehicle ignition switch did you use? This has gone on my car and there is still no part available without buying an entire lock set - which I really don't want to do.

Thanks.

Pippa.

2003 Daewoo Matiz SE 796cc petrol

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 796cc petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired19 kilometres
Most recent distance5048 kilometres
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Well equipped and capable at a great price!

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

Having nothing better to do one wet and miserable Hamilton afternoon, we test-drove a Matiz and were amazed by the way it performed "four-up", in awful conditions. The price (NZ$12995) was only what we were planning to spend on a used car for my wife and we placed an order on the spot.

Since delivery, the car has performed faultlessly and I actually prefer driving it, rather than my company 2.0 litre, when I get the chance!

Astonishingly roomy and comfortable for a tiny car: the impression of space is increased by the fact that the front seat occupants sit so far from the windscreen and by the elevated driving position. The boot is small, but will take a lot more than you think. External styling is also excellent and it even looks pleased to see you, as approach it from the front!

Compared with many small cars, the Matiz is very quiet and the good quality CD/radio has no trouble making itself heard over the engine, which (incidentally) has a pleasant, "sporty" note, under acceleration.

Although optimized for urban use (where it can hold its own with anything), this car is no slouch on the open road and we have completed 500km day trips, over variable North Island roads, with no fatigue and on the smell of an oily rag.

Front and rear lights are big, bold and very effective.

If pushed to make a criticism, I would say that it could use an intermittent wipe: not a lot, is it?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2004

23rd Feb 2005, 10:30

Thank you for your appraisal of this little car, one of which I am about to buy.

I have read all kinds of reports from good too bad which I guess is the same with all makes & models, but yours told me the things I wanted to know i.e. what's it like with a load up, over distance etc. I am buying one because we have a motor home and want something small to tow on behind, sadly it means getting rid of my lovely stately Merc estate... boo hoo.

Thank you again.

Jane.

2002 Daewoo Matiz 2002 SE 796cc

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 796cc Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired102 kilometres
Most recent distance10500 kilometres

Summary:

Nice little, compact, go anywhere, car!

Faults:

Car had 'teething problems' such as:

Faulty cable to spark-plug, causing the engine to 'short out' on one cylinder.

Faulty transmission. Gears would 'crunch & grind' moving down into 2nd and 1st gears.

Gear changing still a little stiff at times, even after repair.

General Comments:

Good handling and nice tight turning circle.

Fantastic Headlights!!

Good Air conditioning - however draws a lot of power away from the engine when on!

Fairly roomy, and comfortable for a small car. The interior is quite clean and modern looking.

Comes factory-fitted with good rather sound system.

Can squeeze almost anywhere!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th February, 2004

7th Jun 2007, 22:26

I agree fully with every detail in this review. I have had several problems with my manual gearbox having sent my matiz back 5 times in the last 7 months since I bought it to be repaired. It seems fine for now.

I also had a problem with my spark leads, however since replacing them have had no trouble yet.

I also agree with your scores, and although there have been a few problems, I do not regret buying this vehicle.

2000 Daewoo Matiz SE 3 cylinder

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired21 kilometres
Most recent distance10300 kilometres
Previous carToyota Supra

Summary:

The only small car to own and drive

Faults:

Nil.. up to this moment.

General Comments:

I use the car for work purposes most of the time & it is great around town & on the open highway.

Would buy another one tomorrow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2000

13th Apr 2005, 05:28

Yes, but how long have you had it?

5th Aug 2007, 01:38

We have had a Matiz for three years and it's done around 30,000km. The rheostat for the lighting dislodged itself from the dashboard. The connection between the clutch cable and the pedal is very weak and snapped leaving me stranded. I did a temporary fix because the new cable has to be shipped from Aussie to New Zealand.

The car is unsafe in high winds on open road due to its high top and slim width. You can feel it rocking about.

We have now found water on the passenger side flooring, however, we are not sure where it is coming from. Has anyone had any problems with leaks on the floor?

Cheap to run about and cheaply put together.

1999 Daewoo Matiz SE 0.8

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 0.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired13 kilometres
Most recent distance19800 kilometres
Previous carRover - Austin 825Si

Summary:

One way to get attention!

Faults:

Dealer-fitted weathershield blew off 2 hours after delivery when met by a truck and a headwind.

A/C leaked chilled water into the passenger footwell 5 days after delivery.

Rattling tailgate.

All fixed quickly. Since then, a trouble-free run.

A tendency to grate in 2nd gear when cold.

General Comments:

A great car - 3 of my friends have bought one since driving mine.

Great space and versatility.

Tends to drink when pushed harder.

Comfortable enough on the highway, suspension perhaps a little under-damped.

Non-standard size stereo and small speaker size means I can't install my high-end Sony head unit and JBL split speakers (any suggestions anyone?).

Tons of interest in the car (I have some extra bits on it) especially at petrol stations - some want to know if engine is in the back!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th November, 2000

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 9 reviews