1974 Holden HQ kingswood 202


Simple, powerful and tough cruise machine


Timing cog, easy enough to fix at home.

Starter motor, easily replaced.

Neutral safety switch.

Electrics beginning to corrode and generally wear.

Rust in front guards, but has not grown in size since I brought it.

Muffler gasket blown a few times.

Idler Arm is a CONSTANT source of wear and failed warrants.

New ball joint.

Rust repair to rear.

Heater core corroded.

Rough idling on frosty mornings, mitigated with Lubricant spray and Methylated spirits in fuel tank.

General Comments:

Always starts first time.

Never really warm in winter even with reconditioned heater.

Hot in summer.

Fantastic to drive, especially long distance.

Keeps going despite low maintenance and repair list.

A real timeless beast that always gets noticed.

VERY easy to fix.

Not terribly economical.

I love my car, only cost me $700 six years ago, now worth less $$ but more sentimental.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2003

24th Mar 2004, 09:12

I have a 1973 Holden HQ. I have found it to be a very reliable motor car. I have owned my car for 5 years and in this time I have not spent a great deal of money apart from a re-spray and a new front bench seat. It is a real good reliable bus. 6 seater enables me to commute with my family all in the same car.

1974 Holden HQ Kingswood Ute 308 V8


A Bute Ute and unbeatable character


Rust before the rear wheel guards.

That was all!

General Comments:

I couldn't get up a hill in a snow blizzard once because the back was too light and the car had too much grunt so the wheels spun, but the old Ute wouldn't budge. A U-turn sorted that out though.

Wherever you can take a 4x4 an HQ will go as well, tough as old boots they are and they don't quit on you.

Make sure you hold on to that steering wheel though when cornering to the right fast as you may find yourself sliding to the left across the vinyl bench-seat!I seriously loved those cars and miss them.

If I ever make it home to New Zealand I'm buying another!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2003

1975 Holden HQ Belmont 327 Chevrolet V8


A cheap good street machine


Replaced front lower suspension bushes.

Front shocks wore out.

Replaced ball joints.

General Comments:

Hot 327 Chev, a lot of power, feels more so powered behind a T10 4 Speed top loader.

Handles like a dream, I've had heavy duty suspension all round.

Sounds like a dream, twin 2 and a half inch pipes coming out behind the back tires with chrome tips and flows.

It's a wagon so it has to have a loud stereo. So the 2 subs fit nicely behind the back seat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th December, 2002

1974 Holden HQ Factory V8 Kingswood 253 ci V8


They don't make 'em like they use too


In need of consistent tuning.

Motor rebuilt - it was getting a bit sluggish.

Could be hard to start some times.

Rear tires keep evapourating.

Bit of rust in all the usual places.

Cold drafts in cabin especially by feet.

Heater never worked properly - replace heater core numerous times.

Clutch bands in trimatic (traumatic) auto replaced.

Some over heating issue's when first purchased remedied by fitting a fan shroud - I don't know why they were sold in New Zealand with out them.

Head lights were shocking.

General Comments:

This car was cheap and surprisingly powerful and quick considering its size and engine.

4 years after the engine was rebuilt this car recorded 109 hp at the rear wheels on the rolling road. Not to shabby for a 253 V8.

This car was in original condition, and had only 2 owners for the first 25 years of its life.

Ain't nothing like a bench seat for cornering at high speed.

If I could find another factory V8 HQ one in this car's condition I would buy it with out hesitating.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th September, 2002

7th Nov 2002, 20:14

I have a 2 owner 160000km 308 Trimatic HQ Kingswood with factory GTS dash. Real tidy and original. $4500. wiser77@hotmail.com. Garn mate, put your money where your mouth is!

11th Sep 2006, 22:29

Hey I own a HQ Holden ute it's a beast of a car. Havn't had any problems with it besides the fact that it is to low got to love the Holdens.

23rd Dec 2006, 23:30

No they don't build them like they used to, they build them a whole lot better.

1st Dec 2009, 19:21

Ha, you sure they build them better these days? See where all these new cars are when they are the same age as the Kingswood... cars used to be built to last, average modern car is designed to last 10 years with regular use cos they worked out that way they sell more cars.