2007 Nissan Wingroad STL 1.8

Summary:

A little gem of a car

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This car is underrated hugely. It is great on gas, has plenty of power for what it's designed for, and is very reliable, although I admit 35000 km is not a lot.

But really I'm writing this to say how versatile the car is with its seats, and comfortable also. Very well built like other reviews say, and I find it handles well enough, although the wheel spin in the wet takes a little getting used to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2014

2008 Nissan Wingroad ST-L 1.8 litre petrol

Summary:

Best wagon out there in this price range and size

Faults:

Nothing to date. A very well built, solid car.

General Comments:

Got it new as a company vehicle, and has been used as a rep car going across the countryside. From new in 6 years, it has clocked close to 250k and I still love it.

- It has enough power to keep up with NZ roads.

- The handling is not the best, but it's good enough for a wagon. I think the Corolla did better.

- Very fuel efficient. I did get about 18 km/litre a few times on long trips.

- Cool features are offered as standard for a wagon. Proximity sensor and keyless start.

- Very roomy inside and lots of storage.

- The seating position is probably why I love this vehicle so much. The seats are high and you have a full view with nearly no blind spots.

- Reliability has been no different from my Corolla. Nothing went wrong. Changing tyres, servicing, brake pads, and coolant is not considered as being faulty. Part of maintenance really.

Overall I'm very happy, and will buy another in a heartbeat and would highly recommend it. The CVT is one of the best robust systems around as well. Unlike Hondas.

I highly recommend this vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2014

2007 Nissan Wingroad 1500 RX Aero 1.5 petrol

Summary:

Good looking, reliable and versatile

Faults:

No problems.

General Comments:

This is a good run around car.

It is spacious for a "small" car. Rear split seats fold down flat, which can be easily done by way of handy levers located right at the rear hatch door; fits 3 sets of golf clubs plus luggage easily for weekend trips away.

We have found it to be reliable and easily powerful enough with the 1500cc engine for driving in NZ at the speed limits. I actually think it handles fine; we replaced the wheels with 15 inch alloys and some good all round tires when we purchased it.

Finish inside and out is good, it's an easy car to drive, easy to see out of all the windows

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2014

2008 Nissan Wingroad ST-L 1.8 petrol CVT

Summary:

Watching paint dry would be an action movie compared to this car

General Comments:

Good stuff:

Very spacious inside considering the external dimensions.

Very versatile interior, lots of storage compartments, movable back bench, good space below seats.

Good driving position, easy to see out the back.

The NZ ST-L model had a good level of features for this type of wagon (keyless entry and start, good air con).

Bad stuff:

Boring, this car is a workhorse, people will chuckle if you admit to buying one.

Handling, my child's push pedal trike handles corners and acceleration better. Not sure what Nissan did here, but this car has serious problems with wheel spin from a standing start (and not in a good - yeah, I have so much V8 power, look at me kind of way) particularly in the wet. Also it does not like corners.

I found the seats quite average and uncomfortable.

Anyone considering this car should make sure to take it for a test drive in the wet and compare it to other vehicles in this category (Toyota Corolla Wagon).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd February, 2013

30th Jan 2014, 02:59

Funny, I was looking to try and find why my Wingroad has the worst traction in the wet of any car I have ever owned (and I have owned a lot of rubbish old cars). It's nice to read that I can actually blame the tool.

20th Jul 2014, 23:06

This is very biased review. We own a fleet of Corolla wagons and Nissan Wingroads. Wingroads are much better and nicer cars compared to boring, basic Corollas. They have a great seating position and hardly any blind spots. Very smooth and extremely efficient on fuel. Also in power it keeps up very well with NZ hilly roads compared to an auto 1.8L NZ new Corolla.

You may have picked a bad sample or have driven V8 that you keep comparing it with. We have about 8 people working here, and we all thought the Wingroad is much more of a car than any other of that series.

24th Jul 2014, 02:44

Agree totally with the comments on wet road traction and steering - if I lend the car to anyone, I now warn them about the terrifying understeer if cornering in the wet, as people have brought it back white-faced and speechless. And this is with brand new tyres. Plus it is a bit unusual to look at.

But in all other respects - excellent efficiency & reliability, adequate comfort for the price & size, cost to maintain - it's as good as the Toyotas I've owned, but as a 4 year old secondhand car cost quite a bit less to buy than a comparable Toyota with similar mileage. The Wingroad includes great features such as rear seats that are adjustable forwards/backwards with independently adjustable back tilt, and good boot space. My first Nissan, and I'll definitely look at another one after this.

11th Aug 2014, 11:29

I own a 2009 Wingroad 15M Authentic. You need to be mature to own this vehicle. It's not a sports model. It's designed for carrying goods. I'm not interested in speed or trying to impress anyone. Which suits me just fine.