2000 Acura TL Reviews from North America

2000 Acura TL 3.2

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired5 kilometres
Most recent distance221000 kilometres
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Great reliable car, and I would buy another one

Faults:

The transmission was replaced under warranty around six and a half years at 108,000 km. I was given a new TL to use for the three days it took to replace it.

The transmission shift module had to be replaced at around 180,000 km, at a cost of $210.

General Comments:

I have maintained this car according to the owner's manual, and have it sprayed with Krown rustproofing yearly. It is in great shape, with no rust, it runs great, and I will likely have it for another 5 years. I drove from Ontario to B.C. and back, a total of 11,500 km, without a problem, and would do it again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th December, 2012

2000 Acura TL

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

I am out of here with Acura

Faults:

I have had three transmissions in my 2000 Acura TL. There is 90,000 miles on the car. Seems to fail every 30,000 miles. Last one cost $5,000. Was traveling out of town - no help from Acura.

Will not buy another Acura - ever again!

General Comments:

Disappointed in reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th November, 2010

29th Nov 2010, 16:04

Honda made some good cars in the 1990's, but those days are over. Their build quality has gone down significantly in the past years, even with Acura.

Their transmissions seem to be a big problem, especially with the Odyssey and Accord.

The main problem is that even when you replace the transmission (always at exorbitant cost), it is replaced with the same faulty transmission.

Stay away from Acura unless you want a cheap economy car, at high maintenance luxury car prices.

2000 Acura TL 3.2

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance143000 miles
Previous carAcura TL

Summary:

Satisfied with the power, but dissatisfied with the cost of repairs and reliability

Faults:

Shortly after purchasing the car, it was in the summer time and we noticed a corrosive substance on the console. The wood grain was peeling. Rear view mirror was the cause and was replaced.

Second year the seat heaters quit working.. We couldn't afford repairs.

Third year the transmission went out. Dealer replaced free of charge - great for us.

Alls good till the weekend coming home from Oklahoma to Dallas. Driving on the interstate going about 70 mph, we when starting smelling battery acid through the vents. Wife lowered her window and then about 10 minutes later all the dash lights came on, then the trunk came open, side air bag deployed, smoke was coming out the vents and the car quit running. Had had it towed to the car shop, where they say the car is total loss. Never ever buy another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th May, 2009

2000 Acura TL TL 3.5

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Fun to drive until the transmission failed @ 88,000 miles

Faults:

I bought my 2000 Acura TL in 2005 from the original owner with 68,000 miles. The car was in great shape and ran well. Last year I noticed the car was shifting hard and sometimes skipping gears. I brought it to my local Acura dealer in NYC and explained the problem. They ran a diagnostic test on the car and stated that there was nothing wrong with the transmission. I asked them to check again because there was DEFINITELY something wrong with it. Again, they denied any problems with the transmission and I asked for them to confirm in writing that there was no problems and I would be on my way. The extended warranty on the transmission still applied on my car.

At approximately 88,000 mile the transmission went. I brought it back to the same dealer and explained. The rep I dealt with said they would replace the transmission under warranty, however he was waiting for his Supervisor to approve it. I patiently waited for a week and finally spoke to the same rep. He stated that the timing belt needed to be replaced and it needed a tuneup. I agreed to the the other work as long as the transmission was replaced at no cost to me as he promised. After 8 days the same person called and said that Acura would only cover 25% of the transmission replacement. After contacting Honda Corp. they decided that the offer was fair and they couldn't do anything else to satisfy me. I am now going to have the transmission replaced by a local mechanic and will NEVER buy an Acura again. Acura does not stand behind their product knowing the transmission problems exist.

General Comments:

Transmission recall. Stay away!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th February, 2009

28th Feb 2009, 02:18

I find it hard to believe an Acura dealer would deny tranny problems. There has been a recall on this for years now, you should not spend a dime to have it replaced. I got a brand new one in mine 25k miles ago and so far, so good. And you do not need the timing belt/water pump service until at least 105k miles.

28th Feb 2009, 10:07

I had a water pump replaced at 35000 miles on my TL Type S and had my first trans at under 30,000 miles replaced. Great engine and great sound system, but I sold mine with mixed feeling with a great beating, but it was not a safe family car in our opinion over the trans issues.

13th Jan 2010, 00:08

2000 TL. I also had the transmission replaced free of charge.. 4 yrs ago. Before the warranty was over.. they took 2 weeks because it was during the holidays, but they gave me a good rental car free of charge, a newer crew cab Durango p/u truck. I don't think I'll buy one, but it was fun to drive in the winter..

Hard to believe about not honoring the extended warranty..

I also have a 2002 Jaguar X-Type 3.0 auto that I was checking comments for the transmissions.. I used the TL most of the time and use the Jag less.. but read some of their problems.. Jag. is a good looking car, but you will be very happy to have a TL..

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 21 reviews