Daewoo Matiz Reviews from India - Page 2 of 3

1999 Daewoo Matiz SD

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 kilometres
Most recent distance63000 kilometres

Summary:

Ultimate car safety and mileage

Faults:

Nothing. I had a Matiz-SD model for 2000, which I used up to 165,000 Kms, but there was no problem, and it is one of the best cars I would like to own.

Last year I sold that and bought another second-hand Matiz model (1999), which was in good condition.

Just three days ago I met with an accident with a Maruti-Suzuki Alto, which dashed straight into the co-driver's side, but nobody was hurt. If I was in another car, it was sure to be a fatal accident, but the Daewoo MATIZ saved me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th June, 2007

30th Jun 2007, 10:47

Lucky it was a tinny Suzuki that hit you! Nothing substantial. I know the Matiz is economical - but I wouldn't call it safe! Look at the results on Euro NCAP safety ratings!

8th Aug 2010, 06:27

My Matiz has done 157k, and I have no mechanical problems with it; it's very cheap to run.

I really like the car. It's comfortable and easy to drive.

There's a few things that I don't like about it, which are the clutch system and the gear shifting (especially from 1st to 2nd).

It never lets me down. A car is a like the human body; if you don't look after it, it will stuff up itself.

1999 Daewoo Matiz SD 796CC

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 796CC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired16000 kilometres
Most recent distance19000 kilometres

Summary:

A beautiful little car to own!

Faults:

Nothing much wrong with the car. It is neatly packaged car with great combination of looks (it's really cute!),comfort, space and safety features in its class. However, lacks a bit of power (52 hp), especially felt in stop and go city traffic.

Suspension makes you feel the bumps and on bad roads, but within tolerable limits.

Gear shifting is not very smooth, especially from 1st to 2nd gear.

Brake pads tend to wear in my case.

However, our major concern (as is for other Matiz owner's in India) is the sales and service network for these cars as Daewoo has closed its operations in India. Probably, GM is going to revive the car in India. If it does, it will be a great relief!

General Comments:

The car is on the whole excellent. Will win any "beauty contest" hands down.

Is a "big" small car with adequate cabin space and driving comfort. Inside cabin with well arranged instrument cluster and controls.

Heating, Ventilation and Air-conditioning performs well though the the engine has to work harder when the Air-conditioner is switched on.

At high speeds, is a stable car with decent handling.

Lastly, shows a decent mileage, I get around 13 kilometers per lire of gasoline in city and 18-20 Kilometer per litre on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th April, 2004

2001 Daewoo Matiz SD 0.8 petrol engine

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 0.8 petrol engine Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired5 kilometres
Most recent distance12500 kilometres

Summary:

Unbeatable performance and simply Good

Faults:

No problem.

General Comments:

This car seriouly quick. This point I am making it because of self experience. It moves between in the gaps within no time.

Leg room is simply the best. No other small in India as far I have seen does not have such good leg room and comfort in driving for long distance is simply too good.

I love to drive the car for long distances without any problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th November, 2002

24th Jan 2006, 04:49

I too agree with your comments. My Matiz too has similar pick up and best movability in traffic of Mumbai.

1999 Daewoo Matiz SD 0.8

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 0.8 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired8 kilometres
Most recent distance26485 kilometres

Summary:

Korean Junk!

Faults:

A sound from the steering resembling the sound a plastic bag makes when it's ruffled hard just 30 days after purchase. Till now the dealer has not been able to solve it and few months back when the car was sent to him, he threw up his hands and said he can't locate the problem and I should bear the sound!!

All 4 doors keep creaking and no amount of greasing has solved the problem. Dealer says all Matiz cars have this problem and Daewoo have solved it in the 2002 year model. As for model year 1999 customers, he says you will have to bear with the creaking!!

I had a continuous sound coming from the underbody irrespective of the road surface the car was driven on. The dealer changed the Tie bar and lower arms citing a worn out suspension charging me Rs.6500 ($136 approx) and the problem still continued. Ultimately I had a big argument and after a through check up he said it's not a suspension problem at all!! He changed the brake calipers and strut package charging me another Rs. 2600 ($55 approx). That was 20 days back and till now the sound hasn't come back and hopefully it wouldn't.

The fuel indicator shows me wrong indications of fuel. Once the indicator was at the E mark and when I topped up the tank at the gas station, I could barely manage 15 liters!! Now, the fuel tank has a capacity of 35 liters which meant there was more than half tank of fuel, but the indicator was hovering at the E mark. The dealer says it's a conked out fuel pump and it will cost me Rs. 5500! (approx $115)

The exhaust pipe has corroded and the entire pipe till the middle has to be replaced along with the silencer muffler. The dealer says all cars have this problem and he is right. Water and poor fuel quality in India causes this. But I had got the car treated with Dinitrol Anti-rust agent when I bought it and it still corroded. When I asked the dealer how my dad's 6 year old Suzuki doesn't have that problem yet, he says I am just lucky. OK I agree all exhaust pipes corrode, but do they corrode in 2 1/2 years and after just 25000kms?? How come the Japanese and European cars don't have that problem so soon?

It's a piece of Korean junk and I will never again buy a Korean car.

General Comments:

Performance is pretty good for a car with a 796 c.c. 3 cylinder 6 valve engine. It has a peppy 52 bhp @ 6000 rpm enigne and good low torque of 7.3kgm@3500rpm. Of course at traffic lights the Hyundai Santro-Atoz and Suzuki Alto/Zen are faster, but then they have a 999cc engine and the Matiz is heavier than all these cars. 800kgs for the Matiz as compared to 765kgs of the Santro. However, switch the Air-Conditioning on and the performance just dies.

Ride and handling is much better than it's rival Santro. Coupled with a peppy engine and sharp handling it's so much more fun to drive than the Hyundai.

The Air-Conditioning is fantastic which is a boon in the hot & humid Indian summer.

Good design of the Interiors and comfortable seats. It's also surprisingly roomy for it's size. Inadequate boot space is a bit of a problem. Absence of a tachometer is surprising. Gear shift is vague and clunky with long travels for the gear lever. Daewoo claims it's a superior cable operated shift, but I don't agree.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th April, 2002

4th Mar 2009, 05:35

Incomplete information is always harmful to you as well as other.

Your exhaust pipe gets busted; this is because the Matiz engine spits drops of water from the engine to the exhaust pipe. According to the laws of engineering, any car's engine that spits water to the exhaust pipe is suggesting that engine is giving all the possible high performance under tough conditions.

I own 9 year old Daewoo Matiz, & I have already changed 3 exhaust pipes, & the current one is getting rusted pretty fast. This is not a problem with the Daewoo Matiz, & it's not Korean junk.

If you think I am making a foolish statement over here, then check by yourself. When you start your car in the morning or any time, leave your car to settle for 1 min without doing anything except starting your engine. After that, go back to the exhaust pipe & see you can see drops of water ( don't stop your car's engine). If you can't, then after your drive, when you're going to turn it off, go & check. I'm 100% sure you will see drops of water.

The Daewoo Matiz is a high performance car, & I'm a very proud owner of a Daewoo Matiz.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 10 reviews