2004 Peugeot 307 Reviews from Australia and New Zealand

2004 Peugeot 307 HDI Touring 2.0 turbo diesel

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired1500 kilometres
Most recent distance146000 kilometres
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Good car, but has serious electrical/fuel injection problems

Faults:

At 146000km engine burst into flames. Did so much damage that the car has been written off.

General Comments:

Up until the above catastrophic event, the car was fine.

Was economical and easy to drive. Wasn't the quickest off the mark, but at highway speeds it had more than enough to overtake with ease.

Liked the styling and room inside the cabin.

Handled well, and always felt safe no matter what the driving conditions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st April, 2009

2004 Peugeot 307 XSE 2.0 petrol

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired280 kilometres
Most recent distance1100 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

A very tight little car with top notch features and good value for money

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car, it has been perfect so far.

General Comments:

This car is the best I've ever driven. It handles better than our Astra and that's saying something because the Astra is really good.

It's performance is as good as any other 2 litre car.

It feels like a much bigger engine than it really is.

Comfort in XSE model is top notch, seats are the most comfortable ever!!!

The car car is very tight and feels solid at high speed, but nimble and agile at lower speed. Tranny is sweet and smooth.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2005

22nd Jun 2006, 04:11

My 307 XSE is now four years old. Way out in the country the ride jiggly, which just so not French. On smooth roads the handling brilliant. Needs more lumbar support in the front seats. Generally I love this car. In Australia these cars are considered high class, so I enjoy that. This car has been extremely reliable, economical, the only problem is indicator switch that goes on from right turn to left by auto. Just love the auto lights and wipers. I have driven with ease great distances in Australia in this car and I can say it the easiest car I have ever done these trips on. This a car I feel very happy to not only drive, but own.

30th Jul 2006, 00:33

I am considering the T6 XSE, but have read negative reviews re earlier models -- tightness of rear door handles, engine stopped, poor agent response to complaints. Do you have any advise at point of sale?

2004 Peugeot 307 XSE 2.0 petrol

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance35000 kilometres

Summary:

Buy one if you have a crush on the sales man because you will always be returning to the dealership!

Faults:

CD Stacker replaced twice in 11 months. First time in second week of owning car.

Front drivers seat base puckered - replaced.

Continual unresolved 'thudding' in front wheel base on slowing (not braking).

Continual intermittent and unresolved issues with windows randomly going up/down when car is being locked/running/unattended/attended - computer system replaced as a result.

Factory sunroof rattles over 80kph.

Factory sunroof intermittently won't close or closes to a unselected position.

Windscreen wipers shudder and, at one stage, broke and scratched windscreen.

Latest is my disk brakes have 'warped' at 35,000kms. The car is 11 months old and has only done 35,000kms..

Various other issues with climate control and rear windscreen wiper not functioning after computer was replaced due to lack of re-programming.

General Comments:

Looks great, is really comfortable and drives well when it isn't in the shop!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th December, 2004

18th Jun 2005, 16:48

Had my 307 XSE auto 2 litre for 10 months now, and 28000km. It's a country car, so most travelling is on highways. Not one problem has appeared, the car has been to the dealer 3 times for servicing and is performing very well, Average fuel is around 7litres / 100 km, The auto transmission is a bit jerky on downchanges in the city, but that's a typical French auto. Otherwise a brilliant car.

2004 Peugeot 307 Touring 2.0

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance16000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Forester

Summary:

A good car with some serious flaws and dealer and mnufacturer support

Faults:

A nice car, but with some serious faults.

Rear window spontaneously smashed twice. No reasonable explanation provided by dealer. Dealer suggested we should not drive with windows down!No contact from Peugeot Australia whatsoever. No recall on this serious problem.

Brakes warped at 10000klms, re-machined by dealer. No heavy or fast driving.

Indicator stalk faulty - replaced by dealer.

Minor starting problems.

General interior poorly fitted out.

General Comments:

A nice car in terms of appearance, but with some serious faults.

Nice spacious interior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th October, 2004

10th Jan 2005, 01:43

I also own a 307 Touring and have found the dealer to be totally unaware of any issues relating to the cars they sell.

I have had 3 Coms2000 units fitted (the indicator unit) and seem to have one that works now.

The stereo unit likewise has been replaced three times due to a laser tracking issue, and each time a new rattle has been introduced to the car.

The gear box has been a major concern since the car was delivered. I have had the change quality improved by getting a specialist to change the oil to a different blend, allowing the gears to change in cold conditions, but as yet Peugeot has not seen fit to return my repeated requests for someone to contact me on this issue.

The dealer also burned the paint pre-delivery when buffing the car. Their solution was to offer me the polish to remove the marks myself. Unfortunately the bonnet is still covered in lines from their incompetence.

On a brighter note, the car is very economical, we average 5.7 lts/100km. You wouldn't know it was a diesel engine as its power both off the line and on the open road is brilliant.

The seats are fantastic both front and rear with head restraints for 5 occupants, 6 airbags, pre-tensioners on the seat belts. Add brilliant handling and superb brakes and you have the lot. I do a lot of k's every year and enjoy every drive, apart from the gear changes.

R Matthews.

29th Dec 2005, 03:31

Exploding Rear Window.

I have a 2003 Peugeot 307 HDi 90 Estate and also have had the experience of a spontaneously exploding rear window. Fortunately, my two dogs were not in the back of the car at the time.

The over-correction of the indicator stalk mechanism is also a common problem (according to the dealer) and I have had to have mine replaced. I have a feeling that it is starting to do it again so this may need to be replaced again.

Robert Philips.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 4 reviews