1984 Peugeot 505 STi 2.2 petrol

Summary:

Overall, a pleasant and memorable car

Faults:

Rust spot in rear turret.

Aircon compressor needed replacing.

General Comments:

Lovely car. Slightly spoilt by booming resonance at the legal limit 100kph-110kph.

Bodywork seems made of pewter - picks up lots of small ripples and dents - much more than any other car I've owned.

The car was assembled by Jaguar-Rover Australia.

Original Michelin TRX tyres became unobtainable or too expensive, so reverted to normal Michelins on station wagon rims. Some loss of ultimate handling, but more comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2010

1985 Peugeot 505 STi 1.9

Summary:

New pugs should be like the masterpiece 505!!!

Faults:

New exhaust system at 260,000.

A/C is always very weak.

Couldn't get the Michelin TRXs any more. Had them changed for steels (Loved the TRXs, very sad to leave them stored in the garage).

General Comments:

Magnificent car... superb handling, well balanced car, not the fastest, but the most reliable car you can buy. Very well built... honest!!!

The auto gearbox revs a bit high above 115km an hour... very strong engine on the plus side.

Extremely low maintenance car if you've got a good pug specialist... a bit hard to find one in Brisbane Australia. But I did find Robert, thanks mate.

I will not hesitate to get another 505 (specially in white). Very decent on fuel as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd December, 2007

16th Dec 2007, 08:17

You should try the 2.5 gtdt turbo diesel. Believe me they are the very best regarding high speed low revs.

27th Dec 2007, 10:17

I will love a Turbo diesel 505...very hard to get though...

1986 Peugeot 505 SR Family Wagon 2.0 petrol

Summary:

Great family car, although not completely reliable

Faults:

Exhaust replaced.

Starter motor replaced twice.

Passenger-side power window motor replaced.

Power steering worked on.

Water pump replaced.

Few other minor repairs.

Car sometimes stalls after heavy braking.

Doesn't like to start when facing up-hill.

General Comments:

After 6 years of owning this car I would have to say it is a great family car.

It isn't the most reliable thing.

Performs alright for a big car, handles well (power steering is a big help)

Seats are comfortable for long trips.

Luggage space is adequate.

We have 6 people in the family, the 8 seats are great if we need a couple of extra places.

Uses a fair bit of fuel.

Overall we are fairly happy with the 505

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st July, 2006

7th Feb 2007, 20:56

Just adding to my review... The car is a very comfortable tourer, we have taken long trips without any major dramas. I am now learning to drive in this car, and it is not my favourite thing to drive, but it handles nicely and the front seats are divine!

9th Oct 2009, 08:57

Adding again...

We sold the car just a couple of months ago (odometer at about 160,000 although this is not accurate at all), replaced with a VX Commodore wagon.

The 505 will be missed, looking back on 9 years of family motoring it was a good, solid unit. Once we fixed a couple of the issues (like the stalling) it ran well and served us well right up to the day we sold it. I heard from the dealer it's now up in the country with a guy on a farm.

1988 Peugeot 505 GR 2.0 carburetor

Summary:

An underestimated gem

Faults:

Internally adjustable door mirrors becoming difficult to adjust.

I believe in preventative maintenance and as such I have had no other problems, even if I have spent a lot on running it comparative to the cars value.

General Comments:

This is a surprisingly good car to drive and handles very well especially in the dry, and is comfortable with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2004

1988 Peugeot 505 GR 2.0 petrol

Summary:

A person, a friend, not just a machine

Faults:

Little rust around the sunroof, cost $220 NZ to fix.

Alternator failed after I connected battery wrong way round.

Sunroof motor got disconnected somehow, so sunroof is not working.

General Comments:

This car made me love Peugeot 505's, me and my partner love this car like a person, a friend, not just a machine.

Suspension is extremely soft, and the seats are the most comfortable seats I ever experienced. It feels like you are riding in a big soft sofa.

The engine is not destructible, no special care is needed at all. That's why Peugeot 505 is the most popular car in Africa!

My partner bought snowy (name of the car) for $1400 NZ, very cheap indeed. And you can find a 505 in reasonably condition for very cheap price. In New Zealand at least.

I admit it is relatively hard to find a good Peugeot specialist, but 505's structure is really simple, most people can fix most problems with a workshop manual, which is not hard to get hold of.

When snowy dies, I will still keep it in my backyard and buy another Peugeot 505!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th June, 2003

6th Jun 2004, 04:58

I agree, my mum owned a GR family model until last October when someone decided to drive directly into the side and ruining the structure. Perfect for taking all of us kids out, I also agree with the part about the Peugeot being a friend not just a car!

13th May 2006, 04:26

Adios to all nice pug drivers, I just stopped to fill up diesel and met a lady getting petrol for her similar light blue 505,its such a lovely feeling when afficionados meet, we agreed that these cars are just like good friends, every trip is looked forward to be it to the shops or interstate.

The greatest seats ever, neat handling, fine brakes & lovely style. They are well loved here in Australia, the Peugeot club keeps the spirit alive with great events& drives. Viva La France!

10th Jun 2006, 11:58

I bought my 505 GR 20 years ago. I agree with all of you that it is not just a car, but it is my closest friend. It is very reliable. The more it gets old the more I love it. Its beauty never fade away. It should be good if I feel like this to my wife.