Fiat 124 Reviews from Australia and New Zealand

1967 Fiat 124 AC Sport 1.4

Model year1967
Year of manufacture1967
First year of ownership1967
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles

Summary:

Fantastic

Faults:

Various over 30+ years of ownership including engine rebuild (head/head gasket twice), front shocks, rear diff twice, upgraded lighting, steering rack, trim inside car is disintegrating.

General Comments:

My father was fortunate to buy this car new in Turin in 1967 and was one of the first right hand drives of this model, being the smallest engined 1400cc 'AC' model. He has owned the car from new, having imported it privately to Australia in the early 70's. Rust has started to appear on the body, but for a 38 year old Fiat this isn't too bad (was built before Fiat did their steel deal with Russia I think). For a car of its age the performance is great, being an older car the driver is still 'connected to the road' in a way that is not possible with most modern cars, with electronic gadgetry having removed a large part of the driving sensation. Performance from the twin cam engine is good, while all round disk brakes was ahead of its time as well. I plan on doing a complete bare-metal rebuild of the car to concourse condition over the coming years, which may not be economically sound, but given this is a one owner car and a part of the family it will be done right!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th October, 2005

1st Aug 2008, 06:36

Hello, how much would a f 68 be worth fully restored?

9th May 2013, 10:44

Hi, I've owned a number of ACs.

I sold a 4 owner car in 2007 for $8500 and a basket case 68 twin filler 250 Ducati... so it was worth approx 16k.

The AC was bought by a Fiat fanatic who just had to have it... and who has never driven it since. I know where it is, and now pester the current owner for it... me personally, I would pay 12k for my car.

A 'fully restored car', you'd need to be more specific re: spec, work done, ability to verify the work etc.

An honest AC sold recently at Shannon's for $8500.

Cheers, Michel.

1972 Fiat 124 BC 1.6

Year of manufacture1972
First year of ownership1986
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles

Summary:

An Italian Classic

Faults:

Engine reconditioned at 150,000 miles.

Distributor replaced with electronic type, resulting in excellent reliability and spark plug life.

Gearbox replaced at 155,000 miles due to jumping out of 3rd gear.

General Comments:

Gets up and goes for their age.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2003

1974 Fiat 124 Sports Coupe 1.8 petrol

Year of manufacture1974
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles
Previous carSubaru Rex

Summary:

A colorful and competent classic coupe - buy one before prices skyrocket!

Faults:

Very little actually. I bought the car from an enthusiast who had owned it for 11 years, but not driven it much in recent times. I replaced the cam belt ($17 part), the fan belt and fluids. As it turned out both of these belts definitely needed replacing.

The only issue has been the handbrake which will not work on really steep hills and apparently cannot be fixed. As a result I always leave it in gear on inclines.

General Comments:

A "rorty", taut and mischievous sports coupe that has character in buckets and still manages to lift its skirts and run with the modern cars.

The standard 1750 twin cam engine is fine, but responds really well to some modification. I have added twin Dellorto twin throat carbs, a polished 125T inlet manifold and K&N free flow filters, then had it dyno-tuned.

This resulted in an increase in performance from 85hp at the back wheel to 106hp (approximately 140 at the crank). And while this car is never to equal the contemporary sports cars, it makes it very nippy to drive and has a wonderful "raspberry" exhaust note. The brakes are superb, the handling excellent and the five speed box superb. And a decent sized back seat too!

If you are looking for one the over-riding requirement is rust - or the lack of it. Search long and hard for the most rust free example you can find, then grab it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th June, 2003

28th Oct 2004, 23:08

Reading your review brought back a lot of fond memories for me when I had my 124 (circa late 1969 early BC version with 1430 engine). If only Fiat would have the sense to reintroduce such a fine example of a sports coupe. Did you know that you can (could) get electronic ignition for your CC model. From memory there was a spot on the passenger side of the engine bay.

Did you fix the handbrake?

18th Nov 2007, 13:52

My Father had bought a new one in 1973. Red and the 1400cc, ordered with 5th gear. He only drove it Sunday's and he only did 9k. I got it in 1980. Used to race it on the track and on the road. never gave me any trouble except for some rust around the windscreen. People were in awe seeing it here. I sold it back in 1986 after I had done 140k. To this day I regret I sold it and if the guy had not wrecked it totally I would have bought it back.

5th Apr 2011, 07:25

Re: your handbrake problem, try backing off totally the lever adjustment, press the footbrake several times, then adjust the lever to 6 clicks.

Ex Fiat Mechanic Dealership Owner.

Mikewild.ls@hotmail.co.uk.

1973 Fiat 124 Sport 1.8

Year of manufacture1973
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance119000 miles
Previous carFiat 124

Summary:

Excellent Value for money

Faults:

I had to replace the front brake calipers.

Also had the radiator reconditioned.

New brake booster has also been fitted.

At 98000 miles the rear differential started to make some noise and had to be reconditioned.

General Comments:

The Fiat 124 Sport has exceptional styling for a car that was designed in house by Fiat.

The interior design provides excellent viewing from every angle and the dashboard provides clear information with a very sporty design.

The exhaust note is like music to your ears.

The handling is great and the four wheel disk brakes work well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2003

1971 Fiat 124 Sport Coupe 1.8

Year of manufacture1971
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired21025 miles
Most recent distance45892 miles
Previous carNissan Bluebird

Summary:

Fast, classic sports car

Faults:

Alternator broke at 40,000 miles.

Steering box badly worn.

Suspension needed extensive renewal this included ball joints, suspension bushes, tie tod ends.

Rust has appeared in the rear windscreen and quarter panel areas.

General Comments:

This Fiat 124 has great sport performance coupled with great handling.

Engine very robust and reliable.

Low slung, sleek and sporty look.

The cabin is very comfortable, but heater and ventilation is hopelessly inadequate.

Parts can be expensive and hard to find.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 2002

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 5 reviews