2002 Mercedes-Benz A-Class Reviews

2002 Mercedes-Benz A-Class Elegance 1.6 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.6 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 kilometres
Most recent distance58000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 121

Summary:

Stands out from the crowd

Faults:

Warning light at 25000. Needed computer check to clear it.

Squeak in suspension spring.

General Comments:

This is the Elegance LWB model, and has been a reliable daily commuter.

Great room for passengers and cargo.

Quality feel to the build.

I have enjoyed my time with the A class, and remain very happy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2010

17th Jun 2010, 23:33

I have 2 one - manual gearbox with normal clutch - has 215,000kms and the other one -AKS- has 85,000kms. Both have been wonderful, without any trouble, and they are running as first day. Just normal service.

For the AKS I have a tip for you: just don't stay at red lights with first gear engaged, it is easy to forget; and don't break the car in hills with the accelerator, and you will be fine. The normal clutch is more durable, of course - maybe because of how people drive them. I had to change the normal one at approx. 165,000kms, the AKS one I haven't changed it, although it has a lower mileage.

The automatic A classes from that generation do have some troubles, but manuals are fantastic, very rugged.

Cheers.

26th Feb 2011, 02:41

Thanks for that support as a fellow A-Class owner. A mechanic told me not to use gears to decelerate too. Just on coming up for 64K soon and may be looking at replacing the original tyres - Michelin Energy - soon. These are no longer sold, so will need to look around (any suggestions?). Still a very happy owner - car running smoothly and not a hiccup as a great little 'around town car'.

2nd Apr 2012, 07:13

Still going strong at 71k. Reliable commuter that never misses a beat. Just changed tyres - first change - stuck with Michelin - Pilot Sports 3. Great match with nil road noise and superb handling (and safety if you follow all the performance tests). What's not to like!?

12th Mar 2014, 02:59

Still thumbs up from me! Now just over 83K and the only work required was replacing the front passenger seat belt sensor. Not inexpensive!

Otherwise it continues to be a superb reliable daily commuter.

Lots of new cars to look at, but I just can't think of a reason to switch on any reasonable grounds!

2002 Mercedes-Benz A-Class A140 Avantgarde LWB 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

A great practical car, and it's a Mercedes

Faults:

Battery went after 5 years, amazing it lasted that long, it only does short journeys.

Nothing else at all.

General Comments:

This car is what it is, it's no sports car but it's not designed to be. However it fulfill its design purpose perfectly.

It is amazingly roomy in LWB form, and actually it's very nice to drive. The steering is pretty vague and a bit heavy, but it's no trouble at all to use. The autobox is smooth as silk, it's a 5spd with tiptronic, but I used it once and then just left it in D!

It gets through brakes and tires quite quickly, but parts aren't expensive really.

I get the car serviced and MOTd annually at a german car specialist, and it's been perfect, however between MOTs 2008-2009 it only did 1500 miles so I would expect nothing less.

The ride of the LWB model is far superior to the standard length car, and when fitted with original spec Goodyear GT2 tires, it cushions very well, better than rubbish ECO tires we tried on the front for a while.

The Avantgarde is a good spec level and looks smart, being sportier than a Classic or Elegance. Spec includes half leather, A/C, 4x electric windows, cruise control etc etc very well appointed.

It cruises very well, and 5th gear is very tall, so economy on a run is excellent, at least 40mpg.

It overtakes very well and stops quickly and smoothly.

Don't go to Mercedes dealers for service though, the service is poor and the prices immense.

Nothing has gone wrong ever, and it will last many many years at this rate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2009

15th Mar 2009, 21:54

I am very happy to find another A class owner pleased with his car. On this web site there are many unhappy faces at the side of A class reviews, and I think this might have its origin in a very bad dealership service. I have had 4 A class in total, 2 rented and 2 bought from new, they already have 10 years and one of them 192,000kms and I have never experienced a problem.

I am amazed by the quality and durability of these cars. You said 5 years for your battery (in the one with 192,000kms, I haven't changed the original battery -10 years!). So, good to see other good experiences.

Best wishes.

12th Feb 2013, 17:23

It is still going strong, but still does low miles. It is yet to fail an MOT. We put 4 new Kumho tyres on due to cracks, and the ride and grip was improved even further. It has had another battery due to short trips. The main fault is rust on the rear arches. Terrible considering the age and mileage, but this is a common Merc fault, no excuse though. Still reliable and pleasant to drive though, and immensely practical!

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 5 reviews