1992 Mercedes-Benz W124 300 3.0 diesel

Summary:

Keeps on running!

General Comments:

This car was made for the "autobahn", it's a cruiser not a sportscar, and it was made to last!

Check out the mileage on this car! Just bought it yesterday, just want to tell you how incredible many kilometers this car has travel and to confirm the high quality of this car...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2010

1990 Mercedes-Benz W124 300 CE 3.0 Litre 12 Valves

Summary:

Das Auto!!!

Faults:

1 rod in the steering left side needed adjustment.

Wheels needed balancing.

A little jerky when shifting gears during high revs.

Rev counter out of service.

All faults existed when bought.

General Comments:

Is it possible to have a genuine German Panzer, that drives like a sports car?

Sounds impossible, but is nevertheless true. A few bubbling spots in the paintwork, but nothing critical whatsoever. Rest of the paintwork is impeccable.

Tried out another 300 CE 24 Valve, but decided that the 12 valve would do, and saved 50 percent on the purchase that way.

Handles better than the XJ6 Series 2 I had 20 years ago. Is faster than the Galant GTI I previously owned, even when being 300 kilos heavier.

Ever since I saw the 280 Coupe from the mid seventies, I have admired such lines in a car (why I bought XJ6 XK 38 instead of XK 40).

I almost got these lines in this car without the to heavy body like the S Class has got.

Airbag... got it... original onboard computer... got it, even though it's a bit slow being from 1990.

This car will be serviced and maintained, and will probably be in my possession until the GP denies the renewal of my license in 30 years from now.

Why did I not discover these cars before. Also had Ford Capri 2,3 GT and a lot of other stuff... nothing compares to "Big Beautiful Bertha", which I chose to call the Merc.

I hope some of the engineers designing her reads this... they most certainly deserves to know what a fantastic car this is even after 19 years... MB forever!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 2009

1991 Mercedes-Benz W124 D 3.0 liters, 6 cylinder. diesel

Summary:

Everybody should have a Benz!

Faults:

Hydraulic rear-suspension broke at 345000 km (approx. €675, $862)

Windscreen wiper-engine broke at 355000 km (approx. €67, $86)

Windscreen fluids-pump broke at 370000 km (approx. €19, $25)

General Comments:

This car is one of THE finest Mercedes-Benz have ever created. The W/124. It just keeps on going! You could go from Northern Norway to Southern Italy right through the Alps without ever stopping for anything else, but fuel. And you would not stop that often as it makes approx. 12 km/litres (30 US mpg) on the freeway, and as high as 16 km/litres (40 US mpg) on normal road. (Although if you push the pedal to the metal, it will only do 10 km/litres (25 US mpg). To fill her all up with 70 litres (18,5 gallons) of diesel will set you back measly 600 kroners (€80, $102).

It handles just like the design would say it handles. Big and soft, like a vault on wheels. This is car is no sports car! With a 3,0 litres diesel engine (113 hp) and 4-speed automatic transmission it accelerates from 0-100 (0-60) within 14,3 seconds. Fair, but not great. On the other hand, if you want to accelerate from 0-100 (0-60) within 5 seconds. do not buy a 3,0 litres diesel Benz with automatic transmission, you are not buying a sports car. You’re buying a cruiser. And that is what this car does to the maximum. Cruising through the city at 50 km/t (approx. 30 m/h) with the windows down on a sunny afternoon, just listening to that 6 cyl. engine work. UM! Does it get any better? Although cruising at 50km/t, is not the only thing this car is good at. Cruising at 80 km/t (50 m/h) or at 120 km/t (80 m/h) does not make the experience any lesser. The wheels and engine does not make much more noise from running 80-90km/t (50-55 m/h), than it does at 50 km/t (30 m/h). Fantastic!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2006

8th Feb 2008, 15:45

I agree I have a 1994 300e diesel also great car.

1986 Mercedes-Benz W124 200 D 2.0 diesel

Summary:

Very good and reliable

Faults:

The first time the car wouldn't start (because of a loose wire to the start engine). It has started without problems each time since.

I have changed all brakes and tires because of wear.

General Comments:

The 200 D is not a race car, but on longer rides it is very comfortable. Its ability to accelerate is OK if needed (with a lot of noise), but it feels better to drive it like a limousine.

My car got a new motor at around 500000 km, and this motor has run without problems.

The cabin is all brown, but is it in style.

The bodywork seems in good shape, maybe because it has been treated with anti-rust for the last 10 odd years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th September, 2004

13th Nov 2004, 11:10

Mercedes Benz W124 200D is the best car ever made by Mercedes.

28th Oct 2006, 19:09

I live in San Francisco California (my car is grey market, not for sale in the U.S.). I have an 86 200D 5 Speed. It is a great car until you reach a hill, and it's down shifting until you reach the top.

25th Feb 2013, 23:09

Could you share more details on the W124 200D? I am planning on getting one, but the low spec diesel with only 72 BHP worries me a bit.

I am no speed racer, but I don't want a sloth on the highways.

Your input will be highly appreciated.

Thanks, SRK