2006 Kia Cerato from Singapore

Summary:

A reliable car that I would like to keep

Faults:

So far everything is OK except the radiator had a crack on the plastic part of the housing - yes, the plastic part of the housing. Never ever noticed it, and needed a complete radiator replacement after 5 years.

Apart from that, everything is fine and it works like a horse, but probably I did not overload it too often. Here the life span is officially 10 years for cars, but I intend to keep it if it is still running OK by the end. Nowadays, it's hard to get a good manual gear workhorse here.

General Comments:

It's not a sparkling star, but a good workhorse - same comments from some of my friends.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th November, 2014

2010 Kia Cerato SX 1.6 from Egypt

Summary:

Bargain for the money

Faults:

Front suspension is weak for the overall body, with adequate brakes.

General Comments:

The car is nice, and it handles good on the road.

The build quality has improved over the previous model by a lot. Lots of options; it has 17 inch rims, sun roof, Bluetooth and many other options. I would recommend getting one over the Hyundai Elantra.

Engine performance is quick for its capacity, and fuel consumption is average to 8.8l/100km.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th September, 2012

25th Jan 2013, 00:09

I have the same model, and I disagree with some of the marks. For example, the Cerato is much more comfortable than other cars. To be fair, give it 8.

Maybe you use it on rough roads, and to be honest, all roads in Egypt are rough. It is not the car's fault, it is our roads in Egypt.

6th Jun 2013, 10:36

Right, our roads are not for cars, they're for heavy trucks.

2011 Kia Cerato 1.6 from Barbados

Summary:

Enjoying the ride so far!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Ride comfort is good on smooth roads. Easily unsettled on rough or bumpy roads.

Handling is fairly good.

Cabin is very comfortable.

Surprisingly good acceleration for the weight.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2012

2011 Kia Cerato Si 2.0 Litre from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Forget Kia of the past

Faults:

Interior globe - easy fix.

Seems to spit out fuel when filling to the first 'click'.

Not a fault, but the trans or throttle should be reprogrammed or something!!!

General Comments:

Very comfortable, drives nice, interior reminds me of a Volkswagen. This interior is unique to the Cerato range, as it has soft touch vinyl on the dash and doors, and cloth on the doors, unlike the earlier Ceratos.

My model is the Si hatchback with the 6spd auto; very good, but feel that the throttle or trans should be reprogrammed or something. Not that it's a bad trans, but it does take time getting use to it. But I think it's due to my driving (I'm very light on the pedal; when I need a downshift, I lightly tap it expecting it to change).

At highway speeds, it picks up speed flawlessly. Factory Bluetooth very handy, and the black interior is beautiful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2011

2007 Kia Cerato EX 1.6 turbo diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Runs on the smell of an oily rag!

General Comments:

I travel 112km per day to get to work and back, and this car has lowered my travelling costs by $30 a week, as diesel is about 50 cents a litre cheaper than petrol here in NZ. Even with RUC and the higher rego costs for diesel cars in NZ, it still works out cheaper than running my Mazda 626 over the same distance. I am getting just over 1000km per tank (55 liters).

The upholstery would have been better in a darker colour (almost put me off buying it). Lucky I took her for a test drive first, and discovered how much power she had. Great for overtaking!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2011

2010 Kia Cerato 1.6 from Dominican Republic

Summary:

Nice lines (executive/sports looks)!! Great so far!!

Faults:

Nothing so far, bought the car a week ago.

General Comments:

So far excellent car, very nice interior, very good interior materials, sound system is great, overall the car handles great!!!

I will write an update after the first 1,000 Km inspection.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd December, 2010

18th Jan 2011, 15:14

Only with 1627 km, my brand new Forte has moisture problems in both headlamps. At the service center already, and being replaced under warranty.

16th Mar 2011, 09:40

Both headlamps replaced no charges, new ones are OK, no more moisture problems, the car has already got 4,500 km. An appointment made with the shop for its first maintenance next week...

So far excellent fuel consumption, 50 km per gallon on highway and about 42-45 km city (both with A/C on)...

27th Sep 2011, 12:47

My car has already 12,600 KM and still nothing wrong... aiming for the next maintenance...