2006 Skoda Octavia Reviews - Page 5 of 5

2006 Skoda Octavia Elegance 2.0 TDI PD from UK and Ireland

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 TDI PD Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance1500 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Build quality could be better

Faults:

Faulty brake light switch flattened the battery twice before the fault was found and corrected.

Door seals caused squeaking and rasping noises. First fix was to lubricate seals with silicon spray, this only worked for 3 weeks then the noises returned. Seals now replaced.

Engine hesitation at low revs, 1,400 to 2,000 when the engine is not under load. Still awaiting the induction part which is supposed to fix the fault.

General Comments:

This car is now 2.5 months old and has been in the garage more times than my Civic in the 7 years I owned it.

The car is generally good. Ride and comfort were the reason I bought the car - having test-drove a total of 7 comparable cars, this one stood out. Also good value for money as the standard spec is very good.

Engine is rather noisy from the outside, but OK inside.

The DSG gearbox is a perfect compromise offering quick and undetectable changes in Auto mode, but offering a Sport Mode and Manual/Tiptronic changes when you want to exploit the power of the engine. The only downside is the inability to build the revs for a fast getaway or to pull into moving traffic.

The speedo and trip computer are rather optimistic. 70 mph on SatNav reads as 75 on the speedo, and the trip mpg tells me 45mpg whilst Fill to Fill shows only 37mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th September, 2006

14th Sep 2006, 06:25

You mention Sat Nav within your report. Do you have the factory Sat Nav or is it an aftermarket one?

29th Sep 2006, 08:37

I have recently bought a 2000 Octavia 1.9TDI SLX with 98000 miles on the clock. The car is almost perfect which shows it can stand a bit of wear and tear. It is extremely economical, comfortable and easy to drive (except for poor leg-room in the back - a well known minus of this marque.) And the badge? Well all I can say is that I remember Jeremy Clarkson driving the first one he came across; "I just can't believe I'm driving a Skoda!" (repeat many times!). I was well aware of the quality of the Octavia before I bought this one. There are hundreds of them around. And as for the sneers/jibes/jokes etc., well I'm no motoring snob, but I thought Lada had captured that particular market.

2006 Skoda Octavia 4x4 1.9 TDI-PD from Bulgaria

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.9 TDI-PD Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired30 kilometres
Most recent distance1400 kilometres
Previous carOpel Corsa

Summary:

A perfect buy in terms of value for money

Faults:

The car still new, so nothing major to report so far, except for a small leakage through the driver's door isolation during a recent heavy rain.

Alarm too sensitive (my neighbors got mad), but this is no fault of the manufacturer, as alarm was installed by a third party provider. Got it regulated for 10 minutes under warranty.

General Comments:

Very stable and exceptional handling.

1st gear is a bit short, which affects 0-100 acceleration.

Huge boot.

No squeaks, very well assembled.

Relatively high consumption (average 7.1 for last 100 km with air conditioner constantly on). Hope this will improve, but do not expect too much because of the 4x4.

Will update the review regularly when I have more to report.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2006

30th Aug 2006, 12:05

Poor consumption??? 7.1 is poor?? what do you expect from family 4x4? it will improve after 10 000km, but some people just can't be satisfied...

4th Sep 2006, 05:54

I am the author of the review. In my review I said consumption is relatively high, compared to non-4x4 models. As long 4x4 drive is not permanent, I suppose the higher consumption is mainly due to the car being heavier. Of course, 7.1 is fully acceptable.

BTW, the car is 5,600 km now, and I have no problems to report :)

1st Oct 2007, 01:55

I am the author of the review again. One year after my last update - still nothing wrong with the car, and it has reached almost 30,000 km now. The only problem I had during this year was a burnt bulb. Yesterday I traveled from Bourgas to Sofia (c. 400 km, half of it highway), and the consumption was 6.2 l per 100 km. Of course, I was very cautious with my right foot, average speed was 88 kph.

2006 Skoda Octavia 2 Elegance Estate 1.9 TDi from UK and Ireland

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.9 TDi Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance1600 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

Far better than the Mondeo or Vectra

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

A very economical and efficient method of transport.

The 1.9 diesel engine won't set the world on fire, but it pulls well and is a good cold starter.

Absolutely cavernous boot capable of taking a full 88 note piano lengthways.

Comfortable cabin with good quality seats and fittings.

Heating and ventilation system is very efficient.

Very sure-footed on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2006

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 13 reviews