2006 Mitsubishi Colt Reviews from Australia and New Zealand

2006 Mitsubishi Colt Plus 1.5 MiVec

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.5 MiVec Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6600 kilometres
Most recent distance42300 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz S-Class

Summary:

I have never loved a car more than this one - and I've had many

Faults:

None, really.

I broke off the radio aerial by forgetting to unscrew it before going into the car wash (NZ$ 40 for a new one, yikes!).

And I blew the cigarette lighter fuse by trying to inflate an air mattress electrically the wrong way round.

So, none of the car's fault, really.

General Comments:

This is easily the best and the most likable car I've ever owned! If it disappeared on me, I would buy one exactly like it again.

Things I like about this car:

Tremendously comfortable front seats.

Wonderful CVT transmission.

Great steering.

I love the styling - what a quirky little thing!

At 100km/h, the car ticks over at barely 2000 rpm. That makes it a great, relaxed highway cruiser.

Fuel consumption is sensationally low - I get 5.6 L/ 100km regular fuel in everyday driving.

It's possible to sleep in the back of it - I've gone on holiday with it, sleeping on a mattress with the dimensions 190 x 90 cm in the back with the seats folded down. It was perfectly comfortable.

The boot is huge, and can be made even "huger" by folding down seats. I've picked up a tall fridge freezer with this car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2008

29th Sep 2008, 09:26

Thanks for the interesting review. I am also a proud owner of a colt plus for about 1 year. I mostly agree with the review but I would like to find out more about how you achieve 5.6L/KM. My best is 6.5L/KM, do you have any tips, please email me tanhangkoon@yahoo.com.sg.

3rd May 2009, 02:47

Hi.

I drive the same car in SGP since Sep 2006 and never did 5.6L/100km. My very best was 6.5L to a 100km. How did you do it?

Agree that this petite car can carry a huge things like a fridge. I did precisely that too.

Despite the relatively low fuel consumption, the cost of normal servicing parts (e.g oil/air filters/spark-plugs.brake-pads) are much higher compared to other same range models. Guess it attributes from the high JPY currency exchange rates in present times.

Cheers!

13th Jul 2009, 18:44

Hi there.

I just bought an '06 CVT Colt from my Dad, he drove it exclusively between the Gold Coast and Brisbane on the highway to work and back, and regularly got 5.6L/100km economy. So he covered about 450km a week, almost totally highway km. If you have a fair proportion of city (stop/start) driving you'll miss out on that economy.

24th Feb 2010, 03:35

Hi, you guys are very very lucky, I get approx 7~8L/100km with my Colt plus in city driving and mainly with the air con on...? Is it because I have the turbo Ralliart version???

2006 Mitsubishi Colt Cabriolet 1.5

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired14 kilometres
Most recent distance480 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Tucson

Summary:

Value for money; Stylish and cute with the roof down

Faults:

Passenger side window is not closing/opening properly. To be fair though, I have not taken the car in as yet for its first service, and have not notified the dealer or manufacturer of the problem as yet.

General Comments:

Fantastic value for money for a "second" vehicle - as these are a 2006 model and sold at a heavily discounted price.

It is unfortunately a bit skittish on rough roads when the hardtop roof is open (which takes only 22 seconds to open or close), but as a summer runabout car it is fun to drive, and people are curious as to the manufacturer as it is styled by Pininfarina and is quite stylish.

Being a 1.5, it isn't very quick (isn't exactly slow either), but is very fuel efficient.

I look forward to putting more kilometers on the clock, and keeping readers of this site updated on how the car and I age together.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2008

5th Apr 2008, 06:43

I have now done 2000 kilometres and still enjoy the car.

The rattles have been rectified at the first service.

I have not been able to drive the car as much as I would like, but am making the most of the sunny weather as winter is on its way.

Have been on the freeways a few times around Sydney and have been happy with the engines zippiness.

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 2 reviews