2008 Kia Cerato 2.0L from Australia and New Zealand

Faults:

Bought as brand new. Following week I started driving the car away - it seemed slow and then appeared to be slowing down, so put my foot down a little (and I mean a little!) more. The car had a sudden sharp surge of power and shot forward.

Has anyone else had this problem? Have heard of a guy with a l.5 litre who has, but would like to know if anybody else has had this kind of thing happen to them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th January, 2009

2006 Kia Cerato EX 1.5 Crdi from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

Front tyres wore down after 8000km, but the dealer had the tracking wrong!

General Comments:

Excellent car, well built, comfortable and cheap to run.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2006

25th Jun 2006, 14:30

We had a Cerato as a hire car in Spain for the week and I thought it was OK. Big enough for two adults + 1 child + 1 week's luggage, comfortable, and easy to drive. The diesal was nice to drive - flexible, but no ball of fire. The economy was excellent. The car seemed well made and hard wearing - better than our Honda Civic.

19th May 2007, 18:29

Update on my car above.

Now have 52000km on her and she has not had any major faults, engine gets quieter with more mileage. Very comfortable car also. Would recommend this car to anyone who wants a lot of std extras, but a bargain price.

5th May 2010, 16:55

I have a 2006 Cerato CRDI. That car is an absolute gem. Very smooth ride and extremely silent inside. Coupled with leather interior, automatic climate control and traction control, it feels less like a "cheap Korean car" and more like its more expensive German counterpart.

2006 Kia Cerato LX 1.6 M/T from Egypt

Summary:

Very reliable car with a relatively cheap price

Faults:

Nothing so far...

General Comments:

First of all, I bought this car after a long search and comparison between several cars ranging in the same genre and the same price... Elantra, Optra, Sunny, Gen2, Nubira and finally I bought it coz although this Kia Cerato might not be the best car, it is the best value for a car, meaning it is the best looking car (you can compare it with the Octavia and Corolla) and its fuel consumption is very good coz it has lower horse power than most of them (105HP), which I find a very good option.

It might be poor looking from the inside, but I don't buy a car for its looks, and the performance and the stability on the road are great, and also the spare parts are relatively fair; the front light thing costs almost $90, so it is fair I think... anyways I really recommend this car for all the people whom are interested in the few cars I mentioned above.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th June, 2006

25th Nov 2006, 03:24

Yes... the KIA Cerato is a good option... but does it have it all???

Unfortunately, the cars resold in Egypt lack very important features- mainly related to the safety and control. The most important one from my prospective is the ABS and EBD. These features are also lacked in similar cars (Elantra, Optra,..).

Bottom line, if you're looking for a good-looking prestegic family car below the 100K L.E, Cerato is a good option. But if you have a higher budget, you should look for a car that has ABS, EBD,..

24th Nov 2007, 04:38

How can one claim a car reliable having driven less than 1000 km in it?

15th Mar 2009, 17:01

I have the KIA Cerato 2008...and it has 121 horse power not 105.

16th Mar 2009, 13:20

I indeed have a Chevrolet Optra, but wouldn't bother racing a KIA.

And I expect most other cars on your list wouldn't bother trying to race against your Kia Cerato.

26th Mar 2009, 18:42

I think KIA Cerato is the best car in its price comparing with all its rivals, but it is much wider on engine space, saloon and bag space.

Add for previous mentioned, its acceleration is very good and very stable on highways.

Also I've got a 2008 model, and the H.P. is 121.