1999 Mercedes-Benz A-Class


Even if it's given to you, get rid of it


Car can start first time for 1-2 weeks, then for no apparent reason, the car just fails to start. No dash lights come on at all, and the car seems dead. I have checked the battery and that appears to be fine. Why oh why buy one?

General Comments:

LEMON. After reading all the problems that others have had, I am at my wits end wondering why anyone would buy one. Maybe I should be grateful, that SO far, I only have this one problem, but the biggest issue is, I have no idea what is causing it!! Has anyone had a similar problem??

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd March, 2011

2002 Mercedes-Benz A-Class Elegance 1.6


Stands out from the crowd


Warning light at 25000. Needed computer check to clear it.

Squeak in suspension spring.

General Comments:

This is the Elegance LWB model, and has been a reliable daily commuter.

Great room for passengers and cargo.

Quality feel to the build.

I have enjoyed my time with the A class, and remain very happy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2010

17th Jun 2010, 23:33

I have 2 one - manual gearbox with normal clutch - has 215,000kms and the other one -AKS- has 85,000kms. Both have been wonderful, without any trouble, and they are running as first day. Just normal service.

For the AKS I have a tip for you: just don't stay at red lights with first gear engaged, it is easy to forget; and don't break the car in hills with the accelerator, and you will be fine. The normal clutch is more durable, of course - maybe because of how people drive them. I had to change the normal one at approx. 165,000kms, the AKS one I haven't changed it, although it has a lower mileage.

The automatic A classes from that generation do have some troubles, but manuals are fantastic, very rugged.


26th Feb 2011, 02:41

Thanks for that support as a fellow A-Class owner. A mechanic told me not to use gears to decelerate too. Just on coming up for 64K soon and may be looking at replacing the original tyres - Michelin Energy - soon. These are no longer sold, so will need to look around (any suggestions?). Still a very happy owner - car running smoothly and not a hiccup as a great little 'around town car'.

2nd Apr 2012, 07:13

Still going strong at 71k. Reliable commuter that never misses a beat. Just changed tyres - first change - stuck with Michelin - Pilot Sports 3. Great match with nil road noise and superb handling (and safety if you follow all the performance tests). What's not to like!?

12th Mar 2014, 02:59

Still thumbs up from me! Now just over 83K and the only work required was replacing the front passenger seat belt sensor. Not inexpensive!

Otherwise it continues to be a superb reliable daily commuter.

Lots of new cars to look at, but I just can't think of a reason to switch on any reasonable grounds!

2000 Mercedes-Benz A-Class 160 petrol


It is a car; that's it


I have had the steering column replaced 5 times.

Thing's breaking in the car; plastics etc..

Can't list the problems; there are so many.

Very disgusted; thought I was buying a good car instead a lemon.

Cost of repairs is huge!

Very disappointed!

General Comments:

This car is far less superior than any other small car, because of all the faults and design problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2007

12th Dec 2007, 16:38

My mechanic told me not to buy one of these cars, as they are expensive to fix, and are always going wrong.

26th Dec 2007, 11:51

My experience is completely the opposite. This are reliable and well constructed cars, with very durable components.

27th Dec 2007, 08:20

I agree with the review. My year 2000 A160 was a menace needing frequent warranty repairs. Plastic interior parts would break off with virtually no effort (like the front seat height adjustment handles). Finally when the timing chain snapped at 67,000km I had had enough and sold it.