NAZA CITRA Reviews from Malaysia

2005 NAZA CITRA GS 2.0 CVVT

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.0 CVVT Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance85000 kilometres
Previous carProton Waja

Summary:

A great car!

Faults:

The door handle broke last month (Sept 2010).

General Comments:

Other than the door handle problem, this car has never gave me any problems.

This car's performance is just superb.

Braking is fantastic.

Comfortable interior.

Wonderful sound system.

High quality paint job. The car looks as new as it was five years ago.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2010

2008 NAZA CITRA GS 2.0 Normally Aspirated CVVT

Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0 Normally Aspirated CVVT Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired85 kilometres
Most recent distance15000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 850

Summary:

Superb

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This car is an understated performer, both in terms of space and pace.

The interior has plenty of room for this size of MPV.

The engine with its CVVT technology delivers respectable acceleration and a generous torque curve.

The consumption is not bad at RM0.21 per KM (in Malaysian economy).

The list of standard items for the car is generous; double DIN stereo with MP3, auto sunroof, leather seats, ABS, EBD, SRS, SIPS and even a 12 Volt interior power outlet for the chargers/laptop.

The driving feel of the car is tall seating and an excellent forward view, and generally good all around view.

Overtaking kick-downs with the auto box are fairly quick (60 to 100 KMH sprint) thanks to the CVVT excellent power delivery.

Stopping power is excellent with the all round disc and ABS set up.

Wet driving situations are superb with the front engine and front drive set up.

In summation, I would frankly say that this is an over performing and yet understated car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th March, 2009

2006 NAZA CITRA

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired10 kilometres

Summary:

Not worth the money

Faults:

Less than 40,000km and I've already got a radiator problem.

At less than 2,000km, the seat adjusting lever (driver's side) is already jammed.

After 5,000km, the CD player has gone kaput.

General Comments:

I dread to think what else can happen in the near future and I'm now seriously contemplating on disposing the vehicle before it empties my wallet or ends up being useless.

The service charges, by the so-called authorized workshops, are extremely expensive. If I had my way (the car, fortunately or unfortunately, belongs to my wife), I would forfeit all the warranties provided and take it to some other workshops that can, not only do a better job, but at a reasonable price too.

Yes sir, I would definitely not recommend anyone to buy this vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th March, 2008

2005 NAZA CITRA LS 2.0

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Most recent distance53000 kilometres
Previous carProton Wira

Summary:

An understated performer

Faults:

At 40k the radiator leaked. But under warranty - was a common problem for this model made within that time.

General Comments:

I bought it new.

First things I noticed - the bad consumption and quite hard to drive, caused mainly by some body roll.

After some time, I started to realise that this car has a great handling capability, is a good cruiser, and has enough power and space as a decent people carrier.

After getting used to the way it behaves, the car handles well, even when negotiating tight bends. I always feel pity to the smaller Kancil or Proton to do catching ups; may be the drivers of those cars think this MPV is only for a kind and nerd family man!

But this is not categorically a driver's car. I can always maintain the low key.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st January, 2008

26th Aug 2012, 06:51

You're comparing this 2 litre car with a 0.66 / 0.85 litre small Kancil. Why not try comparing with a bicycle?

21st Jan 2014, 02:11

The previous reply has my total agreement. When making comparisons, we need to make them fair ones. Comparing the Citra to another 2 liter car is fine, or else why not just make it more absurd by comparing it to a toddler's tricycle; I'm sure you will get a much greater difference in performance and economy.

2004 NAZA CITRA GS 2.0 DOHC

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance9800 kilometres
Previous carPerodua Kancil

Summary:

I hope NAZA can improve the sound insulation of this car

Faults:

Nothing wrong with the car.

General Comments:

The 2.0 DOHC engine of this car is powerful, but the cabin is noisy when driving on poor road conditions. It has a very plasticy interior and a lot of squeaky sounds from all over the cabin.

The sound system is good. The LCD of the CD player will display the distance when you shift to the reverse gear.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th March, 2007

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 5 reviews