1985 Toyota Landcruiser Reviews from Australia and New Zealand

1985 Toyota Landcruiser FJ60 Station Wagon petrol/gas

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission petrol/gas Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired330000 kilometres
Most recent distance500000 kilometres
Previous carLand Rover Range Rover

Summary:

Trustworthy and strong

Faults:

Transmission seal replaced.

Driver's seat worn and has lost support.

Power steering seal replaced.

Starter motor replaced.

Alternator replaced.

General Comments:

Slow, but just keeps going. Will have to stop one day

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 2013

1985 Toyota Landcruiser HJ60 2H

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2H Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired350000 kilometres
Most recent distance354000 kilometres
Previous carFord Corsair

Summary:

It's like a tortoise: slow but long lasting

Faults:

Required a new radiator.

Had a bunch of electrical problems.

Several oil leaks, sump, transfer, transmission, rear diff.

Couple of tiny rust spots.

General Comments:

Great car. Most of the above are due to age and wear and tear.

The only problems innate in its design are the rust and the oil leak between the transmission and transfer. These are common 60 series problems.

But none of them prevent it from driving. It just keeps on going. It's a slow engine, and comparatively weak, but it only adds to its durability and reliability.

I think it looks great and has real character, and can do anything. Pull things, daily ride, off road.

I think if you take good care of it, change the oil every 5000 kms and keep the rust at bay, it'll go on forever.

It's like a tortoise: slow but long lasting.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2009

1985 Toyota Landcruiser Bundera LX RJ70 2.4 petrol

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired325000 kilometres
Most recent distance328000 kilometres

Summary:

Average

Faults:

*Drivers side window regulator doesn't work

*Drivers side door isn't alligned properly

*Spotlights don't work

*For some stupid reason half the wires for the stereo have been cut off

*Centre muffler has a giant hole in it

*Screw in the front left tire

*Right rear shock is broken.

General Comments:

Apart from the problems the car itself is alright. Very hot on hot days as it has no air con. Offroad its not soo bad, goes well in the mud. Acceleration is a bit crap and it struggles to get up semi steep hills in 2WD.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2005

1985 Toyota Landcruiser HJ-60 G Pack 2H diesel

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2H diesel Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired240000 kilometres
Most recent distance265000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Landcruiser

Summary:

It's diesel, it's tough, it's a Landcruiser

Faults:

After I rolled my old FJ-40, I found this HJ-60 for $8,500. However, the previous owner neglected to change the oil, so I'm now faced with a $5000 for a new motor and $2500 for a change over transmission. Still, not the cars fault.

Glow plugs went one day, put new belts on, and radiator hoses all round. I put an oil cleaner though it which was a mistake - front case, and rear main seals are now leaking!!

General Comments:

I'm biased. I reckon that the 2H diesel is the ducks guts of reliability. Sure, my one is dead, but I've heard stories from the Land Cruiser Club that are amazing. With a reputaion based on 25 years of development, the 60 series was always going to be tough.

I used to be a mechanic by trade, and having looked under different types of 4x4's, the sixty is still the toughest out there. With large diffs, basic springs and a motor that weighs 330Kg, it's tough!!!

However, it is sluggish on the highway, but ticks over at 2200 revs at 100Km. The ride was improved with a suspension upgrade, and the few times I've managed to get off road I was impressed. When the highway ends and low range is engaged, it eats petrols alive. No need to thrash it up hill, as it will walk up at about 1800 revs. That compared to a Hilux at nearly 5000!!

The cabin is basic, and in 1980's brown. No electrics here!! Power steering is standard, and I've even got aircon!!

It's really a 40 series frame with a plush body and an old pushrod motor, but it's tough... really tough. It was built to be used and abused - just ask the mining companies.

So overall it's "BUILT TOYOTA DIESEL TOUGH!!"

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th May, 2003

28th Oct 2005, 02:25

I have a bj60 3b diesel which I have been running for 4 months in Canada without 2 main leaf springs, a 10% starter, no alternator, a buggered water pump, a buggered clutch (really buggered!!!) I have to glow plug this baby 4 times in minus 10 C and I would n't have it any other way!!!All I can say is it is too bad they can n't build a truck this way still.

1985 Toyota Landcruiser FJ70 4 litre petrol

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4 litre petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 kilometres
Most recent distance146000 kilometres
Previous carLand Rover 88

Summary:

A rugged no-nonsense 4WD!

Faults:

Water pump replaced shortly before I bought vehicle.

Exhaust due for replacement now.

General Comments:

Great vehicle in my opinion!

Had my truck for two and a half years now.

Excellent solid vehicle, closer to a truck than a car.

My wife does not really appreciate the comfort & noise levels of the vehicle on long runs….but what can I say, I love driving it!!

As a standard off the shelf vehicle, they are hard to beat, excellent off road & if still running standard, or close to standard, wheels and tyre size, then a good all-round vehicle for the road too.

Excellent for getting away from it and camping etc.

Simple to work on & maintain yourself to keep costs down. Also nice to know what’s going on under the bonnet!

Running costs, especially petrol costs, is fairly high, but if you are looking for a smooth, quiet, comfortable, cheap running vehicle, I suggest you buy something bland like a Toyota Corolla!!

If you want an adventure everyday, get a LandCruiser!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2002

9th May 2006, 16:07

I've got one for 4 years, great truck.

23rd Mar 2011, 12:09

I have FJ70 for 3 years now. Great truck.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 5 reviews