Kia Cerato Reviews from Egypt

2010 Kia Cerato SX 1.6

Model year2010
Year of manufacture2010
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance36000 kilometres
Previous carDaewoo Lanos

Summary:

Bargain for the money

Faults:

Front suspension is weak for the overall body, with adequate brakes.

General Comments:

The car is nice, and it handles good on the road.

The build quality has improved over the previous model by a lot. Lots of options; it has 17 inch rims, sun roof, Bluetooth and many other options. I would recommend getting one over the Hyundai Elantra.

Engine performance is quick for its capacity, and fuel consumption is average to 8.8l/100km.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th September, 2012

25th Jan 2013, 00:09

I have the same model, and I disagree with some of the marks. For example, the Cerato is much more comfortable than other cars. To be fair, give it 8.

Maybe you use it on rough roads, and to be honest, all roads in Egypt are rough. It is not the car's fault, it is our roads in Egypt.

6th Jun 2013, 10:36

Right, our roads are not for cars, they're for heavy trucks.

2006 Kia Cerato LX 1.6 M/T

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 M/T Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired35 kilometres
Most recent distance800 kilometres
Previous carFiat 127

Summary:

Very reliable car with a relatively cheap price

Faults:

Nothing so far...

General Comments:

First of all, I bought this car after a long search and comparison between several cars ranging in the same genre and the same price... Elantra, Optra, Sunny, Gen2, Nubira and finally I bought it coz although this Kia Cerato might not be the best car, it is the best value for a car, meaning it is the best looking car (you can compare it with the Octavia and Corolla) and its fuel consumption is very good coz it has lower horse power than most of them (105HP), which I find a very good option.

It might be poor looking from the inside, but I don't buy a car for its looks, and the performance and the stability on the road are great, and also the spare parts are relatively fair; the front light thing costs almost $90, so it is fair I think... anyways I really recommend this car for all the people whom are interested in the few cars I mentioned above.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th June, 2006

25th Nov 2006, 03:24

Yes... the KIA Cerato is a good option... but does it have it all???

Unfortunately, the cars resold in Egypt lack very important features- mainly related to the safety and control. The most important one from my prospective is the ABS and EBD. These features are also lacked in similar cars (Elantra, Optra,..).

Bottom line, if you're looking for a good-looking prestegic family car below the 100K L.E, Cerato is a good option. But if you have a higher budget, you should look for a car that has ABS, EBD,..

24th Nov 2007, 04:38

How can one claim a car reliable having driven less than 1000 km in it?

15th Mar 2009, 17:01

I have the KIA Cerato 2008...and it has 121 horse power not 105.

16th Mar 2009, 13:20

I indeed have a Chevrolet Optra, but wouldn't bother racing a KIA.

And I expect most other cars on your list wouldn't bother trying to race against your Kia Cerato.

26th Mar 2009, 18:42

I think KIA Cerato is the best car in its price comparing with all its rivals, but it is much wider on engine space, saloon and bag space.

Add for previous mentioned, its acceleration is very good and very stable on highways.

Also I've got a 2008 model, and the H.P. is 121.

2005 Kia Cerato LXi 1.6

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired200 kilometres
Most recent distance14000 kilometres
Previous carKia Pride

Summary:

Nice family car with a lot of potentials

Faults:

Nothing so far, just hearing some noise from the left side door like if there is something losing up inside.

General Comments:

Nice family car with a lot of potentials.

At first I was comparing the new Cerato with the Elantra, Optera & the proton Waja and I think I had made the right choice.

The car is great till now, very good looking exterior especially if it had sports rims 16” or even 17” :) )

In the interior, it’s very roomy with a nice quality finishing.

Performance is acceptable for such a heavy vehicle (1300 KG), stable & the DOHC 1.6 engine is powerful, it took me from 0-100 in 11 seconds which is good for an automatic transmission 1.6 car … also I still think that the Korean can get more than the 105 hours power from that engine, the Japanese manage to get up to 170 hp in the Honda civic!!

Finally I’ll recommend the kia Cerato especially for whoever wants to combine between the family & sporty car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2006

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 3 reviews