2006 Mitsubishi Colt Plus 1.5 MiVec

Summary:

I have never loved a car more than this one - and I've had many

Faults:

None, really.

I broke off the radio aerial by forgetting to unscrew it before going into the car wash (NZ$ 40 for a new one, yikes!).

And I blew the cigarette lighter fuse by trying to inflate an air mattress electrically the wrong way round.

So, none of the car's fault, really.

General Comments:

This is easily the best and the most likable car I've ever owned! If it disappeared on me, I would buy one exactly like it again.

Things I like about this car:

Tremendously comfortable front seats.

Wonderful CVT transmission.

Great steering.

I love the styling - what a quirky little thing!

At 100km/h, the car ticks over at barely 2000 rpm. That makes it a great, relaxed highway cruiser.

Fuel consumption is sensationally low - I get 5.6 L/ 100km regular fuel in everyday driving.

It's possible to sleep in the back of it - I've gone on holiday with it, sleeping on a mattress with the dimensions 190 x 90 cm in the back with the seats folded down. It was perfectly comfortable.

The boot is huge, and can be made even "huger" by folding down seats. I've picked up a tall fridge freezer with this car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2008

29th Sep 2008, 09:26

Thanks for the interesting review. I am also a proud owner of a colt plus for about 1 year. I mostly agree with the review but I would like to find out more about how you achieve 5.6L/KM. My best is 6.5L/KM, do you have any tips, please email me tanhangkoon@yahoo.com.sg.

3rd May 2009, 02:47

Hi.

I drive the same car in SGP since Sep 2006 and never did 5.6L/100km. My very best was 6.5L to a 100km. How did you do it?

Agree that this petite car can carry a huge things like a fridge. I did precisely that too.

Despite the relatively low fuel consumption, the cost of normal servicing parts (e.g oil/air filters/spark-plugs.brake-pads) are much higher compared to other same range models. Guess it attributes from the high JPY currency exchange rates in present times.

Cheers!

13th Jul 2009, 18:44

Hi there.

I just bought an '06 CVT Colt from my Dad, he drove it exclusively between the Gold Coast and Brisbane on the highway to work and back, and regularly got 5.6L/100km economy. So he covered about 450km a week, almost totally highway km. If you have a fair proportion of city (stop/start) driving you'll miss out on that economy.

24th Feb 2010, 03:35

Hi, you guys are very very lucky, I get approx 7~8L/100km with my Colt plus in city driving and mainly with the air con on...? Is it because I have the turbo Ralliart version???

2006 Mitsubishi Colt Cabriolet 1.5

Summary:

Value for money; Stylish and cute with the roof down

Faults:

Passenger side window is not closing/opening properly. To be fair though, I have not taken the car in as yet for its first service, and have not notified the dealer or manufacturer of the problem as yet.

General Comments:

Fantastic value for money for a "second" vehicle - as these are a 2006 model and sold at a heavily discounted price.

It is unfortunately a bit skittish on rough roads when the hardtop roof is open (which takes only 22 seconds to open or close), but as a summer runabout car it is fun to drive, and people are curious as to the manufacturer as it is styled by Pininfarina and is quite stylish.

Being a 1.5, it isn't very quick (isn't exactly slow either), but is very fuel efficient.

I look forward to putting more kilometers on the clock, and keeping readers of this site updated on how the car and I age together.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2008

5th Apr 2008, 06:43

I have now done 2000 kilometres and still enjoy the car.

The rattles have been rectified at the first service.

I have not been able to drive the car as much as I would like, but am making the most of the sunny weather as winter is on its way.

Have been on the freeways a few times around Sydney and have been happy with the engines zippiness.