2006 Skoda Octavia Elegance 1.9 TDI-PD

Summary:

Perfect car!

Faults:

So far (knock on wood) nothing has happened to the car, except some body painting caused from a minor car crash. The only expenses I've made so far are for oil and filters and diesel. Recently I've noticed some some problems while shifting from 1'st to 2'nd gear, but I guess it's because of the too short first gear.

General Comments:

The car is more than perfect having in mind the money I paid.

Since my model is equipped with additional extras like parktronic, maxi-dot display, tempomat (a.k.a. cruise control) I can say that the car is very comfortable.

The seats were the main reason I liked the car, because they have lumber-support which makes them suitable for long trips.

The 1.9 TDI-PD with 105 hp is more than enough for the car, and enables it to accelerate fast enough for a family sedan (if you search for racing performance you should consider buying the RS version with 200 hp).

The average fuel spending is 4.9L-6.1L/100 km. out of town depending on the average speed (with 130 km/h you will spend ~5.6L/100 km). In town spending is different depending on how much you press the pedal (between 6.5l - 8.9L/100 km.).

The quality of the interior is influenced by the mother-company Volkswagen. You can find many similarities especially in the gadgets (climatronic controls, audio display, maxi-dot display etc.)

The car is easily handled, and yet I can't say that it's like on rails.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2007

20th Aug 2007, 18:31

2003 Octavia is a complete different car. In my opinion it has nothing to do with the new one.

26th Oct 2007, 02:02

At last! Skoda are back in Australia! A large range of Skoda Octavias was launched at the recent Sydney Motor Show. Dealers have been selected Australia-wide. The most impressive model is the Octavia Elegance. A truly elegant and up-market offering. In terms of finish and appointments, I would rate the car on a par with Audi, B.M.W., and the top of the line V.W. Some may say that it`s simply a re-badged V.W. - but remember, the new Skoda is built and assembled in the Czech republic. They`ve come a long way - thanks to V.W.`s input. And the price for the top of the line Elegance? Mid $30k`s! A lot of quality car for the money! I owned a number of Skodas of `60`s & `70`s vintage many years ago. They were cheap and basic - but they were great cars and never failed me. These new Skodas have elevated the marque to new heights. I am just so impressed!

8th Sep 2009, 15:30

That noise when shifting from 1st to 2nd gear is a common problem. We have 2 same models in our company and both have the same problem. On mine it started around 60000km and on other one at 80000km. This is a known fault, so if you still have a guarantee, repair it. Otherwise the best car I ever had!

2006 Skoda Octavia 4x4 1.9 TDI-PD

Summary:

A perfect buy in terms of value for money

Faults:

The car still new, so nothing major to report so far, except for a small leakage through the driver's door isolation during a recent heavy rain.

Alarm too sensitive (my neighbors got mad), but this is no fault of the manufacturer, as alarm was installed by a third party provider. Got it regulated for 10 minutes under warranty.

General Comments:

Very stable and exceptional handling.

1st gear is a bit short, which affects 0-100 acceleration.

Huge boot.

No squeaks, very well assembled.

Relatively high consumption (average 7.1 for last 100 km with air conditioner constantly on). Hope this will improve, but do not expect too much because of the 4x4.

Will update the review regularly when I have more to report.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2006

30th Aug 2006, 12:05

Poor consumption??? 7.1 is poor?? what do you expect from family 4x4? it will improve after 10 000km, but some people just can't be satisfied...

4th Sep 2006, 05:54

I am the author of the review. In my review I said consumption is relatively high, compared to non-4x4 models. As long 4x4 drive is not permanent, I suppose the higher consumption is mainly due to the car being heavier. Of course, 7.1 is fully acceptable.

BTW, the car is 5,600 km now, and I have no problems to report :)

1st Oct 2007, 01:55

I am the author of the review again. One year after my last update - still nothing wrong with the car, and it has reached almost 30,000 km now. The only problem I had during this year was a burnt bulb. Yesterday I traveled from Bourgas to Sofia (c. 400 km, half of it highway), and the consumption was 6.2 l per 100 km. Of course, I was very cautious with my right foot, average speed was 88 kph.