1994 Nissan Cefiro Excimo 2 litre V6

Summary:

Great bargain from Nissan

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong with the car; it's a superb handling car, very smooth motor, and great road holding.

General Comments:

I bought the car for $1700.00 NZ; an absolute bargain with all the bells and whistles working.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2008

9th Oct 2010, 04:50

Just an add on from my last review. 2 and a half years later, still got the car, and it is still going strong. It's up to 304,500 kms now.

11th Feb 2013, 18:22

Very nice review of the car, as I am a student needing a family car. Buying one that is at 154,000kms for $2000 in NZ. Manual transmission and tidy. I thought that was a good deal. Keen on keeping this car.

2nd Jul 2013, 19:28

Just a quick comment. RIP my Nissan Cefiro after my son took the car for a drive. He drove it into a fence, completely wrecked the car; it's a writeoff. Luckily he survived, but he won't when I catch him.

1995 Nissan Cefiro Eximo 2.0 V6

Summary:

Nissan's best kept secret

Faults:

Nothing. Will need some new front tyres soon.

General Comments:

Smooth, quiet, comfortable, spacious, economical, nice handling. It may seem a bit underpowered with a 2 litre engine in a body normally supplied with a 3 litre, but if you are happy to rev it up, it will still move along quite happily.

The engine is a real gem. It may be spinning at 3000 rpm/100 kmh, but you can't actually hear it at that speed, not even the exhaust. And despite working hard, it still returned approx 34 mpg (8.5 l/100km) on a recent trip. Very impressive.

It's a shame the 2 litre and manual transmission was never sold new here.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2007

1995 Nissan Cefiro 25Excimo 2.6 V6

Summary:

Big, reliable and cheap to run!

Faults:

The rear shocks have been in a bad way since about 120000 - I'll get round to it one day (maybe)

Paint starting to fade - probably my fault for leaving it outside.

General Comments:

Amazing!! The first time I drove one of these, I was amazed at the performance for a car of this size.

I've had this car for over 2 years now and it handles the steepest hills with ease.

I'm usually quite heavy footed, but I still get 650 - 750 km out of a tank of gas (I usually only get about 64L in)

It used to hold the road like loctite around corners, but since the rear shocks died, it has a bit of float there which is probably a good thing as it controls my speed a bit.

Actually, one little complaint: the front seats are not very laterally supportive. Quite evident when cornering. Worse for passengers as they don't have a steering wheel to hold on to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2006

1988 Nissan Cefiro SE-T 2.0 DOHC EFI turbo 6 cylinder

Summary:

Sideways action! when pushed hard will stop spinning whees at almost 200 km/h in 5 gear

Faults:

Trans failed after 3 month due to abuse, now fitted with 5 Sp manual trans and multi plate clutch, engine ran big end bearing also due to abuse and poor servicing in japan before my ownership, electrics and other drive line all in good working order before "race spec".

General Comments:

Now a drift/road car, stripped interior, rebuilt motor, highly modified 2l engine (500hp), fuel system, engine management and body, custom made 18' wheels, coil over suspension, in all over $40,000 nz$ invested.

Future improvements include fitment of a twin turbocharged 4.5l Nissan V8 and 2 way locking diff.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st October, 2005

1994 Nissan Cefiro 2.5 S Touring 2.5 V6

Summary:

A stunning, well performing car

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with it at all.

General Comments:

Unfortunate that this model was never released in manual as it would be an ideal do-up car.

This car is very stable on the road and handles brilliantly.

Room to spin a cat and powerful engine which is good for towing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2003

5th Mar 2004, 02:42

Hi there, it is actually possible to get this model in manual, although extremely hard to find. Also, you could do a manual conversion for around NZD$2000. Good luck.

1989 Nissan Cefiro CA31 2.0 DOCH turbo

Summary:

Wolf in sheep's clothing

Faults:

Air conditioning doesn't work.

Power steering fluid hose sprung a leak.

General Comments:

This car is very quick.

I use it for drifting as it has no trouble spinning up the rear wheels.

Very rare factory 5 speed turbo.

Skylines and Silvia's share some of the same parts.

Very practical car, the cabin is roomy and the boot is huge.

Even though it has done over 250,000kms it still runs sweet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2003

14th Sep 2004, 04:16

The A31 Nissan Cefiro happens to be a rear wheel drive vehicle. Not unless you were driving yours backwards all this time.

18th Dec 2004, 21:45

That's correct - The Nissan Cefiro is most definitely a rear wheel drive car which is obvious when the car has many links to drifting.

20th Mar 2005, 08:06

People like to drifting the car using the fr wheels, i. e a31cefiro,silvia...

23rd Nov 2011, 23:54

Hi, I own a 1993 Cefiro A31, SE 4, which is a factory Attesa 4 wheel drive, same system as the R32 GTR, GTS4. These Cefiro's are fairly rare.

1994 Nissan Cefiro 25 Eximo G 2.5 Litre V6

Summary:

I will certainly buy another Nissan

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong so far, apart from the rear shocks needing replacement at 95,000km. (NZ$260)

General Comments:

The car is powerful, smooth, and quiet.

The suspension is a little too firm, but it handles well.

Fuel consumption is about 10 litres/100km. Less on a long trip, a bit more in town. Certainly a lot cheaper on fuel than a Honda Legend I once owned.

This car is comfortable to ride in, with 6 speaker stereo, climate air, plenty of room even in the back seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2003