1999 Daewoo Matiz SE


A good car from a bad company


The body of the car gets rusted in less than an year. This complaint is reported by a large number of customers. The rusting starts from the door and spreads across. The metal parts are eaten away and affect the looks of the car, and of course the performance and safety.

General Comments:

The general performance of the car is good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th January, 2002

3rd Feb 2005, 20:37

I also have the same problem with the rust. It starts from the edge of windows of the 4 doors and than cross all around the doors. But very strangely, the steel of roof never rust. It never rust from the edge of the sunroof or other part of the roof.

I think the steel material and quality are different from the 4 doors and the roof. I wonder that the steel of the 4 doors are "RECYCLED STEELS FROM ABOLISHED SHIPS".

As you may know, the biggest "Dismantle Ship Industry" is in Korea. It is to dismantle the steels of the old ships and recycle the steels. So, where the recycled steel is? Matiz's doors!!!

1999 Daewoo Matiz SD+ 0.8


Value for money


Hardness in shifting gear from 1st to 2nd, since I bought it. Daewoo India or the local dealer did not reply till date. Has any Matiz owner come across this problem in the UK, or other than India?

All Matiz owners are experiencing this problem in India.

General Comments:

My first car. Excellent in it's calls in India. Great small car.



Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st October, 2001

3rd Sep 2004, 14:45


In general a problem like this can be fixed easily by tightening the clutch. You need to wind back up the clutch wire, not sure what its called, but it's a problem a lot of cars have, just ask someone who knows about cars, its fixed in two minutes, really!

Yvette, Eire.

22nd Apr 2008, 05:55

I am writing to you from Nepal. I had similar problems with my Matiz ever since I changed my clutch wire on advice of my mechanic. Each time after the complaint, my mechanic adjusted the clutch wire or tightened it but I broke two clutch wires in three months. Then, my mechanic sought for genuine Daewoo clutch wire instead of using the one made by another Indian company for Matiz. I haven't have had the problem since then.

However, currently my Matiz is starting to make some cranky noise while turning my car even on moderate speed. My mechanic has advised me to change the front axle. I bought a Matiz 2007 model axle but didn't fit in the Matiz I purchased in 2001. Can anyone suggest?



4th Aug 2012, 05:26

I have had no problem with shifting from first to second gear, but saying that, I am used to driving a 70s Ford Falcon ute. I think it is a very easy car to drive.

2001 Daewoo Matiz SG High Performance 0.8 petrol


Great and grand car, very cute too


Not much. A few small things though.

Mileage is only 13 kilometers per liter of petrol in the city limits (they claim 18).

Central remote locking is giving some problems. Doesn't open sometimes and then I have to repeatedly press the open button, or enter from the passenger side of the car!

General Comments:

This is a great car to own!! Really!!!

I am enjoying myself immensely.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2001

1999 Daewoo Matiz SD 0.8


Great car to own and drive. Buy it now!!


Nothing as yet!!

General Comments:

A great car to drive if you want to have fun, the 800 cc engine is a marvel.

Best in class airconditioner and fantastic quality ... helpful dealers and company.

The only hitch is the quality of the gear shift... I would have preferred short slick throws to the long one now on the car and also the shift is a bit notchy but it's accurate.. I have never missed a shift once in 9650 kms.

I strongly advise everybody to immediately go out and buy one NOW!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2000