AMC Concord Reviews from North America - Page 3 of 3

1982 AMC Concord DL 4.2L I6

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.2L I6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired133000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Quite simply - I love this car

Faults:

Needs new brake rotors & pads.. not that bad yet, but I'm going to need to get that fixed before long.

Otherwise, nothing as of yet.

General Comments:

The car is in excellent shape, although it's not exactly the most attractive car on the road. She does turn some heads, just due to how weird it looks. The sloped hood, stubby trunk and opera windows come together to make one weird-looking ride. I love it - very unique.

It's a very comfy car - if you're sitting in the front. The back seats are pure hell - no leg room. The interior is very plush, however.

It's a great car, quite a bit sportier than you would imagine. The car quite literally hugs the road, and likes to take turns.

The 4.2L straight-6 adds some real oomph to the ride, although it's not very fast.

They quite literally don't make 'em like this any more.

A great little car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd May, 2006

1981 AMC Concord DL 258ci

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 258ci Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30560 miles
Most recent distance44036 miles
Previous carChrysler Voyager

Summary:

Should be like new for another 100K miles

Faults:

Since sitting for 3yrs unused, and seldom driven before that by the 93yo owner, it had some general maintenance needs. I replaced the brakes, shocks, exhaust, radiator and tuned it up.

No problems in the 14,000+ miles I have driven it.

General Comments:

This is as nice as a new car. Compares size wise with a new Camry/Accord. The ride and comfort are surprising to most folks who ride in it the first time. the interior was very well done, with "walnut" accents and the velour seats. the DL designation puts all the chrome you can think of on the metallic copper (original) paint and really shines.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2004

1981 AMC Concord DL 258

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 258 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired23720 miles
Most recent distance33550 miles
Previous carAMC Concord

Summary:

I believe this to be an excellent car

Faults:

I have had two problems with this car. The air conditioning system developing unsafe (high) pressure. I had the system converted to R-134 and have been pleased with the results. The radiator became clogged in 2001 and I installed a new radiator.

General Comments:

This car runs, rides, and handles like a much newer car. The ride is softer then many newer luxury cars. With low mileage, the interior and finish remind one of a 2 year old used car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th July, 2004

1982 AMC Concord Limited 258 six cylinder

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 258 six cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired119000 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles
Previous carAMC Hornet

Summary:

A great little sedan!

Faults:

Replaced muffler, brakes, tuneup... The car had been sitting for ten years when I bought it.

General Comments:

A very well designed, comfortable, quiet car. Easy to drive and handles well. Leather seats are very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2004

1982 AMC Concord DL 258 6 cylinder

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 258 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles

Summary:

Not bad for a 22 year old car

Faults:

The lockup torque converter locked up around 110,000 miles.

Low oil pressure in the number 6 cylinder exhaust lifter caused the push rod to disengage at cold temperatures.

The exterior door handles break too easily.

The seats are too low, and tend to be tiring on long trips.

General Comments:

Considering I bought this as a "well-used" car, the gas mileage is always good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2004

1983 AMC Concord DL 258 V6

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 258 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 miles
Most recent distance182000 miles
Previous carMercury Sable

Faults:

The only problems that I have had were general maintenance.

I replaced the tires and brake pads.

Some rust is starting to surface on the driver's side front fender in front of the tire.

General Comments:

This car replaced a 1996 Mercury Sable. One would think that I would disappointed by my 1983 AMC Concord. No. The Concord out paces my Mercury Sable.

I receive decent gas mileage at 23 miles per gallon. I have had no major repairs. It has good pickup for the engine and the era that it came from.

The interior is sparse and simple compared to today's cockpits where you need an owner's manual to operate the radio. There is not any power seats, windows, or side mirrors to fail at the most inconvenient time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th December, 2003

1979 AMC Concord DL 4.2L (258cid, 2bbl)

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.2L (258cid, 2bbl) Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired108220 miles
Most recent distance108220 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

Cheap, reliable transportation

Faults:

Valve cover leaked oil.

Distributor.

Muffler and tailpipe were original.

Passengers Door Handle broken.

General Comments:

The car is an offshoot of the AMC Hornet, and retained some of the styling of that car.

The car has some nice horsepower and torque, and it has the styling of a car with some power behind it. The 4.2L Inline 6 cylinder has some good power behind it, but its not going to win any races.

The drivers seat is worn good, and is a little uncomfortable. I sit down a little too far for my comfort, I use a seat cushion to give me some "elevation".

Working on the car is very easy because of its simplistic design. The car barely ran because of a bad distributor. A replacement cost a whole $20 after a core charge and was a cinch to replace.

After a good tune up, exhaust system, and some parts, car runs good. I used it to replace my 1988 Beretta that had many miles, no power, and was costing me a fortune to keep running.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th November, 2002

8th May 2006, 10:36

I recently purchased a 1978 Concord D/L and would like to get the gap settings for the spark plugs in the 258 engine. Can anyone help?

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 12 reviews