1972 Holden HQ Kingswood 202 Cubic Inches

Summary:

Solid Aussie Tank

Faults:

The car was a typical Aussie Tank; built very solid and a great runner.

The only things that went wrong were minor and annoying such as the starter motor falling on the road.

The car almost got me arrested. Late one night after finishing a late shift at work, I got into it to go home when the gear linkages jammed (an old Holden problem).

That was no problem to me as it had happened to me before; you just have to lift the bonnet and it's just a simple matter of fiddling the linkages with your fingers until they drop into place.

On this occasion I was doing this when I felt a tap on my shoulder; I ignored this as I thought it was one of my workmates. After about three more taps I lost patience and told them to F*** off.

Only problem it was a cop who wanted to know why I had my head under a bonnet on a dark street. After some fast talking and a very red face, he believed me and let me go.

General Comments:

Very well built car from GMH Holden.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2009

31st Jul 2009, 06:51

Hehe good story.. good car too.

1973 Holden HQ HQ 202 high compression

Summary:

Hard

Faults:

The diff in the sixes blow way too easily.

The axles snap way too easily.

General Comments:

The car is as tough as nails, but the diff and axles are just too weak. With a conversion to a Ford 9 inch diff with billet axles you will never blow a diff again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th January, 2007

17th Aug 2008, 06:07

I know many HQ Holdens that covered in excess of 500,000 miles on one diff.

They will only snap if you abuse them or subject them to ridiculous amounts of stress. The fact that you talk about replacing it with a Ford 9" makes me think that this is what you are doing.

1972 Holden HQ ute 173

Summary:

Best thing you can buy on four wheels

Faults:

Bad battery. speedo never worked, couldn't find matching gear for speedo cable. Had to adjust rockers.

General Comments:

Wicked ute, I've got a brand new car now and I'd still choose the old girl over anything. Reliable as anything, even with bad wheel bearings and a bad knock. Miss it dearly, wish I didn't give it up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th December, 2006

1972 Holden HQ Premier 3.3L 202

Summary:

Great old car that just keeps on going!!

Faults:

The fuel gauge and temp gauge are very unreliable. The carby needs replacing.

General Comments:

Very good condition for its age. Vinyl seats get very hot in the sun (OUCH!)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2006

1972 Holden HQ Kingswood 202

Summary:

My pride and Joy, true Australian classic

Faults:

Front wheel bearings needed replacing.

All four Tyres replaced.

Small leak in front grille.

Transmission fluid leaked out whilst on Car transporter.

Carby needed rebuilding.

General Comments:

No major problems in 17,000 miles, mainly due to regular preventative maintenance.

Large problems prevented by nipping small ones in the bud.

Bench seat gets uncomfortable on long rides.

Great vision from Cabin.

Timeless style and flair, any HQ will always turn heads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2004

1974 Holden HQ kingswood 202

Summary:

Simple, powerful and tough cruise machine

Faults:

Timing cog, easy enough to fix at home.

Starter motor, easily replaced.

Neutral safety switch.

Electrics beginning to corrode and generally wear.

Rust in front guards, but has not grown in size since I brought it.

Muffler gasket blown a few times.

Idler Arm is a CONSTANT source of wear and failed warrants.

New ball joint.

Rust repair to rear.

Heater core corroded.

Rough idling on frosty mornings, mitigated with Lubricant spray and Methylated spirits in fuel tank.

General Comments:

Always starts first time.

Never really warm in winter even with reconditioned heater.

Hot in summer.

Fantastic to drive, especially long distance.

Keeps going despite low maintenance and repair list.

A real timeless beast that always gets noticed.

VERY easy to fix.

Not terribly economical.

I love my car, only cost me $700 six years ago, now worth less $$ but more sentimental.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2003

24th Mar 2004, 09:12

I have a 1973 Holden HQ. I have found it to be a very reliable motor car. I have owned my car for 5 years and in this time I have not spent a great deal of money apart from a re-spray and a new front bench seat. It is a real good reliable bus. 6 seater enables me to commute with my family all in the same car.